skip navigation
The Patsy

The Patsy(1928)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Patsy In this silent film, a... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Patsy

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ***1/2

  • The Patsy (1928)

    • Shane Howell
    • 5/14/10

    Marion Davies is simply amazing in this movie! She is hilarious with all of her impersonations and funny little quotes throughout the movie! It is easily one of the best silent movies I have ever seen.

  • Excellent

    • Barry Warren
    • 5/10/10

    A genuine treasure. One of the very best movies I've ever seen. I smiled and laughed all the way through it.......and fell in love with Marion Davies, she was a genius. Thank-you for restoring this movie. Ordering the movie now.

  • love it best comedy silent movie!

    • haha123
    • 12/16/09

    this movie was fantastic!you haft to watch tha movie!!i saw it @ tcm when i was sick it made me smile so much and feel better!!!! watch the movi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!love the music

  • Wonderful!

    • Steve Braxton
    • 8/31/09

    I couldn't stop smiling, and immediately fell in love with Marion Davies. How I wish this classic were available on DVD. What about that TCM???

  • Non-stop Laughs!

    • Richard Guenther
    • 8/15/09

    I'd never seen this movie before, and I'd hardly ever seen any of Marion Davies movies before, but when I watched this movie last week when it was aired,I just kept laughing from the beginning to the end. Both Marion Davies and Louise Dressler are very funny in this movie, but Ms Davies funny facial expressions throughout this movie particularly hit my funny bone dead center. This movie moves merrily right along without any lulls. I look forward to seeing it again someday now that I know how good it is.

  • The Patsy is a pleasure

    • John O'Callaghan
    • 8/6/09

    A treasure. Marion Davies expressive eyes and physical humor; King Vidor's excellent directon; a great screen play on sister to sister and family competition make this a enjoyeable and timeless. Marie Dressler is so funny. A wonderful movie for those that think they don't like silent films. Without TCM and their willingness to show little known classics in prime time, I would have never had the great pleasure of sharing in this gem.

  • the Patsy was cute!

    • dottaye
    • 8/5/09

    i saw this movie monday night and i'm not really a fan of silent movies, i watch them sometimes and most that i saw were pretty good. but The Patsy was adorable. Marion Davies performance reminded me of a very young Shirley Maclaine. full of over zealous fun and firecracker energy. The plot was marvelous: younger, plain sister falls for her vain sisters boyfriend and finds ways to get him to notice her. it makes me want to find more movies on Marion Davies. very talented Screen Actress.

  • Very witty!

    • Toni Taylor
    • 8/4/09

    I thought this was probably the best silent movie I have ever seen. It portrayed great emotion. It was funny, sad and I absolutely loved. What's more, it held my husband's attention from start to finish. I loved the music score and would like to have the soundtrack if it is available!?

  • "The Patsy" is an essential

    • davetopper
    • 4/21/09

    I loved this movie. I was never so entertained with a silent picture as I was with this one. So funny. Marian Davies was an absolute scream in this picture, especially when she tried to coax a personality out of herself. I am a man and I do use the word "cute", and this movie really was. The ending was really special as well, I can imagine the audience in the theater all saying the same thing. Now you want to see it, and you should, keep an eye out for this gem.

  • Great silent comedy!

    • Peter
    • 5/17/08

    A silent film that had a timeless sense of quality. This, in my opinion, had the style of more recent films. The mature humor was handled extremely well...way ahead of it's time. It is remarkable how they captured that kind of emotion and subject matter, in a silent film. I really enjoyed Marion Davies acting! I'm not sure if it available on tape or CD...I would own it if it was.

  • Awesome

    • Jordan
    • 9/28/07

    This movie is one of the best. Silent or not it's simply fantastic.

  • Wonderful

    • Silent in the dark
    • 7/6/07

    All I can say about this movie wonderful just wonderful. It is the only silent film I really liked. My sister really introuduced the movie to me and I loved it. I recorded it for my sister but it would be better to have it on DVD instead of VHS because VHS's won't last for ever.(SO VOTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)This film is the best silent film I've seen, but then again I've only seen just a few of them. And don't forget to VOTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Great Movie!

    • Virginia
    • 6/24/07

    This is one of my favorite movies. Marion Davies is fantastic! Wish I could find a copy on DVD!

  • MARION DAVIES

    • Annabelle
    • 5/6/07

    What a wonderful movie! Marion Davies is a great actress!!! It's one of the best silents I've ever seen. Vote for it to be on DVD, even id you haven't seen it, becuase then you can buy the DVD and se what an AH-MAZING movie this is!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.