skip navigation
Kind Lady

Kind Lady(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Kind Lady - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Kind Lady

    • Cheryl
    • 8/2/13

    I really loved this movie and it is still one of my favorites. Barrymore is just wonderful in her starring role along with Maurice Evans, Angela Lansbury and Doris Lloyd in their supporting roles! Would love to see this movie shown more often. A whole month of Ethyl Barrymore movies would be just great!!

  • Excellent suspense!

    • Dwight
    • 1/12/12

    How this film can be so unknown is astonishing. A very good suspense film. Perhaps it was seen as similar to Gaslight, and not given it's proper due. Barrymore does an outstanding job here!

  • Kind Lady Barrymore

    • Cher
    • 5/11/10

    What a wonderful picture. I watched this last night in bed. Late. I know it was a good movie because I never looked at the clock. Ethel Barrymore is so charistmatic. Her prescence on screen is just magnetizing."They sure don't make 'em like they used to."

  • Ethel Barrymore is superb in this movie

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/6/10

    I love Ethel Barrymore...I especially love how she defied ageism in Hollywood and managed to get these plum starring roles late in her career. She's the best she's ever been with this performance. The rest of the cast? They're great, too. Angela Lansbury, Lansbury's real-life mother Moyna Macgill in a small role, Maurice Evans...just really delicious actors who know how to play it, smooth and subtle, avoiding the pitfalls of scene chewing, and keeping us hooked right up to the story's denouement. If you like this film, you may want to look into Ms. Barrymore's other great 'invalid' roles: namely, the one in 'The Spiral Staircase' from 1946; and her excellent work in 'Pinky' from 1949.

  • This Suspense Picture on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 8/24/09

    I might enjoy this on DVD too. I like Maurice Evans.

  • Wonderful!!!

    • courtney
    • 8/24/09

    I saw this movie for the 1st time last night and thought it was great and creepy at the same time. I was mad when they killed Rose, the maid but the Kind Lady got them all at the end. Please show this again or better yet put it on DVD. It kept my attention to the end. I missed Mad Men so you know it had to be a good movie!!!! LOL!!!

  • Miss Ethel Barrymore is undaunted and unafraid...

    • Steimo2
    • 8/23/09

    as the "mark" for a diverse (odd) & bumbling group of con artist's.Miss Barrymore is, as usual, smooth as silk.

  • Ethel Barrymore: A Grand Dame:

    • Charles
    • 2/25/09

    Hello Charles here: Feb 24 09 @ 11:32 P. M. Tuesday. I watched Kind Lady over 10+ years ago. It is 1 of the best classical movies to be producted after the end of WW2: Angela Lansbury is beginning her great long-running film career in this movie. Keenan Wynn was the butler & showed an excellent 3nd billing to the great Ethel Barrymore. I hope this movie will be released on DVD in the near future????????????????. I will purchase it.$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$. Also anyone who has visited old England in the winter, { I did }, will relate to the cold & rainy climate deplicted in the movie. Cheers!!!!!!!!!!! {smile}... I repeat, please put Kind Lady out on DVD asap. Thank you very much. Best/Wishes Charles. Southern California.

  • I Was In This Movie

    • Christi
    • 1/26/09

    My first and only movie role was in the 1951 version of Kind Lady. My mother took me to a casting call and I won the part of the infant. I still have a copy of the paycheck I received at age 6-months. I've only seen the movie one time, many years ago. Wish I could get it on DVD!

  • the kind lady

    • rose
    • 9/20/06

    this is the best movie i have seen in years i love 'TCM' and wish i could get "THE KIND LADY" on DVD or VHS.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.