skip navigation
Sergeant York

Sergeant York(1941)

  • Thursday, February 12 @ 10:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Sergeant York True story of the farm boy who... MORE > $8.09 Regularly $26.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Still love this film!

    • Alice
    • 7/4/14

    What a great film this is. What a great role model for a great American Alvin York was. This film is a "must see" for everyone, especially, young people. Please keep showing this terrific gem of a film every year.

  • sgt. york.

    • will
    • 2/24/14

    I had the honour of meeting some of the York family (sorry not Alvin) at Friendship Indiana during the National Muzzle Loading Rifle shoots, some years ago. Lovely, hospitable, friendly people, as were all the people I met there. BUT! Don't cross them ,Don't make them angry, and Respect there privacy. No exaggeration, they can shoot the eye out of a needle at 200 yards in the dark, Just like in the movie, with a flintlock or percussion rifle or pistol. and can the ladies cook. All you have to do was say hello, strike up some friendly conversation and the next thing you know you've been invited for supper, at there camp site. It doesn't get any better than this. Love the movie . one of the best Anti war films ever made, without slandering the Americans. The message is so clear. We don't want a war, but if were pushed into it, look out. The only thing I found over the top in the movie, was the exaggerated way they spoke to each other, with the shuckins ,gollys and derns and setch. Other wise a great film.

  • Not so bad

    • Godzilla97
    • 5/27/13

    I didn't hate this movie, but I found it to be a little long. Gary Cooper was an amazing actor, and well deserved his Oscar, but he looked much too old for the role. The question that I came away with: just what was that thing on Walter Brennan's head?

  • A great great movie!

    • Todd Brewster
    • 5/26/13

    This is a top 5 all time movie and I can see building a case for number 1. This is a powerful movie with a powerful theme. We all need to live a life with roots that we can believe in and there are many scenes with real humor that keep the movie moving along. The best fact is that it helped get us prepared for fighting for our country in WWII.One minor fact that I find very interesting is that Dickie Moore, June Lockhart and Joan Leslie are all about the same age. The first time I saw it, I thought there was at least a ten year age difference. I would love to interview the 3 of them today about the effect the movie had on their lives.

  • Seargant York

    • Theresa Jones
    • 5/26/13

    I give the movie a 6 Star! The main crew was excellent, and thismovie was so moving that you almost can feel the innocence ofSeargant York. I would watch this movie over and over again! ThanksTCM for showing it! TJ

  • G.r.e.a.t !

    • Alice
    • 5/24/13

    I've lost count of the number of times I've watched this wonderful film. The best part of it is that the story is a true one. Love it, love it, love it. What a treat whenever you show it. I cannot imagine anyone but Gary Cooper playing the lead. Walter Brennan played a great country preacher, also.

  • Brilliant

    • Eddie Rigby
    • 5/6/13

    One of the best films ever made and still remember how good it was 60yrs after watching it

  • Sgt. York and the meaning of being an American

    • Richard Sipan
    • 1/21/13

    Sergeant York is one of those 30's and 40's movies about what it is to be an American. Comparable works are Knute Rockne, All American (which, like Sgt. York, has some religious themes); and war propaganda pictures Wake Island, Bataan, Guadalcanal Diary, and chronological outliers The Gallant Hours (1960) and Midway (1976). Sgt. York has obvious themes of freedom of religion and freedom of conscience. As would be needed as the United States approached entry into World War II, York's pacifist convictions are overcome by the greater good of defending his country, and frankly, fighting Evil. He is not forced to reach this conclusion; he reaches it of his own Free Will. Cooper's somewhat stiff, wooden performance is actually perfect for the character of York, who is a backwoodsman, not some kind of sophisticate. Walter Brennan in particular renders an outstanding supporting performance. The only movie I can recall that had this kind of organic integration of character development with the war action is The Fighting Sullivans, a largely forgotten and underrated film. The common theme of Sgt. York, Bataan, and so forth, and including Midway, is that the American thinks for himself, sizes up the situation, at times improvises, and ultimately triumphs due to moral righteousness mixed with cool calculation. This is a formula which works for the two World Wars, which had unambiguous sides, and interests; it works less well in a post VietNam War environment (see Kubrick's Full Metal Jacket). Nonetheless, you have to admit, there are giants on whose shoulders we stand; Sgt. York among them.Sgt. York and films like it serve to remind of the sacrifices given for the freedom we enjoy.

