skip navigation
The Great Waltz

The Great Waltz(1972)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Great Waltz Musical biography of Johann... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Waltz-'72

    • Rick
    • 7/4/14

    This is an outstanding movie. I saw it in the theatre when it was released, then recorded it off TCM when they showed it in the 80's. I have it on a VHS and would like to buy a remastered DVD. Mary Costa is enchanting, Bucholz is a rouge-ish Strauss, and the music is captivating.

  • The Great Waltz (1972)

    • philip sy
    • 3/27/14

    My mom is an avid fan of musical love stories especially the MGM movies in the good old days. I was also exposed to it when i was young. The Great Waltz the 1972 version is one of my favourite cuz of its story and music especially the beautiful voice of Mary Costa. Horst Bucholz also did a magnificent job in acting as the great Johann Strauss Jr. Five thumbs up for the movies. Don't know why it only got a rating of 5.5 from Rotten Tomatoes. Gonna download it and always never get tired movies of yesteryears like The Great Waltz, Casablanca, King and I,Doctor Zhivago, Sound of Music, Gone with the Wind, Samson and Delilah, Ben Hur, and much much more. Fiddler on the Roof, Show Boat, The Robe, ....West Side Story, Godfather I & 2, The Great Escape, Summer of 42, Romeo & Juliet, Love Story, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid,

  • Enchanting! (Revision)

    • Sarah
    • 2/16/13

    My review is based on The Great Waltz movie that came out in 1972. The picture shown here on the DVD offer appears to be from the earlier (1930's) version of the movie which I have never seen. Make sure this is the 1972 version before you order.

  • Enchanting!

    • Sarah
    • 2/16/13

    My husband took me to see this movie on our very first date 40 years ago. I am thrilled to see it is now available for purchase. I don't remember much about the acting, but the music and choreography you won't want to miss! I was literally swept off my feet.

  • The Great Waltz, 1972

    • Jimmyjj
    • 2/4/11

    This version is superior to the 1940s award winner, because of the music and orchestrations, the sets, and the talent of Mary Costa. Fortunately, I copied it to VHS when you showed this movie MANY years ago. I'd welcome any opportunity to get it on DVD.

  • Superior 70's Classic

    • Norman F. Bohrer
    • 10/8/06

    I last saw this movie on TV 15 to 20 years ago. The critics didn't treat it kindly but I consider it superior. There were some acting flaws but they were more than made up by the scenery, sets and music. What a grand look back at history and the creating mind of Johann Strauss. Several memorable scenes have lied with me for many years; lastly ironicaly was the funeral scenes. I don't recall the symphony orchestra's name but outstanding is just not a sufficient word for it. Unless there is a copyright conflict, this film should be restored and be sold as a DVD. Enough aid.

  • Please air it or release on DVD!

    • Val
    • 9/12/06

    I've never seen this but I'd really like to, since I love Strauss' music and also Mary Costa who was the voice of Sleeping Beauty in the Disney animated classic. What a thrill it would be to see/hear her in this movie!TCM has schedule the promotional short "On Location" The Great Waltz '72" to air on Sept. 18th... but they're not running the movie itself?! Why not?

  • When can I see it? Where can I buy it?

    • barbara bannon
    • 9/3/06

    I haveooking for the film The great waltz for 3 years. It is the biography of Johann Strauss . very well done and interesting...from 1972 in color. irected by Andrew Stone....Please help me ...would love to see it scheduled on TCM soon

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.