skip navigation
The Great Waltz

The Great Waltz(1972)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Truly awful

    • David Lucas
    • 4/16/18

    Glancing thru Leonard Maltin's volume of film ratings I saw this title rated BOMB, and watched it out of curiosity. How bad could it be? The answer is...very. Starting with sung narration (!) and incredibly cliched dialog, I slogged on and watched a film so schizophrenic it couldn't decide what it wanted to be--a musical, a comedy, a historical drama. No one in the story ages (though it covers 40 years) and climaxes with a matte painting of a concert in Boston. Horst Buckholtz' violin "playing" is totally unconvincing. The worst sequence is where "The Blue Danube" (described by Strauss as "that damned tune") becomes his most popular work, and is published to meet demand in speeded-up footage a la Keystone Kops. Musicians play flawlessly in a moving carriage, a dance number on a boat deck, Strauss and his wife reconcile while birds land on them in a railroad car...I could go on. The only thing this film has going for it is location photography in Vienna.

  • You Have to REALLY Love Strauss

    • DannyJane
    • 1/23/18

    You have to really enjoy the music of Strauss to make it through this snoozefest. Plumbing the depths of this film is like plumbing the depths of Saran Wrap. It is truly that shallow, slow paced, and hackneyed. Horst Bucholtz, whose youthful beauty was clearly fading, manfully soldiers through the trite dialogue mostly appearing to wish he was anywhere else. The rest of the cast's responses to his cliche'd dialogue indicates they wish he was too. If there is anything historically accurate about this film it's that it takes place in 19th century Vienna. It is remarkably dreary considering the lush sets and costumes. The only worthwhile moments come from the tidbits of Strauss (father and son) music, sandwiched as it is between some dreadfully bad songs sung by dreadfully bad sopranos that some Suit seemed to think would hide the fact that this whole move is one hot mess.If you love Strauss music ignore this sacrilege and go to Amazon. Into the search engine type The Strauss Family PBS. You will be rewarded by the Thames production miniseries that ran on PBS in the 1970s that told the story, presented the music, plumbed the lives and personalities of all the people involved, and made a delightful tour de force of it all.

  • Terrible

    • sandra
    • 1/23/18

    How could anyone say this is good. I think its the worst I have ever seen on this Network. The acting is the worst, the quality of filming terrible the singing the worst. So bad I cannot find the dang channel changer and its killing me. People get some quality in your watching.

  • the great waltz the great tonic

    • Edward Armstrong
    • 5/25/17

    Sarah you say it is now available for purchase,Where? i saw the 72 Great Waltz with my late dad and loved it.there was a tv series here in the uk titled the Strauss Family which was also marvellous starring Stuart Wilson and that led us to see the 1972 movie which suurpassed even that.ive had a massive stroke and to see the movie again wold be a better tonic than any medicines.sorry abot typing due to my stroke.Edward.

  • Loved it!

    • Maria
    • 2/19/17

    Also saw this movie years ago and would love to get it on DVD. Will it be available in the future?

  • Gorgeous But Shallow Bio Pic

    • Tristan Robin
    • 5/24/16

    I had heard about this difficult to find film for years - and finally got a chance to view it today.What a disappointment!First the good stuff: production values and art direction were excellent. Costumes and set design and decoration were exquisite - a lot of it must have been filmed on location in real palaces -absolutely gorgeous. And the clothes were beyond compare, some of the most beautiful ever filmed. The musical sequences sounded stunning and the choreography (Onna White) was crisp and lovely (if completely out of place).As far as the over all film, it could never make up its mind what it was. A serious biography, a musical, a slapstick comedy, a romantic epic. By trying to all things to all people it ends up being a visually arresting nothing for anybody.The best acting in the film is done by opera star Mary Costa - who also sings with grace and dignity through most of the film. Also, the great character actress, Yvonne Mitchell, is marvelous. Everybody does their best with what they're given to work with...which is not much. This is like a screenplay by Ed Wood given MGM royal treatment. It's bizarre and rather fascinating in a strange and unartistic way.I definitely put it on the highway accident can't look at it but can't look away list. It's silly and ridiculous - but so breathtakingly lovely - and so otherworldly weird - you just have to watch the whole thing.Once.

