skip navigation
The Swimmer

The Swimmer(1968)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Swimmer - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • "When I was a kid, I used to believe in things"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 11/27/13

    Lancaster's character goes on a personal journey to cleanse his soul via a long stretch of swimming pools in a mostly well-to-do WASP area of Connecticut. He finds that he cannot be reborn, but must suffer for the sins he sowed. Although sixties chic in its look and sound, this movie is a timeless message movie for men (and women) who find themselves falling away from the important things in life. Several good scenes, and the one at the community pool is searing. A must-see movie for all middle-aged, married men with children.

  • WHATT THE HAY????

    • pollyann toll
    • 11/9/13

    I too am amazed at any rave reviews in the case of this film. It is now seems soooo dated, stiff, and overly pretentious. Kinda fun to see some of the actors from the past tho - and being able to identify them. (Joan Rivers? - puhleeze!!!I suggest that the pseudo-intellectuals out there fffget real and stop kidding themselves and trying to kid others. Face it - the film is a bomb!!!!

  • The Swimmer

    • anthony
    • 10/31/13

    Another stunning on screen performance from Burt Lancaster. It ranks with "The Train" Bird Man" "Elmer Gantry" and "Sweet Smell of Success. Like no other Hollywood actor he is able to personally affect the viewer in such a emotional and disturbing way. He is heroic yet tragic in his portrayal of characters that leaves the viewer riveted with sorrow and self assessment. The Swimmer reflects on how each personal journey contains some regretful deeds and painful self awareness. The film epitomizes the art movies of the sixties and I only hope that these cinematic expressions return to Hollywood since today's films are impossible to sit through for a past generation of movie goers. I sincerely hope that this film is released on dvd. Marvin Hamlish's score is wonderful and truly captures the emotion of the films story and the turbulent and emotional times of the late 60s

  • the best of the "art movies" of the 60s/70s

    • ted eller jr
    • 10/31/12

    Absolutely haunting performance by Burt Lancaster.Most people don't realize this was adapted from a 3 page John Cheever short story.The ending is devastating.Cheever wrote about the upper middle class New York suburban "cocktail" class of the post-war period.Side note: good performance by a young Joan Rivers.TEJR

  • Overlooked Burt Lancaster gem

    • Mr Wham
    • 2/14/12

    The mid-to-late 1960's were fertile ground in all the arts for satirizing American suburbia, with it's ethos of materialism, social-climbing and superficiality. Hollywood was no exception, from "The Graduate" to "Bob and Ted and Carol and Alice," and many others, including this 1968 film, "The Swimmer," in which Burt Lancaster attempts to return to his suburban home by swimming from pool to pool in his wealthy neighborhood, only to find that you really can't go home again. Based on a John Cheever story, "The Swimmer" could easily have descended into a maudlin soap opera. But thanks in large part to Lancaster's riveting performance, this odd, pointed, slightly-surreal film ultimately packs quite an emotional wallop. The film works as allegory, though perhaps it's a bit obvious on that level; as satire, where it's wicked take on the American bourgoise may be lost on some but will be quite thought-provoking to many others; as a sort of 60's cultural icon, a good example of one of the more reflective and innovative periods in all areas of American art; and perhaps best, as a character study, relating one man's idealized vision of his (rapidly-fading) youth and his unwillingness to face up to himself or the facade all around him. Another ambitious, adventurous role for the always-daring Lancaster, who made a career out of taking chances on films of substance. Not for those who require a "satisfying," feel-good Hollywood ending.

  • What?!?

    • Lindsay
    • 6/1/10

    Frankly, I am in awe of the reviews of this film. I saw the movie when it aired on May 15th. I could not stop watching the film only because it was the weirdest thing I had ever seen. I looked it up online to find the title after explaining to a co-worker how bizarre it was. The film still leaves a giant question mark in my mind. I understand the message- just a very, very strange way to convey it. To sum up, they must have been on a lot of drugs in the 60's.

  • Risky & great

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 5/16/10

    I'd rank this one with BIRDMAN OF ALCATRAZ in terms of Lancaster's best. He excels at stories where the lead character is a lone anti-hero on a personal journey. The level of intensity and the depth of emotion that he summons is fantastic. And the truly extraordinary care he puts into his roles is unlike anyone else. There are a lot of memorable sequences in this film. I particularly liked the part where he thinks the boy is going to dive off the board...and the stuff at the water park was very good. Much has been written about the scene that Sidney Pollack directed in this film. It's a rather long scene, but one of the more powerful ones. And then there's final shots of Lancaster arriving at his home in the rain...dynamic.

