skip navigation
Above and Beyond

Above and Beyond(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Above and Beyond The pilot who helped drop the... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

    • Lynn
    • 5/27/14

    I just watched "Above and Beyond " for the first time and wondered why this film gem is not more widely known and shown. It tells the story of Lt. Col. Paul W. Tibbets, Jr, (Robert Taylor) who flew the plane that dropped the atomic bomb on Hiroshima, August 6, 1945. His mission was top secret, which took a toll on his wife, Lucey, (Eleanor Parker) for the two years of work needed to perfect the B29 plane and hone the vast secretive military mission that was planned in the hope of ending WWII. Robert Taylor, who in fact served in the Naval Air Corps and worked as a flight instructor in WWII, gives an Oscar worthy performance in my opinion. Eleanor Parker is superb as his suffering wife because she is virtually shut out of her husband's life for two years due to the air-tight security required for the project's success. The footage of the bombing at the end is emotionally powerful. I highly recommend this film!

  • Above and Beyond

    • Solomon Kimuyu
    • 9/7/13

    I was not born yet. I have read about war story 1945 my father was in Burma helping the Britons. The move tell the story interwoven with a family affairs.I will buy and keep my own copySolomon KimuyuDallas, Texas

  • The Human Side of It.

    • NLee
    • 1/30/12

    The emotional turmoil a couple experiences under the weight of secret duty and the responsibility of saving the world. The need behind the truth of 'lose lips sink ships' and the devastation a small leak or seemingly insignificant act can bring about.

  • FANTASTIC ACCOUNT!!!

    • Gayle Corley
    • 2/5/10

    I saw Above and Beyond today 2/4/10. I have seen movies about the atomic bomb before, but this is an astounding account of the events, from day one of Col Tibbets' first involvement in the planning of the bombing of Hiroshima. This isn't just for men interested in war history. I am a 67-yr old woman, and was spell-bound in the deep details of this operation, including all the sacrifices of each man (not being able to tell their families what they were involved in), while they planned and kept everything top secret. TCM will notify you, if you click on their "remind me" link" when you have seached a movie. This one is set for April 21. You WILL enjoy.........

  • Small gem of a movie, I've never seen before

    • Genny
    • 2/5/10

    I was late getting to work tonight, so I could see the end of this movie. It packs it own punch on the Manhattan Project and how it changed the world.My mother-in-law was an Air Force wife. I felt for Eleanor Parker and her situation. Good movie and it got me to look up Col. Paul Tibbets and his life....it's not Fail Safe....but a pretty darn good movie. Glad I took the time to watch.......

  • Above and Beyond

    • JOYCE
    • 9/1/09

    I always enjoy this movie .The acting of Robert Taylor is good as can be for this part ! Important story for all to know .

  • Great movie! guess whre it was filmed?

    • Ray Abbott
    • 6/20/09

    This movie is so important in the fact that it tells a very accurate story of how we got Japan to finally surrender. The most interesting thing about this movie is that it was filmed outside of Tucson, Arizona. Wendover is actually Picacho, Arizona. Having seen this movie several times, my wife finally pointed out Picacho Peak to me. I was stunned.Great movie. Hope it gets out on DVD.

  • out standing sorry I missed the showing

    • Mc Crory
    • 5/25/09

    great movie -- this story should be told--lets get it available on dvd so more people be sides us that are old enough to remember

  • Highly Recommended

    • MURIEL
    • 5/11/09

    Agree with one reviewer that telling the story from the wife's point of view was the wrong angle. I suppose the film makers needed to appeal to the broadest and this was the way. Never the less, it is one of my favourite war movies and highly recommended. The effects and scenes when they drop the bomb is extremely dramatic and compelling. Don't miss it!

  • Told from BOTH angles

    • Lynne Berus
    • 7/23/06

    This movie is fantastic. It covers the emotions of BOTH men and women. They were both equally living the war, whether they were enlisted in the armed forces or not. Being married to a soldier, sacrifices were made. I loved the movie, can't wait to add it to my collection.

  • Told from the wrong angle

    • ECJ
    • 7/23/06

    Disappointing film, yet it contains what may be Robert Taylor's finest performance as Col. Paul Tibbets, who piloted the Enola Gay to drop the atomic bomb on Hiroshima. Story suffers because it is told from perspective of the wife (Eleanor Parker). Still there is tension, and military machinations to keep mission secret accurately portrayed. Ethical questions raised by spectre of using atomic bomb also well-handled.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.