skip navigation
Joe Smith, American

Joe Smith, American(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • America the United

    • George H.
    • 9/24/16

    During WWII Americans found resolve to fight against our common enemies. Patriotism was learned anew again and practiced in the most practical means necessary: the defense of our nation through personal sacrifice. That sacrifice took place at home as well as on the battlefield. This short film, beautifully acted, reflects the times well.

  • Nice find

    • DWP
    • 9/23/16

    I'm always amazed at some of the gems I find on TCM. This "B" movie is a classic example of great acting and a wonderful patriotic story line that compliments the time period (1942) when this movie was made. It is great insight into how people were thinking in these days.

  • Very Good 1942 WWII Spy Movie

    • Sharon
    • 9/21/16

    Excellent movie!!! Robert Young and Patrisha Hunt are great as always. Terrific cast! Very enjoyable and entertaining movie. Will definitely suck you in.

  • Historical gem

    • Alice
    • 9/20/16

    I am surprised there are not more favorable responses to,this wonderful film. I am 72 and remember when the attitude and passionate nationalism of this young man for his country was commonplace. We loved our country. We were the white hats of the world and proud of it. We actually looked up to our government leaders. Please TCM, wouldn't it be wonderful if this film and others like would stimulate the young people of today to be curious enough about these ideas to search them out for themselves. Thank you for showing this. I do humbly ask you TCM, to show this film and more like it, much more often. Whether we realize it or not, we need this. Thank you for showing it today.

  • Joe Smith, American movie release 1942

    • Heather
    • 11/5/10

    In response to Debi of 11/05/2010 ( see below)To Debi and my fellow Americans:The words "Under God" in the Pledge of Allegiance was not added until 6/14/1954. This movie was made in 1941 and released in 1942, hence, the Pledge scene was accurate at that time. Sorry, Debi, for the loss of your husband, but the words "Under God" was not a deliberate deletion. Respectfully, Heather in So Cal.Joe Smith AmericanDebi11/05/2010 I was very surprised and disappointed that the word "G-d" was deliberately deleted from The United States Pledge of Allegiance scene where the children are in front of the school. As a Gold Star Wife (widow) I must say that this does our Veteran's a great disservice. May my husband's memory and love for his country and his G-d be a blessing to those service members still fighting for this country. Respectfully.

  • Joe Smith American

    • Debi
    • 11/5/10

    I was very surprised and dissappointed that the word "G-d" was deliberately deleted from The United States Pledge of Allegence scene where the children are in front of the school.As a Gold Star Wife (widow) I must say that this does our Veteran's a great disservice. May my husband's memory and love for his country and his G-d be a blessing to those service members still fighting for this country.Respectfully.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.