skip navigation
The Rack

The Rack(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Rack A Korean War veteran is... MORE > $10.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Pan and Scan

    • Dave Tupper
    • 11/3/16

    This is less of a review and more of a comment, but I hope it does not get deleted. I have recorded many TCM broadcasts over recent years and have noticed a disappointing trend: Broadcasts on TCM of movies that have been altered to cut off a huge amount at the top and bottom of the original to fit the current 16:9 aspect ratio of American TVs, what I call Vertical Pan & Scan. This is true of this movie. I compared an older recording I made (Aug 2014) which had an aspect ration of 4:3 and noticed it was missing a huge amount on the left and right compared to this broadcast (3 Nov 2016), but had just as huge an amount missing from the top and bottom, probably a larger percentage than that missing from the earlier broadcast, since the top and bottom are wider strips! I wish that TCM could find or create a print to broadcast the whole movie, especially since this was an MGM movie, presumably one that TCM owns and can control it's editing.I have noticed that they no longer broadcast the Scorsese (and others) promo clip speaking about and powerfully demoing the crime of pan and scan, probably because a larger and larger amount TCM broadcasts are guilty of just such practices in showing movies now cut to fit the new TV screens. It is especially egregious with movies originally made with an aspect ratio of 1.37, such as Thunder Road. The version shown in recent years cuts at least 1/4 of the original movie out from the top and bottom. And Thunder Road is not alone, it was just the first one I noticed, and is occurring with more and more movies TCM shows.I have noticed that some showings of 1.37 movies have added noticeable additional content in one direction or both, which I applaud, but sometimes with a loss in the other direction, or worse a loss in both directions with the illusion of being slightly wider, although that is occurring more with movies that are larger than 1.78 being broadcast to the left and right edges of the screen.A caring fan,Dave

  • Great film

    • Alice
    • 11/3/16

    This is one of those films that can easily be pre-judged incorrectly by looking at the title alone. That is exactly what I did. My loss! I decided to check the film out mid-way through. I kicked myself through the rest of the way. It is a neat military courtroom drama, that was well-acted by Newman, as well as the rest of the cast. I loved the rest of the film; not to mention how drop-dead gorgeous Paul Newman was during those years. At one point, as I remember, he was voted the sexiest man alive. Good choice, back in that day! Would you be so kind, TCM, to show this classic again, really soon? Surely, I am not the only one who would love to see this film again! Thank you. I'll be looking out for the next showing.

  • Movie The Rack

    • Sharon
    • 12/3/09

    This was the first time I've seen this movie; however, it was riveting. I think it's appropriate for this time. It caused me to wonder if we make decisions because we can't continue in our present state or is it that we just don't want to. It let's you see the value in examining the difference.

  • I want to see The Rack on TCM!

    • J Place
    • 11/16/08

    I remember seeing The Rack when I was 11 years old, and have wanted to see it again ever since to see if my memory of it being a riveting movie is correct.

  • Need to see the ending!

    • Cassandra
    • 7/28/08

    Is this movie scheduled to be shown on TV? I saw part of this movie a long time ago but never got to see the end due to a power outtage caused by a storm in my area. I have been wondering about the end for decades. I hope you can give me some good news.

  • Complete tear-jerker

    • Simone
    • 1/27/07

    The Rack was an amazing movie! I decided to watch it because I wanted to know what else Paul Newman acted in besides Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and wanted to see if his acting skills were good. Well, they are! He was phenominal in this movie. He has so much boyish charm, innocence, and plays a genuinely likeable character. The rest of the cast was equally fantastic and all-star in my eyes. Walter Pidgeon was so uptight and yet sympathetic. When he and Paul Newman's character finally bonded and cried together, it was such an emotional scene. I'd never seen Walter Pidgeon act like that in a movie and it was very moving. Overall, I would suggest anyone that loves a good war drama to see this. :)

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.