skip navigation
Doctor Zhivago

Doctor Zhivago(1965)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Doctor Zhivago Illicit lovers fight to stay... MORE > $7.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • My Favorite Movie of All Time

    • Melanie
    • 3/29/14

    I was in High School when I first saw this movie. I fell in love with everything about it. I have seen it more times than I can count--on TV whenever it's on, rented the movie countless times, finally bought the DVD a couple of months ago through TCM and have watched it three times since. I even ordered the book for my Kindle and I'm almost through reading it (even though it's not much like the movie at all). I especially like to watch it in the summer when it's about 110 outside because it seems to cool things off considerably! This is my most favorite movie of all!

  • DR. ZHIVAGO

    • will
    • 3/25/14

    COLDEST Winter in twenty years and WHAT do I find on TCM, DR.ZHIVAGO. True one of the greatest films of the twentieth century, but guys, how about Lawrence OF Arabia, or The Lost Patrol, or Beach Blanket Bingo even, or Elvis in Blue Hawaii. Something. Any Thing with Sun and Sand. IM FREEEEEEEEEZING.

    • 3/25/14

  • Reply to Randy...

    • RedRain
    • 3/13/14

    Sir, the song is entitled "Lara's Theme" and it is known as such around the world. It was written by Maurice Jarre. Nobody who has seen this film can ever forget that music! Words were put to it later on and it was recorded by Connie Francis under the title "Somewhere My Love;" however, without the balalaika, it isn't the same.

  • Dr. Zhivago

    • Randy HLL
    • 2/9/14

    This movie was an all time favorite for my wife,( God rest her soul), we never bought the movie, but when ever it was shown on our favorite station we would watch it. We enjoyed the theme music but never knew the title to the tune. If anyone can help with it please let me know. GREAT MOVIE!. Randy.

  • Outstanding!

    • RedRain
    • 8/3/13

    When I first read Pasternak's Nobel Prize winning masterpiece, I dismissed it ever being made into a film, as it was so wide-reaching in depth and scope. Leave it to the incomparable David Lean to prove me wrong! This is the grand epic type of film they cannot make anymore, as it is simply too expensive and laborious. A few years later, after viewing the film, I found myself playing bridge in London w/Mr. Sharif. He said he was shocked when he was offered the role of Dr. Zhivago, as so many stars wanted it. Of course, he WAS Zhivago - complicated, gorgeous, a poet. For my money, the real "star" of this film is David Lean. You must have a vision before you begin shooting a film and Lean has always had the clearest conception of the stories he has brought to the big screen. If nothing else, view this film for the spot on historical value it brings. It is simply one of the best films ever made.

  • THE TINY INDIVIDUAL

    • Lee Dorbad
    • 3/21/13

    Is it mere chance, mere coincidence that our hero here is a poet as well as a physician--a man who simply wants to live his life as an experience in itself? In its weaving together of institutions and individuals, slogans and felt experience, fearand spontaneous passions, mechanical activity and mere human stillness, this film becomes the great big book of life like no other on such a grand scale. And above all it's the best possible film for our time because it reminds us that the moments that count are those that simply refuse to fit into the frenzied chaos of everday life with all of those practicalities and sayings and obligations and mandates and demands that are imposed on us from without. Instead, this gem is all about what's within--the beauty and celebration of things that refuse to kneel down before the purely objective mandates. Here we see a man gazing up at a beautiful tree bending its branches in the freezing Russian air while all around him countless individuals force themeselves into herds in order to implement the latest slogan of political salvation which had its first origins on paper but now finds true objectifiction in the blood-stained snowy streets of downtown Moscow.

