skip navigation
Logan's Run

Logan's Run(1975)

  • Wednesday, February 15 @ 09:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Logan's Run A future police officer... MORE > $7.46 Regularly $5.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Still Relevant in a Different Context

    • Roger
    • 10/26/16

    One of the Sixties' anthems was to "Never Trust Anyone Over 30", and Logan's Run uses that then-familiar saying to build its story. It was an academically-based phrase, designed to control discussion by cutting a certain portion of the population--those over 30--out of the debates on the era's issues. They simply were not to be trusted to provide anything valuable to discussions, and were in fact to be blamed for the problems of the day. In Logan's world, they were simply killed after the age of 30. Sound familiar? Today's thought police seek safe zones, and try to structure debate to avoid certain points of view and discussions offensive to them; again, it's academically-based. In Logan's World, it would be those who try to debate issues and use unsanctioned language that would be killed today.Logan's eyes are opened after meeting an old man on the outside, and he tries to bring the old man (played by Peter Ustinov) back to the city in an effort to expose the under-30s to the life of the old man and the benefits of growing old. in the world outside the city. Logan succeeds in destroying the 30-hating city and brings young people out to experience a solitary old man. We are thrilled by how their eyes are opened. Fade out.Todays thought police are no different from those who condemned anyone over 30. We need a Logan to expose us to the joys of free speech. I fear he is not in the administrative offices.

    • 9/17/16

  • Logan's Run

    • Michael Whitty
    • 8/29/16

    Entertaining sci-fi film with Academy Award special effects as we see people die off when they are 30 but Logan and his girl make a run for it and they do escape outside their world to the normal world where people live longer than 30. It's a better world outside the dome of their world as they see an old man and the nature of the world. A year later "Star Wars" and "Close Encounters" would have bigger impacts on sci-fi effects but "Logan's Run" did well enough.

  • Logan's Run

    • Goetan
    • 9/15/13

    An entertaining Sci-fi film the year before "Star Wars" and "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" we're released. York is a "Sandman," who with Agutter escape their dome city to discover Washington D.C. as a wasteland. Won an Oscar for it's special effects, which makes this film all the more entertaining with an engaging concept, but the pacing should be faster if the word 'run' is in the title. A good film, but there could've been room for improvement. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • fun sci-fi even for the younger generation

    • Cassie
    • 4/22/12

    This movie came out the year my mum graduated from high school and I first saw it when I was in jr. high as a re-run. Although I never caught the title of the movie, it's one that I've always remembered and watch everytime it comes on. Even though the movie was done in 1976, it's still intriguing to watch-even for someone who is 30! To this day, this is a favorite of mine!

  • Dazzling 70's Sci-Fi

    • Bruce Reber
    • 11/9/09

    I saw "Logan's Run" right after it came out in the summer of 1976 when I was 18 and had just graduated high school. It's a visually stunning story set in the year 2274, when the remnants of the human race who have survived nuclear war, pollution and overpopulation live in a environmentally perfect domed super-city, where all needs are satisfied and everyone lives for nothing but pleasure. However, there's just one problem with this Utopia; no one is allowed to live past the age of 30. Those who want to live to be old have just two options: renew themselves and be born again in the ritual called "Carousel", or become a runner and try to escape from the city. As it turns out, neither one of these is possible, since the "Sandmen" kill all runners and later it's discovered that no one has ever been renewed on "Carousel". I like the scenes where Logan tries to get a new face at the "New You"and is nearly killed by the plastic surgeon Doc and his laser surgery machine, Logan and Jessica escaping from the city via a huge deep freeze run by the half-man half-machine named Box, and them discovering that "Sanctuary" is Washington DC, desolate and overgrown with weeds and inhabited by one old man and his cats. I also like the final scene where Logan, Jessica and the old man return to the city and prove to all the young people that a world exists outside the dome, and that they really can live past 30. Very good Sc-Fi for it's time, though some of the effects seem a bit dated.

  • Good movie, much better book.

    • AndrewBoyd
    • 12/13/08

    I loved this film when I first saw it as a kid at the local drive in. It was the movie that first turned me on to Science Fiction. Later however, upon reading the original novel by William F. Nolan and George Clayton Johnson, I couldn't believe how much better it was than the movie! I would highly recommend checking out the novel and its sequels: Logan's World and Logan's Search. Either are available on various online stores. Their is also a remake in the works, scheduled for a 2010 release which promises to be much truer to the original 1967 novel!

  • Similar? Only one I can think of . . .

    • Gale of Sacramento
    • 8/21/08

    "Genesis II" by Gene Roddenberry always had a similar feel to me to "Logan's Run." I love those '70's-style movies. They always had a modern, cool style that, although may be dated now, felt like a true adventure.

  • Anything similar?

    • Dr. W. Haberer
    • 1/31/06

    Here's a question for those of us who have seen Logan's Run-- Do you know of any movies that are similar in look or in feel?Best,Walter.

  • Way cool film.

    • Dr. W. Haberer
    • 1/31/06

    I loved this movie when I saw it as a first run film in the 70s at a drive in in San Diego. The film's vision of the future is darkly fun and makes you kind of wish you could visit.It was filmed in a shopping mall, which became the world of the future. Logan becomes a runner and tries to escape the world through labarenthine passages long forgotten in the infrastructure. I want to see it again, thinking about it.I really do love this film-- If only there was a sequal!Best,Walter.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.