skip navigation
An American Romance

An American Romance(1944)

  • Monday, December 8 @ 02:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

An American Romance A European immigrant becomes a... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Supberb Movie

    • Nicholas Bombardo
    • 11/30/13

    I saw this movie when it was 11 years old and I thought it was the best movie I ever saw. I have only seen it once since then and would watch it every time it played. Fantastic story. I still say it was a great movie.

  • It brought tears to my eyes, literally!

    • Jack
    • 6/26/12

    There was a time in America, when people took pride in the growing strength of the nation, its freedom and boundless opportunities for self expression through whatever endeavor took our fancy, including the creation of industrial power. We saw it as good, and it was. Those who built the nation did so with their hands, brains endurance and love of country. This film portrays a segment of my life, and that which preceded my entrance onto the American stage which set that stage for events that became my earliest memories. My grandparents were of the age of the hero, Steve Dangos, and they worked as he did, albeit without the degree of success that the film portrays. My parents and their siblings went to the next level.We were a good people, and that shows in this film. My eyes welled with tears because the USA of my childhood has melted away like ice cream on a July day in the desert I now call home. Can we ever get it back? Who knows? I only know that the current leadership has no roots in that wonderful era, and views it with disdain. What was good is bad; what is bad is good, and when things are upside down and inside out, we all have reason to weep.If someone does not like this film it might be because they cannot begin to understand the beauty of what we had and lost. Pity for them and the rest of us.

  • Donlevy was first rate

    • Jerome Albano
    • 6/26/12

    Brian Donlevy's performance was first rate in this wonderful film. It left nothing to be desired for me.

  • An American Romance

    • C Kellner
    • 6/7/12

    A pro- American, pro-life, pro-capitalist, pro-Christian movie. No wonder the liberal media is no fan.

  • An America Romance SHOULD BE SEEN

    • Tom Morey
    • 6/7/12

    Although this movie, like it's title, is too long... too wide in its attempt to capture all that seemed to be going on in the author's time and way thick with far more characters than necessary, it was ENTERTAINING and educational. Covered the steel industry better than anything I've seen in 70 years of movie going. And includes spectacular footage of the building of WWII aircraft.Yes, you've already seen much of what the plot line explores. But keep in mind this 1940s film probably said it first.If a movie transports me back in time and fools me into thinking I'm actually there, and makes me regret awaken to my own cheap real life plot, then I say it's GOOD. This was a good movie... 7.7 on a scale of 10.

  • American Romance

    • William A. Ward III
    • 12/7/09

    The uncut version of this fine film shows how this country was so successfully built in part by its immigrant population. The abridged version shown on TCM is not what should be used to evaluate this worthy motion picture. The full two and a half hour film should be committed to DVD.

  • One of the Few Truly Patriotic American Films.

    • Alex Fraser
    • 6/25/08

    If we are talking about the original 151 minute, Technicolor version of AN AMERICAN ROMANCE, it is one of our great unsung, underrated, genuinely inspiring films. The story of peasant Steve Dangos' journey from Middle Europe to the great Mesabi Iron Range of Minnesota, and hence to Lake freighters, steel mills, car manufacturing and airplane building is the American success story. How Dangos marries, has a successful family, and comes to head his own corporation may seem dull, even unrealistic, evidently, to some on this board, but it is how America was built. Not everyone had the success of a Steve Dangos, but many an immigrant like an Andrew Carnagie or Walter Chrysler, had a winning shot at it. Vidor's labor of love, the cast, the story, the documentary footage of American work and production are unparalleled. America, just sixty to seventy years ago was a genuine model for the World. Alas, we let it mostly slip through our fingers, and now apparently we require the speed of a video game and the heart of a robot to stimulate us, in movies, in society. We have become a two-bit copy of the Roman Empire, throwing our atomic weight around. It will come to no good. Too bad.

  • An unknown movie

    • Adam Tawfik
    • 11/25/07

    TCM has users put their email in so their vote will only be counted once. So there are probably more people that like this film than you think. They're just not as vocal as the people who disliked the film. I think This system works because movies like Marie Antoinette were released after the thousands of votes on this fourm. If you really want a movie to be released, then you should publisize it.

  • Learn to spell.

    • Stevie Anne
    • 6/15/07

    Did not like the movie. Only one person really did, that's why he keeps on voting and voting and voting for it. Good thing we are keeping an eye on you in the forums.

  • America is a magic land

    • Anne
    • 6/15/07

    Great story line. AN Brain Donlevy is a under rated actor.

  • A tale of making it in America

    • Steven
    • 6/1/07

    A story of on immigant making it in America ,and it able to pay his new country back.

  • Boring, flat out waste of time.

    • Michael
    • 5/30/07

    The only purpose that this movie serves is to keep a guy in Canada happy. He is the only ONE that likes it.

  • This movie does not belong at the top.

    • Helen Petrone
    • 5/23/07

    I clicked on the movie to check out the top nine and can not for the life of me understand how this movie keeps jumping up in the ratings. Has anyone even heard of it? It is quite obvious that someone is doctoring the ratings.

  • What?!?!?

    • Confused
    • 5/21/07

    How the heck did this get such a high rating? Some ONE person must really like it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.