skip navigation
Devotion

Devotion(1946)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Devotion The Bronte sisters and their... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Devotion

    • Hollyann
    • 3/24/12

    Wonderful !!!...

  • Devotion

    • kathy massey
    • 4/13/11

    Absolutely, wonderful movie. 5 stars

  • A Great Movie for English Literature fans.

    • Brooke
    • 7/1/10

    I majored in English Literature and rapturously love Wuthering Heights. I like Jane Eyre, but have always thought Wuthering Heights was "the greater book". I have never seen or heard of this movie before, but I watched it today and was deeply moved. I loved that it told a story of Emily and Charlotte that related to their inspirations for their respective novels. To have Emily's spirit wander out to the moors like Heathcliff and Catherines are seen to do at the end of Wuthering Heights was the perfect touch at the end. I came to your website to look up more about this movie and why I had never heard of it. I wanted to purchase it for my private collection and I'm very disappointed it is not available. I know that fans of the Bronte sisters' writings are still legion and having this on DVD would be a treasure for us.

  • Devotion (A Fitting Title)

    • mike foley
    • 7/1/10

    I have never seen this movie until today. My wife and I watched it because we first saw "miss Mellie", one of our favorite characters from Gone With The Wind. It took awhile for me to recognize the name Bronte and finally when I did it all made sense. Beyond that, superbly acted out by the best of the times, with many familiar faces from other movies I well know. We both enjoyed this movie very much and it reminded us of the Jane Austen books, made movies, which we love as well. We now plan to watch Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, when TCM shows them or we find them elsewhere. Bravo!

  • AN UNSUNG MASTERPIECE

    • Henando Desoto
    • 12/28/09

    This film, a favorite of mine, has never gotten the attention it deserves. One of the reasons, explained by Robert Osborne during a recent TCM showing, is that the studio was then at war with Olivia DeHavilland and the film was held from release for several years. Another, that this account of the Bronte Sisters is largely fictional as are many Hollywood Biopics and so the critics dismissed it. But talk about Mood! This is as romantic as WUTHERING HEIGHTS itself. Production values are first rate and Ida Lupino gives the performance of her life in the part of Emily Bronte which seems to have been written for Bette Davis but fits Ida like a body stocking. Olivia DeHavilland is great as Emily's sister Charlotte, author of JANE EYRE but it's Ida's movie, all the way. The supporting cast are all at the top of their games, especially Arthur Kennedy as ne'er do well brother Bramwell. Look for Ethel Griffies (The Birds) in a small part as their Aunt. This is a tru WB classic and deserves to be on DVD.

  • Great Movie

    • Clarence Colvin
    • 9/28/09

    My wife & I think this is one of the best movies we have seen. Superb acting and story. Would purchse it on DVD if available for Christmas gifts.

  • A real find and treat!

    • Carol
    • 9/20/09

    I watched this last nite, AFTER, Wuthering Heights and it was so much fun to see them back to back, like that! I'm not sure how many movies of this type are around but you should try to do this more often, because while I understand this wasn't an accurate bio of the sisters it followed their lives closely enough for me and I really enjoyed it! If you do this with movies already, sorry, I'll have to be more observant! Only thing that would have been the topper, would have been Jane Eyre, after!

  • I Love this movie

    • Andrea
    • 9/19/09

    This movie has everything i love in moves.The time preoid.The actresses,and actors.

  • Enjoyable on its own terms...

    • Neil
    • 5/12/08

    Although not an accurate bio, DEVOTION benefits from the strong performances of an excellent cast. It can be enjoyed on its own terms as a Victorian romantic drama with Ida Lupino (as Emily Bronte) and Olivia (as Charlotte) doing wonderful work, as do Paul Henried, Sydney Greenstreet and Arthur Kennedy. Well worth watching, literate and absorbing, with a rich score by Erich Wolfgang Korngold.

  • Very well done film. Lupino is superb.

    • refrain
    • 1/4/08

    Definitely worth the watch. Dialogue is exceptional-perhaps best aspect of film.

  • devotion

    • paul
    • 6/19/07

    please play the 1946 movie devotion.thank you.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.