skip navigation
The Unfinished Dance

The Unfinished Dance(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Unfinished Dance A young dance student... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Best!

    • Lisa Turner
    • 1/15/14

    I watched this movie once as a child and never forgot it.. I never saw it on TV again.. I thought that it just wasn't being shown.. I was shocked to learn by comments that I read that it has been on recently.... I never forgot Danny Thomas and his little girl.. I'm watching a movie now with M. O'Brian and Edward G. Robinson, it made me think of the Unfinished Dance, I guess I will just have to order the movie, I watched for the first time over forty years ago. Superb!Another fine movie that I never forgot and watched as a child, was Curly the Dancing Caterpillar, like the unfinished dance, a real tear jerker.. you will need plenty of tissue for this one.. They just don't make movies like this anymore.. love my old black and whites.

  • Margaret O'Brien

    • bella
    • 10/8/13

    The movie is exceptional, in great part by a cast who surrounds 'Meg'. Yes I do believe the young actress was overrated. It seems to stem from the fact she could cry on demand and then push it by asking the directer where 'the tears should land on her face'. I base this on her part in the movie but also from my own observations and her interviews as well as those who worked with her.Judy Garland afraid to work with her in Meet me in St.Louis ? that she would claim the limelight, this can only be done if the directer lets it happen (in a ensemble piece with such actors as that film had?) In an interview O'Brien gave, she spoke of Ms Garland giving her advice while on the movie; it was to be careful of the dangers of acting at a young age, but she brushed it aside saying maybe that happened in the time of Judy Garland, but was a silly notion now? during filming of Meet me In St.Louis , how silly I thought and then another thought came to mind; she was treated in or handled in a much different way than most, as many know now how rough it was on child actors upon its inception. I do believe she was an overrated actress, which is proved by her career as she grew older. If it seems I am being hard on the young actress I do believe it is to achieve some kind of balance; being able to cry on cue does not an actress make and the people who handled her made her life on set a good one; one all child actors should of had or have .Read what the other young actress on Meet me has to say, they were treated much different. To bring my thoughts to an end I must say this, for a child do compare her acting to the children of today and what is expected of them, and I really do believe she overacted , I say this as a fact I believe and in no way mean. I could go on but you either see it or you do not. It is sad that other children were not treated as well! and a few other things.The reason I give the movie a 3, overacting , it hardly steals scenes;it is distracting.

  • the unfinished dance

    • carol santoyo
    • 11/15/11

    This 1947 film the unfinished dance has haunted me all my life. I saw it as a very young child and it had a lasting impression on me. I never forgot the performance of young margaret o'brien and how it touched me so deeply. I hope it is brought back. It is a wonderful film that should be seen by all. As a child margaret was my favorite actress, and I would'nt miss her films. Remember the secret garden, she was wonderful and enchanting. sincerelyl Carol S.

  • The Unfinished Dance (1947)

    • Arlene Chapa
    • 8/14/10

    It has been over 12 years since I have seen this movie!! I see that a Margaret O'Brien marathon is scheduled to start this Sunday, but I do not see that "The Unfinished Dance" is in the line-up. Please add this movie to the line-up quickly!!!! This is a classic that deserves to be watched more regularly! Thank you. Best regards.

  • What is the song played by the pocket watch?

    • Janeen
    • 1/15/10

    I am haunted by the melody and lyric that played from Danny Thomas's pocket watch. I want to know if it is a real composition or was the short segment used in the film writen just for this movie? I had never seen this movie before, and I thought I had seen all of Margaret O'Brian's films. I fell in love with the little dancers and the moral battle of little Meg.

  • Play it again, TCM!

    • Leslie
    • 12/5/09

    I haven't seen this movie in over 12 years, but it left an impression, as I first fell in love with Cyd Charisse and Margaret O'Brien.

  • Name of Hat Saleslady

    • Becky Molina
    • 1/28/08

    This movie is definitely a Classic. I saw it for the first time while waiting with dad at the Dialysis Center. I did not get to see the ending, though, Am curious to find the name of the Hat Saleslady, as she looks a lot like a now actress whose name escapes me. She usually plays the part of the other woman..Sorry, but can anyone help with this information?

  • Great companion to The Red Shoes...

    • Penny
    • 1/18/08

    I happened to turn this on and was immediately inthralled. You just can't beat 1940's technicolor. I dared to hope it would be on video; of course not, but I voted!

  • Greatful movie!

    • Alexandria
    • 1/17/08

    I have seen this movie twies; I saw it this year, and the year a couple years ago; and the actors did so well on it; and I'm looking foward of seeing it again! It is probaly the best movie I ever seen! It could be rated G to.

  • Powerful & Beautiful Movie

    • P. Yeung
    • 1/15/08

    It depicts the nature of children, both good and bad. There are many messasges relating to human relationships. It is good to be honest. Do your best in whatever situation. And think of others that your words and actions will affect. The love in the characters is overflowing.

  • Please run this and Jean Eagles on TCM!!!

    • Val S
    • 12/25/07

    I saw both of these as a child and would really like to see them again. Please run them. The Unfinished Dance is a gre4at family movie, especially for little girls. Thanks.

  • Beauty and Intrigue!

    • M. Hicks
    • 7/9/07

    Please run this movie again and soon! My daughters need to see this while they are young. The acting is powerful -- the kind you don't see in many movies anymore. Bravo!

  • The most beautiful costumes and sets!

    • Laury Windsor
    • 4/4/07

    I have been trying to find the name of this movie for years. I don't think I've seen it in over 15 years, and now that I see it is an MGM film, wonder why it isn't shown more often! I always remembered the story, but have always been more impressed with the costumes and sets... and not for the ballets, but especially the scene where the injured ballerina greets Meg in a full-length velvet robe... and the draperies in the living room... the color and detail in this movie was magnificent and it's a shame it's not shown more often. This is one of my top 10 of all time.

  • Life Altering Movie

    • Kathleen Lansing
    • 2/18/07

    This movie changed my life. I saw it when I was five years old and was so impressed I became a devotee of classical ballet. I'm now 65 and still love and support the ballet, particularly the Amercial Ballet Theatre in NY. Please release the movie so I can purchase it. Thanks!

  • Movie for all ages!

    • Dorothy
    • 11/25/06

    My 9 year old granddaughter loves this movie and wants it out on video so she can use it as a help with her dancing. Her ballet teachers said she would like to have it also, as there are so few movies available today with such moral and ethical teaching value.

  • I love this movie

    • Grace
    • 10/22/06

    Please get it on DVD and let us know when you will play it. I give this a 10.

  • PLEASE RUN THIS FILM

    • Dave
    • 10/19/06

    I rememeber this from my childhood and would like to see it again. Let me know when.

  • Unfinished Dance Cyd Charise, Margaret O'Brien

    • Betty Lang
    • 8/9/06

    Outstanding. When will AMC show this again? Thank you! Where can I buy a copy?

  • An Astonishing Sleeper

    • cb
    • 7/20/06

    What a wonderful surprise to accidentally tune in this marvelous film on TCM. I have never heard of it before, and can't imagine why. It is filled with wonderful music, dance, and a suspenseful story about a ballet company . Cyd Charisse and Margaret O'Brien dance beautifully, as do the others in the company. Although not a children's movie, the important role of the children's class in the company makes it gripping for kids, and not just those who do ballet. How did such a fine film disappear???? Perhaps it is not in the league of The Red Shoes, but I would classify it not far below and especially specially appropriate for filmgoers of all ages and interets.Is it scheduled to appear on TCm again at any time?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.