  • David Lean Perfectionist

    • Adventure
    • 2/9/13

    After 2 trimuphs with legendary Producter Sam Spiegel at Columbia, The Bridge On The River Kwai and Lawrence of Arabia both winning Best Picture Oscars, David Lean went to MGM under the auspices of Carlo Ponti to make one of MGM's greatest hits Dr. Zhivago. Starring Omar Sharif, Alec Guinness and the magical Julie Christie this is one of the best remembered movies of my youth. The scene where Christie looks up and sees Zhivago after years of separation is to me one of the great scenes of all time in movies. Christie is magnficent as Lara. I will always remember Rita Tushingam in this film.Lean and Ponti pulled out all the stops and the superb production values are noteworthy. This was the 2nd biggest hit in MGM's history after Gone With The Wind

  • Doctor Zhivago

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/20/12

    Director Lean's lavish adaptation of Pasternak's novel that won the Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture-Drama. A married poet-doctor falls for a WWI nurse during Russia's turbulent years. Sharif, in a Golden Globe-winning performance, is magnificent as the title character, as are Chaplin & Christie as the two important women in his life, Courteney was nominated for an Oscar for his supporting performance. In total the film won Academy Awards for Bolt's adaptation, art direction, cinematography, costume design & score; literally recreating Russian history authentically. A visually-stunning, engaging & epic story. I give it a 5/5.

  • "Ah, then, it's a gift"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 11/20/12

    That last utterance in this epic speaks volumes. Yevgraf's line pays tribute to Yuri, a man who continuously lived in the light when surrounded by darkness. It also shows that a once cutthroat collectivist like Yevgraf had come to regret the devastating decision in his ignorant youth to forsake God for the (always) broken promises of man. This fine film with scintillating cinematography captures the evil inherent in a putrid philospophy and should serve as a cautionary tale for all time. Rod Steiger is especially good as a bad man who does some good things and Omar Sharif is good as a good man who does a bad thing, but this movie (as with countless others) portrays it as good.

  • A motion picture for the ages

    • Brian
    • 11/19/12

    If Omar Shariff and Julie Christy had each only made one movie in their entire acting careers then this was the one. He IS Zhivago. She IS Lara. A masterpiece. I was 15 when this came out and I am still stunned by this extraordinary motion picture. Stunningly photographed!! I am still after all these years in love with Laura. Every role in this film for the ages is brilliantly acted.

  • One of the Great Love Stories of the 20th Century.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 7/28/10

    Oscar-winning director, Sir David Lean goes on location in Spain, Finland and (the former) Yugoslavia to film one of his greatest achievements since "The Bridge on the River Kwai", as he brings Boris Pasternak's world-renowned novel to life on the silver screen. Omar Sharif leads an international cast, as he stars in the title role of Yuri Andreyevich Zhivago, the Russian doctor/poet, and Julie Christie and Geraldine Chaplin are the two women, he falls in love with during World War I and the outbreak of the Bolshevik Revolution. Winner of five Academy Awards including Best Cinematography (Color), Maurice Jarre won for Best Original Score, Best Art Direction-Set Decoration (Color), Best Screenplay Adaptation and Best Costume Design (Color). Listen for the hauntingly beautiful "Lara's Theme" and "Somewhere, My Love". Also starring Sir Alec Guinness, Rod Steiger, Siobhan McKenna, Sir Ralph Richardson, Tom Courtenay, Geoffrey Keen, Lucy Westmore, Klaus Kinski, Rita Tushingham, Jeffrey Rockland, Bernard Kay, Adrienne Corri, Tarek Sharif, JAck MacGowran, Gerard Tichy & Noel Willman.

  • AN OUTSTANDING FILM

    • Suzanne
    • 5/28/10

    This movie remains as one of the best I have ever seen -- even 50 years later. With outstanding direction, cinematography, acting performances, settings, costumes and of course the score with Lara's Theme makes for a truly outstanding film. Julie Christie and Omar Shariff are stunning in their performance. The give magnetic performances which captures the viewer through the entire movie. I had no problem sitting through this rather long movie, due to such beautiful settings and dramatic performances. I believe the time frame also enhances this, as it is set in Russia during the Russian Revolution -- an exotic country going through dynamic changes which would change all of history. Rarely do you come across such a magnificent film.

  • May be Lean's technically best movie

    • xploring
    • 10/4/09

    I believe Lean is one of the best directors ever. And there are techniques used in this production that are as good, or better, than any of his movies. The editing in this picture is spectacular. Although I will probably always love watching Lawrence of Arabia more than any other film, from a technical point of view this maybe Lean at his best.