  • Great Wartime Propaganda

    • muriel
    • 12/10/12

    The only thing wrong with this movie is Gary Cooper giving another fence post performance. They said actors had trouble acting with him on set because he seemed too wooden, they were getting nothing back from his. Directors said that his performance was only visible on film.I seem to be the only person who can't "see" that special Gary Cooper "spark". Handsome man, excellent in light comedies, but to me his dramatic performances are painful to watch.

  • Sergeant York

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 5/28/12

    A grand film to build the U.S.A's morale into going into WWII. Cooper won a well deserved Academy Award for playing the real- life war hero. His performance is enough to make this film great. Excellent story combined with Hawks' direction makes this a classic. A great war film from the library of Hawks films. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • BEST EVER!

    • GeorgiaGold
    • 2/27/11

    BEST MOVIE EVER MADE ! SIMPLE AS THAT !

  • sergeant york

    • cassie J
    • 1/18/11

    this is in my opinion one of the greatest movies of all time, gary cooper was a great actor, i love this film i could actually watch it over and over again go coope go.

  • Sergeant York

    • VexingConfection
    • 12/31/10

    With the understanding, Sergeant York is not a factually accurate movie, it still needs to be seen. The few minor details which were glamourized and neglected, however; are trivial. Sergeant York remains a true American hero of the highest caliber whose distinguished service to our nation was not only his time in uniform but the legacy of his life and choices.No one but Gary Cooper could have played this role. Motivational, patriotic, beautiful-I weep.Just never in front of anyone at the VFW- ;)

  • sergeant york

    • tradertwo
    • 8/21/10

    Wonderful overall movie,my personal favorite of all time!Storyline,cast,characters,and add that it's almost a documentary in the aspect of not straying far from the actual events that shaped this fellow Tennesseeans life.His modesty,character,patriotism,and most of all,his unwavering faith shine through from Alvin(Cooper)and Pastor Pyle(Brennan),to Mother York(Wycherly).Hailing from rural Tennessee,I can attest to the accuracy of the mannerisms and dialects,as well as the scenery.Nothing lacking in this movie for old and young!

  • Sergeant York

    • Coci
    • 4/25/10

    I fell in love with Gary Cooper at the tender young age of 5. This movie is so wonderfully done! It's one of my favs of Mr. Coopers!

  • Love this movie!

    • Liz in love with classics
    • 5/25/09

    I finally came to appreciate movies of this genre when I saw Gary Cooper in Sgt. York. It's not just a war movie. The establishment of character in the beginning of the movie sets it apart from other war movies. And, yet, it all flows so well together. Cooper's stature truly helps him to bring forth the ideals of this upstanding young man. The inner turmoil is evident, but not overpowering. This is one of the few war movies I will watch repeatedly. A fine choice for Memorial Day, TCM. You couldn't have picked a better movie!

  • one great story

    • cassie johnson
    • 3/25/09

    in my opinion seargent york is one of the top greatest stories ever told. gary cooper is exelent as alvin york i can see why the real mr. york requested that cooper play the role of alvin york, i can honestly say that i can never tire of this movie, i am a big gary cooper fan love him in all films i have seen him in and sergeant york is my favorite cooper movie

  • Superb movie!

    • Lorraine
    • 12/2/08

    I finally got the opportunity to watch this all the way through on TCM, and I am so glad I did! This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time! Gary Cooper was a very likeable man, kind & unassuming & modest. He is the kind of person every man should aspire to be like. I love the beginning, when he tries to get a piece of "bottom land", and his trials in doing so. Thankfully, he is converted, and this really shows in his upstanding character & conviction. This is a true gem of a movie, and one I will continue to highly recommend!

