skip navigation
I Live My Life

I Live My Life(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

I Live My Life A flighty society girl tries... MORE > $12.95 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • i live my life

    • kevin sellers
    • 3/30/18

    Occasionally amusing, occasionally dull movie. Certainly not what you'd expect from the pairing of Joseph Mankewicz and Mervyn Le Roy, although it's certainly within the realm of the probable when Joan takes a role better suited to Bette and her leading man is a stiff like Brian Aherne. Solid C.

  • Kay and Terry - Made for Each Other?!

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 3/24/18

    Light, airy and silly - but Joan Crawford and Brian Aherne make it work.

  • Scrumptious Confection

    • Mitch
    • 3/23/18

    I wonder if Leonard Maltin actually watched this movie before he wrote his review, and I don't know how anyone could see this film as loud, angry, or difficult, but to each his own. I love Brian Aherne, and Joan Crawford in the '30s, when she was young, beautiful, and not yet jaded, is usually a joy. Here she is over the top, but just so much fun. She does a neat job of side-swiping her image, as one reviewer already noted, and I loved the verbal fencing she and Aherne engage in. As for Aherne, he is always underrated. He's suave and smooth as silk, yet vulnerable, and I just love his gutsy integrity every time he stands up to Crawford's snobby willfulness. He's so demure and underplays so skillfully, yet is usually undervalued as an actor. As for the "fluff" remarks: So many of the comedies of this era ('30s and '40s) were just that--COMEDIES!)--and so what more does anyone expect? Social commentary? I just want a laugh, and this one delivers! If Crawford and Aherne don't offer enough, the studio offers up the superbly blundering Frank Morgan, the smarmy Aline McMahon, and Eric Blore, for heaven's sake, that master of facial expressions and nasal intonations! (Catch him smirking at Aherne telling off Crawford, and then gleefully agreeing with her that she is a nasty, nasty woman. It's wonderful.) If they aren't enough, there are Jessie Ralph as the old battleaxe and the incomparable Arthur Treacher thrown in for good measure. I can't believe all the character actors in this movie; it's like a who's who of MGM. Anyway, I enjoyed every minute of this movie. Although the overall plot was familiar, the little twists were great fun, with many unpredictable moments. Please watch it again, Leonard Maltin. I don't know where you are getting your standards.

  • Hilarious trifle!

    • dcto
    • 3/23/18

    Lighter than a potato chip but with this talent who cares? Have only ever seen Aherne as a stuffy mustachioed older British character actor, but he had a long theatrical career and really uses it here. He is long, lanky & over the top, reminding me of Gary Cooper in his early comedies. The story is unoriginal & contrived, but director Van Dyke & screenplay writer Mankiewicz throw in lots of comedy business, with players like Frank Morgan, Jessie Ralph & Aline McMahon it all works. Crawford wears eyelashes bigger than she is, but eventually cracks jokes about the cost of maintaining her eyebrows before trashing a set. Silly, yes, but fun. Great cast in front of & behind the camera.

  • One of my favorite Crawford films!

    • Maury
    • 8/4/16

    This is a highly entertaining film. Fast, funny, and enchanting! Direction by Van Dyke is superb; Crawford gives one of her best performances; Brian Aherne is a perfect leading man; supporting cast is excellent.

  • Difficult to watch.

    • Tom Praska
    • 1/10/14

    Eternal fighting between Crawford and Aherne. Not fun, no lighter moments or realistic love scenes. Loud, angry film. Painful to watch. Yelling all the time. Put this one in the dumper.

  • Fun Movie

    • Michael
    • 1/10/14

    Light hearted romantic movie. Joan Crawford and Brian Aherne have good chemistry, great supporting cast.

  • appropriate

    • matthew
    • 2/14/10

    If you are a Joan crawford fan then you can not help but like these lite hearted romantic comedies she did in the 1930'sI see from reading reviews of her movies on this websitethat there are several people out there who do not like Joan. That is a shame I think they miss what she brought to the screen and what that generation loved about.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.