skip navigation
She Couldn't Say No

She Couldn't Say No(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • she couldn't say no

    • kevin sellers
    • 2/11/18

    Sweet small town comedy with a misleadingly salacious title (probably supplied by producer/perv, Howard Hughes). If it doesn't rise to the heights of the best entries in this sub genre, like "Miracle Of Morgans Creek" or "Bernie", it's still got plenty of charm and likability and a fine cast headed by Robert Mitchum and Jean Simmons (in their second teaming after the completely different, ultra dark noir "Angel Face") and backed up by classic small town character actor types like Edgar Buchanan, Wallace Ford, Arthur Hunnicutt and Dabs Greer. It's basically, as a previous reviewer noted, a top drawer episode of The Andy Griffith Shpw. Not that there's anything wrong with that! Bottom line: A nice way for a solid, veteran director like Lloyd Bacon to call it a career. Let's give it a B minus. P.S. This is the only time I can recall where a leading man's character in a movie has the same last name as I. Glad it was one of my all time favorite actors.

  • She said yes!

    • Danny Donian
    • 1/31/18

    This move can make you forget your troubles and is great way to just sit back and enjoy this great country back when it was simple and care free. Along the lines of a Mayberry this movie is not for you if you like murder but does well as a mystery! You will notice a couple of familiar faces from Petticoat junction and a face or two from Mayberry. It is comforting to see what our country was like back around the 1950s .Jean Simmons stirs up the locals with her big city ideals and money and gets "schooled" by Mitchum. Of course Simmons alienates the town in the process of becoming real person and is important to note that when a young woman drives around giving away money she just might have taught Mithchum thing or too as well! But as in all good "lesion" movie's the town and Micthum win out and everyone is for the better. I love when a movie makes you forget your problems and this one does so without killing and blowing up everything in site.

  • She Couldn't Say No

    • Susanne Cavendish
    • 6/11/16

    It's worth a star and a half to see Jean Simmons. Living in a small town gets one ready for a movie like this. All the things grandfathers and grandmothers talk about, in a movie with the setting and pace ramped up three- or four-fold. Still, it was a good movie and I liked the settings, the places where she stopped along the way, the people and the way they identified with each other, In some ways it was a dud, but well worth seeing, I give it three out of five.

  • I love this movie

    • Ginny
    • 1/1/13

    One of my new favorites

  • Charming farce

    • Mike444
    • 4/16/12

    This movie is a whimsical romantic comedy, a charming farce reminiscent of Bringing Up Baby, only much better. The romance between the leading characters is much more successful, mostly because there is actually some chemistry between Mitchum and Simmons. Also, both of their characters are much more realistic, charming and likeable. In Baby, Grant & Hepburn's characters are really caricatures. I never understood why Grant fell for Hepburn in the end, because quite frankly her character was a complete train wreck. Baby was also overlong and overly complicated, especially the leopard chase scenes and the dog chase scenes, which were not particularly funny. Leonard Maltin is completely off the mark in his review of this movie. The things he writes actually ring true about Bringing Up Baby- Silly fluff about wealthy, misguided young Hepburn. Grant is out of his element as a professor.

  • She couldn't say "No."

    • BruceAlan
    • 11/23/11

    A movie I can watch with my great-grandchildren. Please hasten it's re-airing. Thank you.

  • She Couldn't Say No

    • Rene'e
    • 9/15/11

    The few times I've seen this movie I have truely enjoyed it. Another great family movie to watch with the grandchildren. There are so few movies today that I think are ok for young people. As parents and grandparents you have to watch a movie first before you allow children to watch. Would enjoy seeing it again on TCM and putting it in my library.

  • Wish it was on in the evening

    • Robin
    • 6/22/11

    I ended up being late for work because I couldn't quit watching and I had to leave before it was over. Loved what I saw of it!!

  • Not Bad!

    • Cris
    • 6/22/11

    A cute film. Mitchum gives a good performance playing the straight man off the comical roles of the other characters. No, not a typical Mitchum film, but one that shows his range as an actor.

  • My sister's name

    • Cheryl
    • 7/2/09

    My Mom told me she named my sister after a character in an old movie she watched. She said it was so pretty and unusual. That name was CORBY LANE. It is the character played by Jean Simmons. My sister gets comments everywhere she goes. Her birthday is coming up and I wanted to get this movie for her but found it was not yet on DVD. * * 0

  • She Couldn't Say No

    • Bruce
    • 2/18/08

    A good comedy. Reminded me of some friends of the '40s.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.