skip navigation
Sombrero

Sombrero(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Sombrero - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Greco did Flemenco dancing in "Ship of Fools"

    • tojo
    • 10/23/13

    Interesting, fun movie with lots of old classic stars. Regarding Greco having only having done his great dancing in this movie....I seem to remember him dancing Flemenco by himself and with his so-called "family" in the movie "Ship of Fools", which I also highly recommend.

  • Unknown Gem

    • FilmDog
    • 10/23/13

    Sombrero is one of the least known movies that's light fun with a wonderful cast. It isn't a deep thoughtful movie, nor a brilliantly acting/directed film nor an insightful critique on culture. Rather it is one of those matinee mindless fun romantic movies but is difficult to redo. Beautiful color, beautiful casting and a terrific dance sequence by Cyd Charisse. Should any movie with a Cyd dance be memorable? Yes, her dances here are a bit different..even odd... but still beautiful and memorable. TCM should show this fun film at least once per year. Perhaps the most beautiful cast in movie history: Pier Angeli, Yvonne DeCarlo, Cyd Charisse, Vittorio Gassman, Ricardo Montalban...

  • "Mexican Village" with Ricardo Mobtalban l953

    • Ann Gaddis
    • 5/13/13

    Charming movie and FABULOUS BOOK. Miss Josephina Neggli , the author, was born in Monterrey but educated about 2 miles from my house at INCARNATE WORD UNIVERSITY, San Antonio. PLEASE, PLEASE RUN THIS MOVIE OR ISSUE IT IN DVD. ANN GADDIS con carino......

  • A very special movie

    • Georges Chamoun
    • 11/11/12

    Three romantic stories by great actors in a unique charming musical. Pier Angeli (My favourite ), Cyd Charisse and Yvonne De Carlo give this movie a special warmth. Vittorio Gassman is simply great.I am desperate to have it on DVD. I don't understand why TCM does not give this movie more chances on its schedule. It aired it once a few years ago. We see many repeats. Why not this one ?

  • amazing film

    • maricarmen correa
    • 7/2/12

    my daughter has been raving about this movie for a very long time and could never find it on dvd and i would love to give it to her as a birthday present i know it would mean alot to her it ooo please turner classic movies release a dvd of it i know many others besides my daughter would enjoy this film !!

  • Sweet little romantic movie

    • Julia Harper
    • 10/22/11

    I saw this movie when I was about 12 on late night TV, and the only story I remembered was the sad tale of Alejandro and Maria. The story haunted me long after I had forgotten the name of the movie and the stars, and I was finally able to track it down it by googling "Maria of the River Road." I had the chance to see it when Turner showed it in October of '09, and I DVR'd it so I could watch it many times. Of course, remembering it thru a 12-year-old's perspective, as an adult it isn't the best movie I've ever seen, but it's still very entertaining, bittersweet, and I watched Cyd Charisse's fabulous dance sequence with new appreciation. Please TCM, this movie needs to be released to DVD!!!

  • "Sombrero" It's the WHOLE ENCHILADA!

    • Jim McCord
    • 9/10/11

    What a wonderful movie, I love it! A film with three intertwined and engaging little love stories, all with very different outcomes. Much of it was actually filmed in Mexico and it is loosely based on, "A Mexican Village" by Josefina Niggli. This film is fleshed-out with great little bits of humor throughout, "What do the cards care about geography?" The Jose Greco Flamenco dance segment was electrifying, as was the very stylistic gypsy dance by Cyd Charisse. Ricardo Montalban is one of my favorite actors and he was completely at home and having a great time in this movie. Yvonne De Carlo was never lovelier and Pier Angeli was just, well...precious! Also I believe this was Rick Jason's first role. I have been looking for this movie for a long time as have my co-reviewers here, and I respectfully request, NO

  • jose greco

    • jack
    • 7/31/09

    re: statement by one of your reviewersthat this was the only movie in whichGreco performed flamenco...wrong...healso performed a flamenco sequence in"around the world in eighty days"

  • Can you help

    • Tiara
    • 7/7/08

    This is one of the best movies ive ever seen but i no longer own it if anyone has info of how i can buy it please send me an email at tiara_madarra@yahoo.com

  • A Sincere Request

    • Jeannie
    • 2/14/08

    A really fun movie to watch with great stars, lively musical numbers, fantasticJose Greco in his prime and of course, Ricardo Montalban. I don't understand why this is not featured more often on TCM when there are so many other repeats of other movies. Please give this movie a chance and schedule soon. I search the schedule constantly hoping to find it. Thanks ( It is authentic to the Mexican American culture )

  • Wonderful song cut from the movie

    • sherry
    • 11/30/07

    "You Belong to My Heart" was a beautiful song cut from the movie Sombrero. It is included in the "That's Entertainment" extra dvd.(they play the dvd jukebox of songs cut from MGM movies.) Too bad this was cut. It's great. Who were the singers for Yvonne DeCarlo and Vittorio Gassman!!! Was the number cut because it was sooooo sexy?

  • sombreroindvd'''

    • avagardner
    • 11/22/07

    thisanwonderfulmusicalcyd,angeli,decarlo.isawitwhenawasanchildren,butiremenberitsowell....alltheoldMGMmusicalsmustbeindvd

  • MOVIE: SOMBRERO (MGM 1953 FILM)

    • Linda Henson
    • 2/14/07

    I would like to see this movie on DVD. I believe this movie has a segment where JOSE GREGO dances. If so that would be the only record of him dancing flamenco. I would like to see him dance again, even briefly. I am going to vote to have this film available on DVD. I would be first in line!Linda Henson

  • A Vote for "Sombrero"

    • Camille Cimprich
    • 4/17/06

    This film is a wonderful story of three setsof lovers. The actors in this film are seldom seen on Turner Classic Movies. It is a wonderful vehicle for Ricardo Montelban who is a talented actor rarely seen. PierAngeli, Vittorio Gassman, Rick Jason are wonderful in this film. Would like to seeon Turner Classics more often and during areasonable time slot.This is a very joyful movie, especially thesegment with Ricardo Montelban and Pier Angeli.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.