skip navigation
99 River Street

99 River Street(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

99 River Street A taxi driver gets mixed up... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • No. 1 Film Noir in my book!

    • Andy
    • 10/26/13

    Hooked in first 60 seconds and then you discover a dark underground crime network that can easily thrive in your neighborhood undetected. You'll never see your local pet store in the same way afterwards! This flick is a bonanaza of violence wrapped in kindness.

  • Wow, Film Noir at It's Best.

    • Bryan
    • 1/19/13

    I just finished watching this film today and am so glad I recorded it yesterday. John Payne I've never seen like this in a film. I understand why he was such an underrated actor now. His character had me following him every thrilling moment. That fight scene in the hotel room is one I will not forget soon. Evelyn Keyes was incredible. A great film noir!

  • One Reason I Watch TCM

    • David Cantrell
    • 1/18/13

    To discover great films like this is one reason I watch TCM. I was on edge for John Payne's character as I journeyed with him from one situation to another, the story and characters always keeping me involved. Another one I have to get for my collection.

  • Great Noir

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/17/13

    I have been a John Payne fan since childhood and really loved this movie. I don't think they get much better than this film noir.I know it is not a favorite of some fans but I like it better than some of the even more so-called popular films of this genre. The pace, the acting, the screenplay, the directing is great and the acting is top notch. I don't recall seeing this film before and really enjoyed it.

  • Just Watched 10/9/12

    • The River
    • 10/9/12

    Good movie

  • Great noir fun

    • manny igrejas
    • 1/17/11

    An engrossing delight. What a treat to see the excellent and under-appreciated John Payne and Evelyn Keyes giving it their all. The plot is twisty and neat and it zips along at a lively pace. The solid supporting cast is a great boost as well. This film really likes its closeups and they serve the film beautifully. Evelyn Keyes big scene in a theater is something to see.

  • 99 River Street (1953)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/4/10

    Impressive "B" film noir, it's short and with an incredible pace. Wonderful cast. John Payne is so underrated, he gives and exceptional performance. Snappy dialog, well written. A solid and taut film, well edited.

  • 99 River St.

    • hugh lovell
    • 3/3/10

    It's film noir meets Rocky. You gotta see it but it"s hard to find.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.