  • Doctor Zhivago

    • Gladys
    • 8/8/09

    This is a wonderful story but have never seen it on your program. I have seen it several times on Channel 13. Would enjoy seeing it on the TCM station.

  • A Great Favorite

    • Felton
    • 3/26/09

    Lean's films are dependably interesting and well-made, though this is my sentimental favorite. All the elements seem to combine beautifully--music, exotic and stunning locales, performers, sweeping and romantic story. A gorgeous treat!

  • Play it again and again.

    • Mary Lou Miller
    • 2/27/09

    This is one of the best movies ever made. You must show it again really soon.

  • What a movie

    • catwoman915
    • 2/27/09

    Although this movie is quite long it keeps moving and keeps your interest. Omar Sharif gives such a good performance, one of his better ones in my opinion. This is definitely a must see movie.

  • Blink or Go Blissfully Snowblind

    • JW
    • 2/13/09

    Rate the title sequence? Really? It's been such a coon's age since TCM showed Dr Zhivago (unless I've missed the ever-looked-for opportunity), I have no recollection of the title sequence off the top of my head.Of the musical score, I have childhood sense memories that will last my lifetime. As will the poignancy of ever so many scenes--sufficient to make the film almost too painful to watch during certain periods when I've found myself particularly vulnerable.Yes, it's longer than an episode of Family Guy, but so gripping I have to purposefully remember to blink my eyelids before my corneas dessicate. So, if you haven't seen Dr Zhivago, you gotta. And personally, I'd love to have it shown as many bazillion times a year as Gigi and Topkapi and a few others that, for the life of me, I don't see the need to run more often than once or twice a year, max.Looking forward to Feb 27, 2009. Thanks, TCM--couldn't live without you.

  • lean Lean

    • tony baksa
    • 11/26/08

    It may be over 3 hours , but David Lean doesn't endulge like most epics. His vision and point of view are always clean and clear and never sappy - which this story could easily have been handled by a lesser director. Mr. Lean was a true artist. I so enjoyed this movie - great story, beautiful visually and great acting by a stellar cast. My favorites were Tom Courney, Rod Steiger, Ralph Richardson and Cheraldine Chaplin. Let me say something about Omar Shariff. He rarely if ever gets credit as an actor probably due to his astounding good looks. I found his performance quite moving - sweet and simple. This flick is worth its length. Put a Sunday afternoon aside - skip football and watch David Lean's absolutely beautiful DR. ZHIVAGO.

  • HAS TCM seen the synopsis for this film?

    • Cshropsh
    • 10/29/07

    It makes no sense. Run on sentences and confusion. Please redo.

  • Movie Masterpiece

    • Dan
    • 6/4/07

    A simply mezmerizing cinematic achievement by David Lean. This spine-tingling, eye-moistening experience has memorable scenes that is very effective right to this day-- The cinematography is some of the best ever. I'm still touched and moved by this movie masterpiece... . I shed a tear whenever I see this film or even think about it. Even now--

  • David Lean's Stunning Epic

    • Michael O'Farrell
    • 5/20/07

    It seems as though film critics have always been divided over David Lean's film of "Doctor Zhivago". Although most have been unanimous in their praise of the film's production values, the Oscar winning screen adaptation of Pasternak's novel by Robert Bolt has received the most brickbats. True, Bolt reduced the story to a series of main plot points, eliminating many characters and subplots that filled the Nobel Prize winning author's hefty novel. So if the screenplay was a mere sketch of the book, director Lean, production designer John Box and cinematographer Freddie Young filled in the gaps with some of the most stunning set pieces ever committed to film. The casting of the main protagonists helped immensely: has there ever been a more beautiful pairing of lovers as Omar Sharif and Julie Christie? With a strong supporting cast (dominated by a brilliant Rod Steiger and Tom Courtney) and a memorable music score, "Doctor Zhivago" lives on as both monumental spectacle and affecting love story.

  • Excellent Drama

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/16/06

    What a fine David Lean epic, not always appreciated by critics. Julie Christie, Omar Sharif and Rod Steiger are all excellent, giving powerful, emotional performances. Strong visuals add to the magic of this masterpiece.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.