  • Oh how I wish!!!

    • Debra Forsyth
    • 9/11/14

    I saw this movie multiple times when it was in the theater. My sister & I took everyone we could to see it. I was thrilled with the music, the dancing, the costumes, the acting....basically everything!!! I have searched & searched to find this movie on VHS or DVD. I would be overjoyed to be able to watch it again!!! If anyone knows where to get it....or who to hound to get it....please let me know!!!

  • Great Waltz-'72

    • Rick
    • 7/4/14

    This is an outstanding movie. I saw it in the theatre when it was released, then recorded it off TCM when they showed it in the 80's. I have it on a VHS and would like to buy a remastered DVD. Mary Costa is enchanting, Bucholz is a rouge-ish Strauss, and the music is captivating.

  • The Great Waltz (1972)

    • philip sy
    • 3/27/14

    My mom is an avid fan of musical love stories especially the MGM movies in the good old days. I was also exposed to it when i was young. The Great Waltz the 1972 version is one of my favourite cuz of its story and music especially the beautiful voice of Mary Costa. Horst Bucholz also did a magnificent job in acting as the great Johann Strauss Jr. Five thumbs up for the movies. Don't know why it only got a rating of 5.5 from Rotten Tomatoes. Gonna download it and always never get tired movies of yesteryears like The Great Waltz, Casablanca, King and I,Doctor Zhivago, Sound of Music, Gone with the Wind, Samson and Delilah, Ben Hur, and much much more. Fiddler on the Roof, Show Boat, The Robe, ....West Side Story, Godfather I & 2, The Great Escape, Summer of 42, Romeo & Juliet, Love Story, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid,

  • Enchanting! (Revision)

    • Sarah
    • 2/16/13

    My review is based on The Great Waltz movie that came out in 1972. The picture shown here on the DVD offer appears to be from the earlier (1930's) version of the movie which I have never seen. Make sure this is the 1972 version before you order.

  • Enchanting!

    • Sarah
    • 2/16/13

    My husband took me to see this movie on our very first date 40 years ago. I am thrilled to see it is now available for purchase. I don't remember much about the acting, but the music and choreography you won't want to miss! I was literally swept off my feet.

  • The Great Waltz, 1972

    • Jimmyjj
    • 2/4/11

    This version is superior to the 1940s award winner, because of the music and orchestrations, the sets, and the talent of Mary Costa. Fortunately, I copied it to VHS when you showed this movie MANY years ago. I'd welcome any opportunity to get it on DVD.

  • Superior 70's Classic

    • Norman F. Bohrer
    • 10/8/06

    I last saw this movie on TV 15 to 20 years ago. The critics didn't treat it kindly but I consider it superior. There were some acting flaws but they were more than made up by the scenery, sets and music. What a grand look back at history and the creating mind of Johann Strauss. Several memorable scenes have lied with me for many years; lastly ironicaly was the funeral scenes. I don't recall the symphony orchestra's name but outstanding is just not a sufficient word for it. Unless there is a copyright conflict, this film should be restored and be sold as a DVD. Enough aid.

  • Please air it or release on DVD!

    • Val
    • 9/12/06

    I've never seen this but I'd really like to, since I love Strauss' music and also Mary Costa who was the voice of Sleeping Beauty in the Disney animated classic. What a thrill it would be to see/hear her in this movie!TCM has schedule the promotional short "On Location" The Great Waltz '72" to air on Sept. 18th... but they're not running the movie itself?! Why not?

  • When can I see it? Where can I buy it?

    • barbara bannon
    • 9/3/06

    I haveooking for the film The great waltz for 3 years. It is the biography of Johann Strauss . very well done and interesting...from 1972 in color. irected by Andrew Stone....Please help me ...would love to see it scheduled on TCM soon

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.