skip navigation
Five Came Back

Five Came Back(1939)

  • Monday, December 29 @ 06:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Five Came Back - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Films that capture the past.

    • denscul
    • 5/30/13

    I am a pilot who flew large commercial aircraft. I love stories like this because its a era that will never happen again. Twin engine passenger planes that couldn't climb over the high South American peaks, unpressurized, negating any reasonable attempt to allow passengers to breath. No radar, no good communications make the crash landing in the Jungle realistic. So were the local natives, when this film was made, countless tribes had never been discovered, and mapping of this area was primitive. I do have a problem with fixing an aircraft with no tools. That is strictly baloney.Looking at the story itself, its a little clichd. We quickly learn who are the good and bad guys. The decision on who gets to go, reminds me a little of the Titanic film played last night. No room for every one, so hard choices must be made. As someone who watched I Love Lucy the first time around, I always enjoy seeing her in one of her many low budget films. She may have played second fiddle to Hepburn, Garson, ect, but in the end, she literally had the last laugh. And ask any actor, doing drama is easy, comedy is hard.

  • What a surprize.

    • Robert Marcus
    • 12/8/12

    I had not seen this for many years and remembered it as a typical survivor movie. I remembered wrong.This is a gem with interesting characters played by a cast of first rate second tier actors. (Any film with both C. Aubrey Smith and John Carradine has to be worth watching.) Some of the plot mechanics are clunky (Could the plane really survive that landing? and Bill knowing that only five could take off seems a very difficult calculation.) but the play really works on a number of levels. Thanks for showing this - another great Saturday morning program from TCM!

  • Lucille Ball Superb

    • Adventure
    • 9/22/12

    Lucille Ball who frankly admitted she was in awe of her lady peers at RKO such as Irene Dunne,Katharine hepburn, and her best friend Ginger Rogers was assigned this film and walks away with this picture as a hard bitten woman. Ms. Ball so famous for her madcap "Lucy" characters was a great looking and indeed beautiful woman and an actress who could and did do comedy, musicals and drama. This film is one of my favorite's and shows us a Lucille Ball with great range.

  • Lucy Shows Us What A Great Actress She Was

    • DEDE
    • 12/4/11

    Always look forward to this excellent movie.No lack of action and susoense.

  • Thanks TCM

    • tom
    • 12/3/11

    ...wonderful little B film I'd never known about If not for TCM...you've turned me on to so many little gems over the years....thank you so much.

  • "A" quality "B" Picture

    • Ron Kerrigan
    • 12/3/11

    A great programmer that zips along, with nice characterizations and a great cast. No fat and, although the outcome is fairly predictable, it's a satisfying example of good movie-making.

  • Perfect

    • Dawn
    • 7/17/10

    This is a perfect 1939 adventure drama movie you like all the people your suppose to and hate all the people your suppose to very perfect, everyone in the movie all the actors are good in their roles. Even the remake in the 1950's Back from Eternity is good but I like this one Five came back just a little bit better. Very good movie!!! And it should be on DVD,VHS!!! Actually both movies should be on DVD, VHS!!!

  • A Classic Year '39

    • Ruben
    • 5/14/10

    Along w/so many others classics that were released that year, "Five Came Back" is a classic for Lucille Ball lovers. I prefer her dramatic roles...provides me w/an opportunity to see how expansive she actually was an actor. The 1950's remake is great and does a good job of holding your suspense, but the original version, set the mark and tone for the remake. I would have loved to have seen Lucille Ball's character expanded in this film, however she does serve enough time throughout this flick to capture the quality and range of her skills. Not only was she a good character actress, she really was a beauty.

  • My Favorite Lucille Ball movie

    • spunkylubbock
    • 5/1/10

    I love Lucy & Chester Morris in this film. After reading some of the other reviews, I am so glad Jarrod M. was NOT around to tell the filmmakers how to make this movie. I don't agree with him at all. I prefer this version to the 50's remake by the same director. John Farrow got it right the first time!

