skip navigation
Eskimo

Eskimo(1934)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Eskimo - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I am a Decendant from the Native Cast

    • Barbara Weyiouanna
    • 6/14/13

    I am a cousin to the little Inupiaq girl and boy in the cast of this movie. I hold them close to my heart. My fatherand their mother are siblings. I also felt my Grandfather Iokienna singing as he drum and softly wiggled his nose at me. This is the only time I have seen him sing as he was a great singer for my village and family. This movie was very valuable to my elders as they watched this great movie; most of them have passed on. We watched the movie on a white wall screen as a whole village when I was a little girl. Now I am past 50, I hold this memory dearly. Thank you for letting me view my Grandfather Iokienna.

  • Fascinating!

    • slotski
    • 3/21/13

    March 21, 2013Movie was 15 minutes into it when I turned it on and was immediately drawn into it by the scenery and on location filming! What a phenomenal film capture of "history" and of "days gone by", of eskimo/indigenous life in the arctic.I found the story line to be interesting and was captivated on how they hunted for the whale in the small boats, and the caribou by the "direction" of the sun. The depicition of the white manis what I would of expected, the lousy scum..., and Im glad Mala killed the swine! This movie has stayed with me all day and I came to work sharing every detail with co-workers. I hope it willbe on again and am glad I was able to catch such a FINE movie on TCM! Also, thanks TCM for the fine full synopsis, as I missed the near end because I had to get ready for work! LOL

  • Eskimo

    • Lei
    • 2/12/11

    An amazing, captivating story,especially valuable in it's cultural depiction of a people and their indigenous values. I was spell bound. How frustrating to not be able to watch it again. Would instantly purchase when it becomes available.

  • Eskimo

    • Norm Parsadanian
    • 2/1/11

    Great movie. Saw it for the first time this morning.Makes me think of another film with Anthony Quinn in the role of eskimo "Inuk", Peter O'tool as the Mountie. 1961 color production of "Savage Innocents". Must have been a remake of this 1933 version. They should release a double bill DVD with these two films.

  • Eskimo

    • Amy Jo
    • 2/1/11

    I saw only the last half of this movie this morning and LOVED IT! I, too, wish it was available on dvd. I would buy it. The depiction of every day life for these people was beautiful. The scenery was beautiful. I only got to see the caribou hunt and that was unbelievable. I wish I could see it all tonight! I've thought about it all day long and told others about it. Please show it again and please make it available on dvd.

  • ESKIMO

    • LORRAINE CONTRISTANO
    • 2/1/11

    SAW IT FOR THE FIRST TIME, THIS MORNING. I WAS VERY MOVED BY THE STORY AND THE ACTORS WERE VERY NATURAL. A PART OF HISTORY, PLEASE PUT IT ON DVD, I WOULD BUY IT.

  • Eskimo

    • Dolores Miller
    • 2/1/11

    I enjoy this movie and I known that my grandmother was in this film. I know that I had seen this movie either in 1973 or 1974 when I went to visit my grandparents at that time and it was shown at a museum in Anchorage.

  • Eskimo

    • Robert B. Cierniak
    • 2/18/10

    I definitely agree with the others on their reviews. I loved this film when I saw it a couple of years ago! I hope it is shown again.The way they show the life of the Eskimo is just so innocently beautiful.

  • great film

    • thomas
    • 3/8/09

    great movie-saw it for the first time-loved it! you can feel the harsh weather conditions as your watching.why is this movie not available on dvd? this movie is so real it puts modern day films of this kind to shame.I will be the first person to buy a copy when and if it becomes available.

  • I want a DVD copy!

    • Miaq
    • 3/30/08

    I watched this movie several years ago in a theatre-like setting and it was awesome to watch people that I know, doing a good job of acting in front of a camera. The story in the movie captured the very essence the impact of western civilization had on our culture. I would love to own it on DVD!

  • Relative of Mala

    • Willie
    • 2/24/08

    Ray Mala is my Grandpa who was born in Candle, Alaska. I am hoping more movies like the ESKIMO and the RED SNOW were made available for the public in DVD, downloadable for purchase. Great Movie

  • First Eskimo Actor?

    • Roland
    • 12/5/07

    Entertaining film with a real Alaskan Eskimo actor...I thought he did a great job...I hope DVD's are made available...He has other films also.....R

  • Awesome

    • Agutuk
    • 6/29/06

    Ive seen this movie a hundred times and i never get tired of watching it, it would be great if they could put it on dvd.

  • Excellent

    • Skippy
    • 3/26/06

    I just finished watching "Eskimo"...found it to be an excellent and moving depiction of Eskimo and White Man's lives.

  • Eskimo!!!!

    • Paul Gorniak
    • 3/21/06

    I have seen this movie for the first time just this morning.I was so moved by it,that I had to see if it was available ondvd.It is not now but I voted in hopes to change that.Everything is great about this film!The authentic whaling footage,the purity of the story and the absolutenatural acting of the (native)actors.Ihope it is played again soon for more to enjoy it.(my 1st review ever!)

  • Native Whaling scenes from Eskimo

    • Olde Scott
    • 3/21/06

    I very much enjoyed the movie and for it's time it was a rather good representation of the hardships the natives faced after introduction to the white man...especially the whalers, who could be a brutal bunch of thugs. The scenes of the open boats striking Grey Whales was, indeed, exciting since it was real and those hunters were very much taking their lives into their hands to provide for their families. I was wondering where the whale hunt scenes were filmed and what backdrops were used, since it appears that there is a Humpback Whale or two in the shots as well...

  • Eskimo 1933

    • Corinne Spencer-McDonnell
    • 3/21/06

    I would like to some how get a copy of this movie. These are my ancestors from Barrow and Kotzebue area. Malo is a relative of mine.How do I get one?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.