skip navigation
Brigadoon

Brigadoon(1954)

  • Tuesday, November 25 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Brigadoon - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Brigadoon

    • John
    • 8/3/13

    Overall- 3 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-3/5Score-4/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • Meh...

    • RedRain
    • 9/1/12

    The music carries this film, not the actors. I found Gene Kelley almost disinterested in his role in this film and I wonder if he was doing it just for the money. Ditto the beautiful Cyd Charisse. How this film was nominated for Best Cinematography when it was shot on a back lot at a film studio is beyond me. This film could have been made so much better by being shot in Scotland on even somewhere in the U.S. outside. The story itself is a lovely fairytale of a town that awakens every 100 years and then fades away. Happenstance finds Kelly there on the day it appears and he falls in love with the beautiful Fiona. Mayhem ensues when a jealous suitor decides to wreak havoc and ensure the town is lost forever. I've always love the brilliant score from Brigadoon but one of the most beautiful songs, "Come to me, Bend to me," was omitted from this version, along with three other songs. That was unforgivable for me! Watch the film to enjoy the music and learn the story but don't expect stellar performances from Kelly and Charisse. The fake scenery is also very disconcerting.

  • BRIGADOON ROCKS!

    • Jillian
    • 6/28/12

    I like the song" I Go Home With Bonnie Jean"!Do you? What's your favorite part of Brigadoon?

  • Brigadoon

    • Andrew Korts
    • 2/8/12

    There simply isn't anyting like it for wonderful music, a beautiful story, and great acting. This film has it allas did the original stage production. This is Lerner & lowe at their very best along with Gene Kelly &Cyd Cyrisse at their best. It is hard to believe that it as made in 1954 so lasting is the music.

  • MGM tries to bring

    • Kevin4Butler
    • 11/14/10

    This film version of The Lerner & Lowe stage musical is flawed due..to the fact that the entire film was shot inside of a sound stage and there is more dancing and not alot of singing. That is sad..because if this movie were shot on location and there was more of a better mix of songs and dance"Brigadoon"the movie would be more entertaining.

  • BRIGADOON (1954)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/20/10

    I can't think of many movie genre combinations that I could dislike more than fantasy/musical. The art direction is extreme and phony looking, too blatantly colorful. The acting is fair at least but the musical numbers are not very memorable, the choreography barely adequate. The costumes are overdone. It's a phony looking mess.

  • It's Brigadoon! It's Bloody Brigadoon!

    • Ben larson
    • 2/3/08

    Sometimes a movie gets a lot of Oscar nominations, and it still isn't what I would consider great. This is such a movie.Compared to other musicals, there just seemed to be something lacking.It couldn't have been the sound, or the costumes, or the set decoration, as they were all superb.Maybe it was Gene Kelly. he just didn't seem to have the spark he had in his Oscar-nominated performance in Anchors Aweigh.Maybe it was Amarillo-born Cyd Charisse. She was beautiful, but just didn't have the magic.I don't know, but I've seen this film, and don't expect to watch it again. At least I now know what Gareth was talking about in Four Weddings and a Funeral - It's Brigadoon! It's Bloody Brigadoon!

  • One of the Best! "Brigadoon"

    • Bruce
    • 7/18/07

    Wonderful movie, and the stage productions I've seen. But the movie really fills in the gaps, and makes you want to be in the Scottish culture in those long ago days. The casting was wonderful, the actors portrayed the characters in a very believable way.

  • IN A LOST WORLD WITH GENE KELLY!! WOW, HOW NICE!!

    • Rachel
    • 4/27/07

    I like this soft romantic movie. GENE and Cyd Charisse worked well together. I love both dance routines that they performed in this movie. They were so romantic. And who better to have danced romantically with than GENE KELLY. GENE is surprisingly low-key in this movie but still his sexy, sensual handsome self. I love the tap number that he and Van Johnson do with the Scotts. Then again, GENE dancing with anyone was always a thrill. This is a good movie to unwind to if you don't mind not having GENE dazzle you with his amazing tap.

  • I LOVE BRIGADOON

    • JASON
    • 3/19/07

    I BELIEVE IT TO BE ONE OF THE GREATEST OF THE OLD TIME CLASSICS

  • Please

    • Donis Kline
    • 1/24/06

    I love Brigadoon. I wasn't even born yet when this movie came out. But I love the older movies, and this one is one of my favorit. I think the older movies are much better than some of this crap they are coming out with now. Please can you make it avalable on DVD? I also appreciate your channel.Donis Kline

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.