  • Five Came Back (1939)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/25/10

    Often the smaller "B" pictures were better than the expensive "A"pictures that they frequently were shown with. "Five Came Back" is aperfect example of that. This film has excellent pacing, fineperformances from everyone, especially C. Aubrey Smith and LucilleBall. It is one of her best film performances. The story is solid andalways interesting, it's well photographed and the characterdevelopment is outstanding. Finely written with crisp dialog. Thefilm is very memorable as well, with an ending you won't easily forget.John Farrow's direction is definitely a plus, and it is a good exampleof his flair for direction toward the beginning of his career.

  • Five didn't come back

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/31/10

    I love how the film sort of ends on the non-survivors. This is just a really interesting film and makes you think. Lucille Ball's performance reminded me of something Jean Harlow would've done. The others are good, too, especially C. Aubrey Smith. Of course, we know that the women and children will be saved, and the screenwriters have made sure the much-less valuable characters die off (the boy's uncle, the playboy, the man facing prosecution, and the elderly couple). So it's morally correct on all levels. Also, the writers stay clear of cannibalism (something I bet modern filmmakers would include). Still, I think there are ways the film could've been improved. We should've seen more with the pilots trying to fix the plane and the frustration of it taking so long to fix the wrecked plane. We should've seen the rescue team attempt to find them. And we should've seen the natives. (I thought it was too convenient that the natives did not become a problem till after day 18.) Allso, there should've been discussion that once the other five returned safely that they could help the rescue team go back for the others.

  • Would love a DVD of this

    • Jean
    • 1/31/10

    This is a very good movie from 1939 - one of the best of that great yeqr!

  • Please put it on DVD!

    • Cree
    • 7/23/09

    This is a great movie, but I never get to watch it. It would be great to be able to buy it on DVD so I can watch it whenever. Please put this wonderful movie on DVD.

  • PLEASE release on dvd

    • Graci
    • 12/29/08

    My husband and I have great memories of seeing this movie as children. One of the scariest, most tearful movies ever. When those drums stopped.... Please release on dvd.

  • EXCELLENT MOVIE ... PLEASE PUT ON DVD

    • Sally Wilson
    • 5/11/08

    I saw this movie yesterday on TCM, it is the first time I have seen it. It was excellent, the acting first-class, kept my interest. I would like to be able to buy the movie not only for me, but for my brother-in-law who recommended I watch it. I hope that it will be put on DVD soon. Thank you for your consideration.

  • Put it on DVD ... Now!

    • Jose Velazquez-Ramos
    • 3/20/08

    One of the best written B-Films ever! In my humble opinion: better than Lifeboat! A magnificent film with a rich texture of social, economic and sexual morality themes.

  • Great Movie, deserving of being on DVD.

    • Ruben
    • 7/10/07

    It's very rare that I get to see this movie. Whenever I find its showing, which is usually late at night, I make plans to stay awake to view it. Its full of suspense and human drama. If you're a Chester Morris fan, you'll love this movie. If you're a fan of Lucille Ball, you'll be pleasantly surprised at her range of acting. The movie's cast of actors are fantastic. For it, its considered one of the finest movies out there. I have only one concern regarding this movie. Why isn't it available on DVD? Its a true classic and very deserving of being preserved on DVD.

  • TIME FOR A DVD

    • LEO R.ORTEGA
    • 4/16/07

    IVE HAVE ALWAYS ENJOYED THIS MOVIE.I THINK ITS A GREAT MOVIE AND SHOULD BE PUT ON DVD.IT SHOWED ANOTHER SIDE TO LUCILLE BALL.

  • Nail-biting

    • Linda
    • 11/17/06

    Taut, suspenseful little gem. One of the best B-movies I've seen. All of the characters roles are well written and fully developed. It's a shame Lucille Ball didn't do more dramatic roles.

  • Five came back

    • Derek
    • 11/16/06

    one of the best movies ive seen. the way john farrow ended the movie still has me in disbelief! a definate must see in all its black and white splender. a true example to the phrase "they dont makem' like they used to"!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.