skip navigation
Escape Me Never

Escape Me Never(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Escape Me Never - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Adored this film.

    • Eve
    • 7/3/13

    There are so many classics I have not seen, and "Escape me never", was one of them. I was immediately captured by the cast, and the emotion that the whole story carried. I SO wanted to buy this one, but disappointed it wasn't on the list. It made me cry.....and if any film can make me cry... it's got to be good....and it was magnificent, all the way through! I hope you will show it again!!

  • Escape Me Never Cast

    • bergy7
    • 6/21/12

    Let's face it...the plot was kind of weak, but Flynn and Lupino are great..especially Ida Lupino...I just love her in everything from They Drive By Night to Women In Chains. She was the best.

  • All Star Cast - Little Emotional Envolvement(1947)

    • nshepard
    • 6/21/12

    Erroll Flynn headlines in lederhosen no less, but his puppy love looks do little to carry this film. Ida Lupino, Eleanor Parker, and Gig Young combine to cross the Venice countryside. Unless you enjoy a film with little emotional envolvement, then you might appreciate just watching the star power, other than that I would recommend Rick Steves Europe DVD's. Too bad, this film had such promise, but somewhere along the way, it just doesn't work.

  • Escape Me Never (1947)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/2/10

    Very melodramatic, actually a bit silly at times, and if it wasn't for the terrific cast it wouldn't be as bearable. Ida Lupino is a bit over the top though, Errol Flynn is fine though. It's just a bit much.

  • Flynn & Lupino and some parenting

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 10/16/09

    I watched this film yesterday in bits and pieces, then I decided to watch it straight through. I had a hard time getting into it. But after I finished, I was glad I had paid thorough attention to it. And a day later, it really has resonated with me. This is a fine effort, because it has all those great elements that make for a splendid Warners-Flynn vehicle: it has adventure; romance; some men in tights; and Korngold's lush score. The added bonus in this project is Ida Lupino (where normally it would've been Olivia DeHavilland in Flynn's earlier films). Also, Gig Young seems to be perfectly cast as the brother...they do seem related. It's a shame the film didn't do well in its initial release...I read that Flynn was very upset by the critics' negative reviews, since he had high hopes for it. What makes this film stand-out is the fact that we get to see Flynn do a bit of parenting with the child of Lupino's character. Usually there is not much time for kids in Flynn's movies, because he's trying to save the day. The only other kid character I recall is Bobs Watson in Dodge City, but he gets killed off half-way through the picture.

  • Has anyone seen the 1935 version?

    • robert garrett
    • 10/14/09

    I'm wondering whether Sebastian (Dubrok) was Sebastian Sanger in the 1935 English movie. In Margaret Kennedy's novel "The Constant Nymph" Sebastian was the youngest of Sanger's Circus and in her later play he was The Fool of the Family from which "Escape Me Never" was taken.

  • Great Job Ida!

    • Mitchell
    • 10/14/09

    I saw this film for the first time a few hours ago, and actually feel it's one of Ida Lupino's best. She's really cute, and the chemistry between she and Errol jumps off the screen. Errol as usual, is his "devil-may-care" likeable self. Both handle the dramatic scenes beautifully. Thoughly Entertaining! I loved it!

  • One of my personal favorites

    • David P.
    • 8/17/06

    This is personally my favorite Errol Flynn film, and considering that he is one of my favorite actors, this is a great compliment! But not only is this film Flynn's best, it's just a fantastic movie in general. Ida Lupino couldn't have been more heart-breaking. The supporting cast was absolutely excellent with Gig Young and Eleanor Parker leading the way. This movie features a music score that is my second favorite of all time (next to Claude Debussy's 'Girl With the Flaxen Hair' in Portrait of Jennie).

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.