skip navigation
Where Eagles Dare

Where Eagles Dare(1969)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Where Eagles Dare An Allied team sets out to... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • wear egales dear

    • Bruce
    • 7/7/14

    I,ve enjoyed it in 69'and every time I have seen it. I hear that the guy that made the new clash of the titans is doing a remake with Jude law . can't wait to see it.

  • Clint and Dick,hilariously cheesy movie

    • Daniel
    • 5/25/14

    I remember liking this film as a kid...all these years later I find myself laughing at how ridiculous this movie actually is.Big breasts in dirndls,unexplained exploding car pushed off a cliff,Welsh,California and Stuttgart accents all in the same bar room!When Burton is discussing their plans in the same room as the German soldiers sitting directly across from them I had to scratch my head and laugh.There are a few good scenes,but overall this truly is a bomb of 60s ridiculousness.

  • EXCITING, WELL-ACTED MOVIE!

    • MARLENE RANTZ
    • 5/13/14

    I have seen this movie more than once, and I agree with RedRain that it kept me on the edge of my seat, and with Beamshipcaptain that it was a thrilling movie! Richard Burton and Clint Eastwood were both excellent, as was the supporting cast, especially Mary Ure, Patrick Wymark, Anton Diffring, Derren Nesbitt, and Robert Beatty! Definitely worth watching!

  • Where Eagles Dare

    • Will
    • 5/7/14

    Damn, they killed more Nazis in this nail biter, than they did in all of World War Two. Good thing we had CLINT and DICK on our side !

  • Slipped by far too long!

    • Alice
    • 4/20/14

    What a recipe for a fine film classic! I am already a sucker for exciting edge of your seat espionage thrillers that have twists and turns like this one. Add to it a WW11 setting mixed with a Dirty Dozen/James Bond feel. What do you have? A WOW of a movie you don't even want to blink, for fear you will miss something. I can't believe this is the first time I had the extreme pleasure of watching this wonderful masterpiece. What a story! What a fine job Richard Burton and Clint Eastwood did in this terrific film. The final "best part" of this whole thing is that the Lord's Name was not dishonored in any way, not even once. Plus, not one curse word was ever used. Yes, there was violence. But, it was not glorified nor sustained time wise. You see just an instant in each case. What a film!! I can't wait to see it again. So please TCM, keep showing this one and others like it. Thank you.

  • Where Eagles Dare

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-3/5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-3/5Score-5/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • Where Eagles Dare

    • Goetan
    • 7/13/13

    A stirring WWII adventure film. Although there's little-to-zero characterization, Burton and Eastwood have excellent chemistry as two soldiers who set out to rescue an American general in a German fortress. The stunts and action set pieces are outstanding, but the story, written by Allistair MacLean from his own novel, spends too little time in the castle. A typical, but always entertaining, WWII film set in a Swiss castle. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Terrific action flick!

    • RedRain
    • 7/13/13

    Okay. I admit it. I watch anything and everything that stars Richard Burton. I could listen to that baritone voice of his every night! (Lucky Elizabeth!) Aside from my personal bias toward Burton, this film just keeps you on the edge of your seat from the beginning. The Alpine scenery is gorgeous and the dare-devil stunts are breathtaking. It is a war time film without the war being in the forefront. And the ending! Wow! What a shocker! ****

  • Never Miss a showing

    • Donald Cohen
    • 7/13/13

    A great WW II action flick. On my "I'll watch this every time it comes on" list. Eastwood and supporting cast make it a consistently fun bit of escapism.

  • See It Again and Again

    • Roger
    • 6/4/10

    So improbable, it works over and over with its convoluted plot, superhuman dare-deviling, impossible escape, cool characters, head-spining twists and turns, and those English-speaking Germans just don't get it, and can't hit a thing! I've seen it a hundred times and I still perform body-twisting English when Burton wrestles the bad guys on the tram....now, what was the plot again?

  • GREAT TIMING !!!

    • georgedaddy
    • 7/9/09

    Hendrick's review from march 09 is right on ! This is a superb adventure tale with the tension building to the very end. I tune in to watch it each time it's scheduled(om TCM or elsewhere). It's always rewarding & you get the feeling early on that Burton will find a way to overcome all obstacles which will appear. In fact, the Germans had a helicopter or two (before or during the war) but not the type shown in the film. And don't you love the timing & execution of their escape including (one of my favorite characters) the portrayal of the pilot of the tri- motored escape plane (who manages to maintain an "even strain", to quote a line from "The Right Stuff" . The music theme also provides wonderful & expressive enhancement to the drama. All in all, a top notch action drama from MGM.

  • Take the Dare

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 3/24/09

    This is pure escape fare at it's best! Great Alistair MacLean story. Burton and Eastwood are perfect foils for each other, and look like they are thoroughly enjoying themselves. Exciting action sequences a rousing score and solid performances by all. Sit back, relax,(don't nitpick), and enjoy.

  • One big mistake

    • Gerald
    • 9/26/08

    This was a very good film but it had a major mistake. They showed an helicopter in the castle grounds. Helicopters did not come about until after the war.

  • Best WW II Film

    • Beamshipcaptain
    • 9/26/08

    I saw this film first in March of 1969, in New York, then July of 1969 in England. Best WW II film, and exciting alpine locations and commando action highlight this film. Only film I know of where Burton is an action hero, Clint Eastwood giving a typically great performance. Music is exemplary, and spfx by Tom Howard are expert. The chloss Adler (Castle of the Eagles ) fortress is impressive, and film has a crackerjack JAMES BOND feel to it. Thrilling!

  • Hell I dared, it rocks!!

    • Anthony
    • 10/2/07

    One of the finest scripts, casts, and locations of any World War film to date. Burton and Eastwood give their finest performances in this well-directed, well-designed, and well-paced action/war film. **** Fours Stars

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.