skip navigation
Abe Lincoln in Illinois

Abe Lincoln in Illinois(1940)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Abe Lincoln in Illinois An exploration into the... MORE > $11.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • And Ruth Gordon, too

    • Mike
    • 2/18/13

    A glimpse of Broadway at its best.

  • "We hold these truths to be self evident"

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/12/13

    I love this film. Raymond Massey is wonderful and as others have said, looks so much like the pictures we have of Lincoln. I wish all people could see this movie and know how dear we hold Democracy and the freedoms we still enjoy because of the sacrifices of many.

  • Pretty Able

    • ojc
    • 2/11/13

    Well start off with the positives. Raymond Massey does a wonderful job with the part, he ages convincingly, and while his manner of speaking may seem awkward to some, this midwest hawing was actually close to the way Lincoln was described as speaking. I also feel that the scenes between Massey and Ruth Gordon have a real energy. Abraham and Mary relationship was complex, loving, but complex. Excellent play. I think some of early days of his life seem a trifle slow and a bit too Hollywood style of folksy charm. I really like Gene Lockhart's Stephen Douglas, for once, Lincoln's rival, acquaintance and colleague is protrayed as the interesting politician that he was.Movie is a bit stogey by contemporary standards but well worth watching for history buffs, and Lincoln fans.

  • Abe Lincoln in Illinois

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ***1/2

  • ABELINCOLN MEETS PEGGY ANN GARNER!

    • ALPHONSE DATTOLO
    • 8/3/09

    I HAVE LOVED THE MOVIE ABE LINCOLN IN ILLINOIS SINCE I WAS A KID. I AM EXTREMELY HAPPY THAT THE GREATEST ACTRESS WHO EVER LIVED,MY ANGEL PEGGY ANN GARNER, WAS ONLY 8 YEARS OLD WHEN SHE APPEARED IN THIS MOVIE.SHE HAS NO SPEAKING PARTS BUT ANY MOVIE WITH PEGGY ANN GARNER IN IT IS #1 WITH ME!!!!!!!

  • Abe Lincoln in Illinois (1940)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/24/09

    Raymond Massey's likeness to Abraham Lincoln is truly amazing. It is the role of a lifetime, and Massey is superb. The screenplay is inspired, Ruth Gordon shines. Good supporting cast, beautifully done.

  • Abe Lincoln in Illinois

    • Debbie
    • 1/22/09

    Wonderful movie. It gave a personal side to Abe Lincoln I didn't know about. Would love to see it more often.

  • MY PEGGY ANN IS IN THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!

    • ALPHONSE DATTOLO
    • 10/5/08

    MY LITTLE ANGEL PEGGY ANN GARNER IS IN THIS MOVIE. EVEN THOUGH SHE DOES NOT SAY ONE WORD(HER SALARY WAS $25!!) SHE IS PRAYING FOR ANN RUTLEDGE TO RECOVER. SHE WAS A LITTLE ANGEL AT AGE 8 AND SHE WILL ALWAYS BE MY ANGEL. GOD BLESS YOU MY PEGGY ANN!!!!!!!

  • One of the Historical Movies

    • Douglas
    • 9/17/08

    I always look forward to seeing this movie. It provides such a view of a great leaders life in details not able to be seen from a just a book. Raymond Massey resembles Abe Lincoln like no one else. I like others wish this was available on DVD for viewing at any time. This movie is a great way to show the early life of one of this countries great leaders and his struggle within himself in becoming President. A must see for all to remember where our country has come from in history.

  • Fantastic Film!

    • Michelle
    • 9/17/08

    This is an fantastic film! Raymond Massey looks so much like Lincoln it is eerie. The clothing, sets and small details are wonderful. I think this is a fantastic film and I only wish that it was on DVD! What a treasure. The complexity of Abe and Mary is amazing and portrayed with tension and passion.

  • RAYMOND MASSEY

    • BOBBY HAHN
    • 9/17/08

    KNOW ONE PLAYS ABE LINCOLN BETTER THEN RAYMOND MASSEY.WHAT A GREAT FILM.GOT TO BE PUT OUT ON DVD!

  • title not aviable ?

    • ray
    • 1/8/08

    I am very sad to see that this piece of history is not available on VHS/DVD because I feel this could be used as both an educational and an enteraining film. I strongly encourage this to happen since the younger generation would have a great chance to learn about our 16th President in an educational but yet entertaining way. This movie was very well done and I would hope this could be shared with the audiance.Thank you very much!

  • First-rate!

    • Mark Butler
    • 11/25/07

    This film is the closest your going to Abe Lincoln in moving pictures.

  • Fantastic movie starring an outstanding actor!

    • Rochelle Maiman
    • 10/10/07

    I really felt that I was back in Lincoln's time when I was watching this movie. Massey's likeness to Lincoln was astounding, especially in the final scene of the movie. I didn't want the movie to end.

  • Not on DVD, what a crime!

    • Vesperiant
    • 8/11/07

    This is a truly great film with tremendous acting. Much better than most of the junk out there today! Let's get this classic on DVD.

  • Simply the Best

    • Fred
    • 2/4/07

    This gem of a movie takes you right into another time and place, a most wonderful journey into a time long gone. Everything about it is fabulous (acting, direction, sets, music, you name it), and like everyone else I would love to see a full-fledged DVD release with special features, etc. Why is it that any junk can be found on DVD, but not parts of our important film heritage such as this? Oh well, this is my message in a bottle to the powers that be.

  • knowledge

    • dmrigney
    • 1/16/07

    this is one of the best movies about abe lincon. Raymond massey is just great and does a great job of expressing himself as Abe Lincoln as no one could do. Henry Fonda also did a great job however Abe had a uique personality all his own and Raymond Massey hits it on the noise. I have enjoyed this movie for years I do hope it can be made into a dvd. It would be a great asset to teachers. Just to hear his ideas and his sense of humor is a great treat. I am sure children will love it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.