skip navigation
House of Dark Shadows

House of Dark Shadows(1970)

  • Tuesday, October 28 @ 01:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

House of Dark... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I'd like to suggest...

    • Sandylynn
    • 10/13/12

    I SO agree with many others here. PLEASE bring back Dark Shadows, the original soap series. I'd SO LOVE to watch the whole thing, from start to finish. Buying the whole DVD set is out of my price range, but seeing the whole series would be the ultimate in having a blast from the past. E-mail me if you ever decide to do this. Thankis.

  • Remembering Dark Shadows

    • Sandylynn
    • 10/13/12

    I saw House of Dark Shadows for the first time on YouTube earlier this year & enjoyed it very much. It put me back to my childhood, when a girlfriend of mine told me about it & I ran home from school every day to see the last 15 minutes of it. Spooky, and even a little lame in parts, but very much one of my most favorite shows growing up in Chicago. When we moved a few hundred miles away, into farming country, I could no longer get the series on TV, and rode the bus home from school, so never got to see the last episode, when the writers ran out of things to put their characters through. I also just saw the Tim Burton redition of Dark Shadows, with Johnny Depp. While Johnny gave a great performance, the movie lacked a loyalty to the characters, and to the general "feel" of the series. While I understand artistic license, I think Hollywood needs to treat the classics with a little more reverance & consider the fans of the original when considering re-making something that was beloved by so many. I've been wanting to say this for a very long time, to the powers that be, to first ask the fans if a classic should be messed with. I've heard that they're messing with The Munsters. I've seen a picture of the new Munsters...I want to slap those who messed with the characters. They're nothing even remotely close to the original. Dark Shadows was a trend-setter for later chiller shows & as such, should be treated with the utmost in respectability. RIP Jonathan Frid.

  • house of dark shadows

    • juan howard
    • 9/1/12

    i'm thrilled that whv has decided to release it on dvd in october. i just can't wait! shine on, tcm!

  • House of Dark Shadows

    • Millie
    • 8/20/12

    The only Soap Oprea to be made into a movie and go into reruns! Jonathan Frid is the ultimate vampire with a heart! Joan Bennet, what can you say about a great actress and the rest of the original cast at it's best.

  • Dark Shadows Review 42 years later

    • Jesse Murphree
    • 8/19/12

    This was a great wrap-up to the show. The film focused on all the frenzy around Barnabus. It contained all the music, horror, shadows, and cryptic and gothic surroundings. When I left the theater 42 years ago Dark Shadows had entered the Horror Hall of fame with Dracula, Frankenstein and the Wolfman and all was right with the world of horror. This is reason people, like me, were so anxious to have life breathed into this project one more time. After viewing the Tim Burton film, we got stupid, boring and a total waste of time and money. This was the first film I had been to in 25 years where people were actually snoring and later on walking out. If you wanted to honor Dark Shadows Mr. Burton, you should have re-released House of Dark Shadows with Johnny Depp as Barnabus not the Comedy House of Dark Shadows. My vote for House of Dark Shadows.

  • Dark Shadows on DVD & Blu-ray

    • Ronnie
    • 8/10/12

    House Of Dark Shadows and Nigh Of Dark Shadows is coming to DVD & Blu-ray in Oct 2012.

  • Dark Shadows

    • RPetty
    • 4/6/12

    For anyone interested in seeing the old soap of Dark Shadows, they have them on Netflix. Starting with the opening of Barnabas's coffin by Willie Loomis. There are 160 episodes. I haven't seen House of Dark Shadows. Looks scary! They have it on iTunes though so I might have to get it!

  • House of Dark Shadows

    • hswolfmaniac
    • 2/1/12

    I MISSED IT! I was hoping to see it, but I ended up becoming involved with something away from home. I HOPE THEY SHOW IT AGAIN! ARE YOU LISTENING TCM?! I remember the TV series. My ex-wife got me interested in seeing the series when we were teenagers and going out. We were not allowed to go to the movies alone so we missed out on the movie version. Over the years I had TOTALLY forgotten about it until I saw the previews on TCM. Geez, what a disappointment not being able to see it last night. Oh well, maybe next time.

  • House of Dark Shadows

    • jamye mcdonald
    • 2/1/12

    GREAT movie... loved the soap and loved this too.. tHANKS

  • House of Dark Shadows

    • Jose Olmo
    • 1/30/12

    Barnabas Collins is back with a VENEANCE! The most famous Vampire since Dracula, returns in this feature film adaptation of the famed television series "Dark Shadows". House Of Dark Shadows is a movie I enjoy every time its aired. Jonathan Frid as Barnabas Collins the Vampire. In this movie also you will see Joan Bennett as Elizabeth Collins Stoddard the reclusive matriarch of Collinwood Estate. Grayson Hall as Dr. Julia Hoffman, who falls in love with the vampire. Dan Curtis is the Producer/Director of this spine tingler! When the sun goes down, the terror begins! The haunting music compose by Robert Cobert. All this in one MGM movie House of Dark Shadows. Also a must see is Night of Dark Shadows (1971) were the TERROR is continuous.

  • Original Series

    • Valorie
    • 1/27/12

    Would love to see the original series in its entirety. I was a young child when this came on after school in the seventies and would sit in front of the TV to watch it with my older sisters. It was so scary, creepy but so cool to watch. Please show the television series from the beginning. Thanks!

  • HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS

    • Richard A. Ekstedt
    • 1/27/12

    Being a collector of film, for over 40 years (and a writer of sorts as well, in writing the Introductions to the Philip J. Riley "NIGHTMARE SERIES"), I have VERY fond memories of watching "DARK SHADOWS" on its first run. Later, meeting many of the cast members (including Jonathan (Barnabas) Frid, who was appearing at Brookdale Community College (Lincroft, NJ) for his "FOOLS AND FIENDS" (Feb. 6, 1988) reading tour. Bliss!!!!! I caught "HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS" at the theatre and much later, bought my prize-the laserdisc release (with "NIGHT OF DARK SHADOWS") along with the paperback film tie-in. "DARK SHADOWS" will always remain a part of a fun-filled time in my life and I am sure, a part of American culture. Jonathan Frid (as Barnabas Collins) and John (Willie Loomis) Karlin, along with Barbara Steele, just recently recorded an audio story called "NIGHT WHISPERS" that is very worth tracking down!!!!

  • Dark Shadows

    • Debbie
    • 1/3/12

    TCM has been getting better and better with the movies, but for us old folks, nothing beats you putting on Dark Shadows. It's been eons since we've had the joy of viewing it.Thank you for remembering.It would be extremely nice if you could run the original series for us again. Many of us remember the days when we used to run home from school ,(this show kept many of us out of trouble as well--so you see, it served a double purpose. HAHA) to see this as well as the many other great shows that were on at the time.Perhaps if you showed it again, it might take on a new meaning for the new generation.Please run the whole series. We couldn't be happier.

  • DARK SHADOWS AND THE HOUSE OF DARK SHADOWS

    • DEBRA LEGG
    • 5/23/11

    I REALLY WISH YOU WOULD PUT THE WHOLE SERIES BACK ON AGAIN. A LOT OF US OLDER PEOPLE USE TO RUN HOME FROM SCHOOL JUST TO WATCH THIS. THERE WAS NOT CUSSING, SEX. IT WAS DRAMA THAT YOU WANTED MORE AND MORE OF. THIS COULD REALLY BE BIG HIT AGAIN. WE ARE SO TIRED OF ALL THESE MURDERS, BLOWING THINGS UP AND DRUGS AND SO ON.I KNOW THERE WAS SOME IN THIS STORY THAT DIED BUT ALL AND ALL IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST YET. A LOT OF US SIT AND TALK ABOUT ALL THE CHARACTORS AND HOW THEY PLAYED TWO PARTS BUT IT WAS STILL A MUST SEE SHOW. PLEASE CONSIDER THIS IN THE FUTURE AND DO E-MAIL ME AND LET ME KNOW IF YOU WILL. THESE SHOWS WOULD GET A 1000 PERCENT REVIEW FROM A LOT OF US.SINCERELY,DEBRA LEGGPLEASE!

  • The House of Dark Shadows movies

    • Roxann Dolansky
    • 5/13/11

    Thank you so very much for showing theses movies. I thought the "Dark Shadow" series on t.v. were the best. I hope some day soon that you will have the dvds available to the public. It would be nice to watch anytime i want; especially on Halloween. They are the best vampire movies ever.

  • Awesome

    • James
    • 5/12/11

    Dark Shadows was one of my high school obsessions back in the seventies. The show can still creep me out to this day. I didn't see the two movie versions till much later. As much as I like the movies, I didn't think they measured up to the TV show at all. House Of Dark Shadows stuck pretty much with the story line of the show, adding a few twists and turns along the way. The Barnabas character was the main draw in this movie, and was so unlike the Barnabas character in the show. There was a lot more blood, more violence, and a lot more gore then could be shown in the TV version. The cast was great, and probably acted much better in the movie then the TV show. There is no replacing this orginal cast. For me the thrill was seeing these TV actors working together in a much longer feature. I did miss the TV Collinwood though, which I thought was more mysterious then the one used in the movie. The biggest miss for me in the movie were the missing characters Quintin (David Selby) and Angelique (Lara Parker) who appeared in the second movie a year later. Both movies were scary, but a little campy, even back then. Dark Shadows the TV show kept me glued to the screen until it went off the air, I believe in 1971. Other then Twilight Zone and The Outer Limits, nothing has come this close to scaring the daylights out of me.

  • Excellent 70s Horror

    • David Keith
    • 5/11/11

    Excellent big screen adaption of the TV show Dark Shadows. The entire cast reunites to rework the Barnabas Collins story in the first of two film. It's much bloodier than the TV show with many unexpected twists. The movie stands up well against other horror movies of the period. It's followed up by the also excellent Night of Dark Shadows. A must see for fans of the TV show, and a good introduction for noobs.

  • Barnabas' love bite

    • Suzette Kuhnle
    • 9/10/09

    Iam Suzette Kuhnle.My name was after Josette in the Dark Shadows series.I used to run away from school the see the series everyday at 3:00 P.M. Some times on the channel chiller,they show it. But, it is with other actors.I prefer th orginal Angelic and other original crew.But, I love to watch.It came on when I was fourteen.I would have loved to act like Josette in the new series.I do have Barnabas's ring.Also, I have Josette's music box.I love them to pieces.Hope you all show the movie soon.

  • "Come see how the Vampires Do It!"

    • Michael Bare
    • 8/25/06

    That was one of the advertising lines to a movie that rocked my socks off when I saw it in the theater. I had been like many kids, rushing home after school to watch the Dark Shadows soap opera on ABC. The soap opera had vampires, witches, werewolves, even Frankenstein and Picture of Dorian Gray type monsters. The picture took the main "tortured" anti-hero, the vampire Barnbas Collins to places we young kids only wished they'd go to in the TV series. I didn't like the second and last movie in the series "Night of Dark Shadows" but then I wasn't a fan of the Dorian Gray/werewolf Quentin Collins.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.