skip navigation
Take the High Ground!

Take the High Ground!(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Take the High... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love Blond Steve Forrest

    • Steve Lobo
    • 10/9/12

    Love this man. Good movie, early in Steve Forrest's career.

  • Army, NOT Marines

    • bob morris
    • 10/4/12

    Take the high ground is about ARMY basic training. It is NOT subtitled The making of a MARINE.

  • Good Drama

    • Steve Forrest
    • 7/22/12

    I think Mr Forrest was my favorite here.Mr Widmark and Mr Malden great,but for hunkiness,Steve Forrest drew my eye.

  • Drill Sergeant Widmark excellent

    • Jack Jacoby
    • 10/22/10

    Good Military story of the tough drill sergeant with the heart of gold, ably portrayed by the wonderful Richard Widmark. Written and directed by talented and versatile Richard Brooks, it is microcosm of Widmark's career, playing tough guys, killers, and crooks, when in real life, he was one of the kindest, most personable and good natured guys in Hollywood history. Co -starring, lifelong friend, Karl Malden, it's an entertaining and enjoyable story!

  • when will it be released

    • john dougherty
    • 9/17/10

    when will this classic be released on dvd?

  • Take the High Ground!

    • Linda
    • 8/1/10

    Just watched this film for the first time and cannot say enough fine things about handsome, sexy Richard Widmark, who's performance for me stole the film. Could not take my eyes off Widmark, who gives an outstanding performance as Sgt. Thorne Ryan, a tough sergeant with a heart of gold and lots of sex appeal to boot. Worth seeing this film to watch Widmark give a top performance!

  • richard widmark

    • sandy johnson
    • 5/9/09

    thos is one of my favorite widmark movies. he is so good in this and every other movie he ever made. i don't think he was ever appreciated for his acting. if he's in a movie i watch it

  • Solid overall performance

    • Desiree
    • 8/11/08

    I am so thankful that TCM chose Richard Widmark for Summer under the Stars all -day long. I had no idea he was such a good actor, and the boys in this movie (including Russ Tamblyn) were very convincing as the raw recruits trying to become soldiers under Widmark's rough training. It's even humurous at times. The romance element was not as good for me, but I guess Julie was right that Sgt Ryan really "Was in love with the army". Great finish, repeating the beginning.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.