skip navigation
Above Suspicion

Above Suspicion(1943)

  • Thursday, October 23 @ 04:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Above Suspicion A honeymooning couple are... MORE > $18.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Fantastic

    • Kim
    • 8/7/13

    I now believe this is my favorite Joan Crawford and Fred MacMurray movie. They work well together, neither being so overbearing as in their other movies. They made me believe they really liked each other. I wish they had made a series of spy movies together as husband and wife doing what they can against the Nazis!

  • Not Above Suspicion,But Enjoyable

    • goodnotgreatlikebook
    • 8/3/13

    Can't see Fred married to Joan,but otherwise 2 Yanks in England good.It really gets going once we meet Count Basil and his mum and the Gestapo.Then,hold on for the ride of your life!

  • A Good Detective Remark

    • Chris R
    • 6/28/12

    Love the comment on Sig making a good detective.Circa the So-so Universal Holmes series,I love seeing them,but hardly A #1.This is fun fare,murder/torture/intrigue galore.Break out the popcorn.

  • No Swashbuckler,but Good Caper

    • Dave R
    • 6/27/12

    Fred and Joan out to investigate disappearance of British agent providing intelligence with honeymooners sent to find why the line went cold.They meet with old friend Sig,are unsure about Veidt's true cause,and everything's high drama.I always enjoy this movie.Nice songs and voices.

  • Fred and Joan Good Singers,Fair Agents

    • Joanie
    • 6/27/12

    Nasty Nazis,good supporting cast (love my Basil).

  • Spys Like Us Not Above Suspicion(1943)

    • nshepard
    • 6/27/12

    Joan Crawford and Fred McMurray trapes across Europe in order to obtain info on a Nazi device. Well, sending these two into pre-war Germany is like sending Chris Rock to a clan meeting. Obvious distractions and a clumsy script add to the dilemma. All Star cast includes Conrad Veidt, Basil Rathbone who are above suspicion, being more Europeon than any American. Watch for star power and interesting chemistry.

  • Above Suspicion (1943)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 3/17/12

    Starts out promising but quickly turns into a boring affair not helped by all the convoluted "clues" the couple follows.

  • Buy this movie!

    • Kimberly Banks
    • 2/18/11

    This is a wonderful movie. I bought it years ago on VHS based solely on the synopsis on the back cover. I am not particularly a huge Joan Crawford or Fred MacMurray fan, but I am a huge fan of Alfred Hitchcock. If you've ever seen Hitchcock's The Man Who Knew Too Much and enjoyed it, then Above Suspicion is a must-see. The level of suspense is comparable to that of Hitchcock movies and there are several plot elements that mirror some of those found in The Man Who Knew Too Much (cue cymbals or piano, whichever you prefer.) This is definitely a movie you'll enjoy having in your video library. You won't be disappointed.

  • Great Joan Crawford Movie !!!!!!

    • Drew W
    • 9/6/09

    This is is a great movie to watch, It's old fashion spy thriller. You will love This Movie, especially if you are a fan of Joan Crawford. This movie is her farewell performance for MGM, and its fabulous. I only wish it would be released on DVD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Great Show!!

    • Rick David
    • 9/19/08

    I watched it a long time ago and been waiting for it to come out on Dvd.If you are a Joan Crawford Fan, this film you'll add to your collection.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.