  • One Of My Favorite Movies

    • Chris Fortner
    • 11/23/08

    I've been a fan of this classic for almost twenty years. There is not much that hasn't already been said, but its message is timeless and is a true bona-fide classic.

  • A fantastic movie!

    • tom stepmobt
    • 3/5/08

    Sgt. York belongs in the pantheon of great American war films. Like other reviews, this film needs to be re-released on DVD. It is as relevant today as it was the day it was released. Sadly, Hollywood doesn't make movies like this anymore. Watch this film and you'll understand why Gary Cooper and Walter Brennan are some of the best actors in Hollywood history. I love this film.

  • Best movie ever.

    • jay russell
    • 11/2/07

    Makes you won't more.

  • Please release Sergeant York!

    • Mark Russell
    • 12/22/06

    Quite simply one of the finest films of all time and not a part of my DVD collection. Please release this film on DVD.

  • Is a must that you release this outstanding movie

    • omar dejesus
    • 7/15/06

    I will tell you that every time i know that this movie is being shown on TV Im there ready to watch it and enjoy a truly remarkable story about a humble man that wants peace, and a piece of the american dream: a wife and a home. My wife and I love this movie i actually got her hooked on the story and once she saw it she was like "wow" please release this movie as soon as you can dont get me wrong Audie Murphy to hell and back is great also but i believe that Sgt York compared side by side with To hell and back is a no brainer Sgt York captures an essence of the natural way of things feels more real.

  • This movie needs to Be realeased!

    • Rob Walker
    • 7/11/06

    This movie was to have been a staple while I was in Iraq for myself and the rest of my unit. We unfortunatelty were unable to enjoy this incredible movie due to it's not being released when we were told it would.

  • Release this movie on DVD soon please!

    • Edward Hachigian
    • 7/6/06

    This movie Sergeant York is a true piece of americana rarely seen in these times. This is not just another old war movie,actually it's a story of love and levity, in another era, posing some of the same questions of war posed today! It's a true story set back in the hills about a God fearing family and the many life lessons they are faced with in pre WWI rural america. Many fine actors portray these roles in a movie that will touch your heart and your mind like no other! One of the greatest movies ever made!

  • Sergeant York Needs to be put on DVD

    • Corey Holmes
    • 5/28/06

    I watched this movies for the first time a thought it was awesome. I would be first in line to buy this movie.

  • Needs to be released on DVD

    • Karl Berquist
    • 3/27/06

    This is no doubt one of the best movies ever made. It has a great story line, terrific acting, and shows why this country is so great. Anyone wanting to see a heartwarming, entertaining movie they will watch again and again needs to see this. I have this movie on laser disk, which is an excellent transfer, but I am disappointed it has not been released on DVD.

  • The best movie ever made

    • Mary Baker
    • 3/26/06

    I bought this movie about 10 years ago by searching the net, I have it on vhs and love it so much that I am now trying to get it on dvd because im afraid that I am wearing out the vhs , It is a gem .I LOVE IT

  • One of my favorite movies!!!

    • Jennifer
    • 3/20/06

    I love this movie so much. My boyfriend has never seen it and I know he'd love it too. I can't wait for it on DVD.

  • What an exciting movie

    • Gayle
    • 3/2/06

    Sergeant York is a Brilliantly written movie. We would love to add it to our collection. We very much appreciate movies like this. The actors were wonderful. Everything was very impressive. I wish there were more movies with true meaning, so little have that anymore.

  • What a great film...

    • FrankieCee
    • 2/25/06

    This film is such a magnificent, heart-warming movie. There aren't many movies made these days that can elicit such heart-felt emotion as the films of yesteryear. Everyone nowadays, it seems, depends so much on the power of "special effects" to carry a movie through, they lose sight of the "potential" made possible by a simply great storyline, along with the "magic" emanated through the performances of some "truly gifted" actors. This "classic" carries itself by the sheer virtue of the latter. A phenomenal "anti-war" parable reflecting the actual introspective of a character based in fact.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.