  • The Swimmer

    • Nanlisa
    • 5/15/10

    I saw this movie this afternoon (Saturday, May 15), and I've caught parts of it on Youtube. The ending was sad. When Ned (Burt Lancaster) arrived at his house, it was raining, the door was locked, the house was empty, and he was crying. What happened to his wife and kids? Did she take the kids and leave him? Did she sell the house? Did they get divorced? The ending left us with some unanswered questions about his wife and kids.But otherwise, it was a good movie.

  • The Swimmer

    • Mary Davis
    • 5/15/10

    I saw this movie in San Francisco the summer of 1968. I was working there for 2 weeks to cover for an employee on vacation.I was from NYI went to the matinee just to kill some time and really enjoyed it.I remembered this movie after all these years. The only difference is I thought it took place in Calif not Conn. I remember Burt Lancaster. I was never a fan of this but did enjoy the movie.

  • Burt Lancaster Magnificient

    • Maria Ramos
    • 5/15/10

    Loved the movie. Followed every step or swim of the way. I wondered why the character wasn't invited to any of the parties when he was known so well especially by the women characters. The year this movie takes place is very important 1968. It was a turbulent time. It was the time of the haves and the have nots. It was interesting to see what the haves had and how they lived. Burt Lancaster looked so beautiful in this film, so pleasing to the eye. A cult classic!

  • the swimmer

    • virginia hogan
    • 5/15/10

    this movie captivated me i was moved from beginning to end and i so wish it could be released on dvd you can feel how each individual interaction between burt lancaster and the woman or man or child he encounters is awesome you can actually envision the depth of his pain and how tortured he is you are compelled to want to help him and at the same time distance yourself from him you can feel how beautifully he embraced the lonely child and in a matter of minutes made him feel cared for and more confident and you can see his strength ebb and flow though each adventure he is gorgeous to behold how strikingly and deeply and beautifully is the a cting he makes you feel what he is feeling and the intenese mind blowing eternal effect he has on all he personally physically and mentally touched i think everyone should see this film at least once

  • The Swimmer (1968)

    • James Higgins
    • 12/30/09

    I am a bit surprised at the extremely high ratings for this film, it is a good film, but it is so obvious in it's symbolism. Good performances, fine score. It's an odd film, it held my interest but don't see it as any better than above average.

  • A MUST SEE MOVIE

    • PHILIP J. VERZAL
    • 8/25/07

    A MOST EXCEPTIONAL MOVIE. IF HOWEVER YOU HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY, WATCH IT IN BLACK AND WHITE INSTEAD OF COLOR. THE MOVIE IS SHOT IN SUCH A WAY THAT IT ALLOWS YOU TO ACTUALLY FEEL THE EMOTIONS THAT NED IS FEELING AT THE SAME TIME. IT IS TRULY A MASTERPIECE IN MY ESTIMATION.

  • The Swimmer -- An important film.

    • Gordon
    • 8/23/07

    One of my favorite films, this takes one to the world of Cheever stories effectively. It was probably Burt Lancaster's most courageous personal performance and provides wisdom. Perhaps, it's sixties stylistics may keep it from being perceived as an important classic. I, however, call it an important film because of how it captures thanks to the Cheever story, the performances, the filming and score a key aspect of NY and life in mid century suburban America.

  • John Cheever Fully Realized.

    • charles pope
    • 7/8/07

    Columbia/Horizon put this film on the scrap heap of late night television(ABC)Thr film was shot in Connecticut in 1966 with a few of my frineds in it for extras. I think Columbia re shot some scenes in 1968 with Janice Rule and dir by Sidney Pollack.I first caught the film in 1971 on late night tv. I was swept off my feet. " Why would anyone want to swim home" ? I would find out later in the film and reading John Cheever stories.I dont think anyone other than Frank and Eleanor Perry could have made this film.The whole cast from Kim Hunter to House Jamison is just fine. Typical abstract dialogue between Ned Merril ( Lancaster) and Joan Rivers at a poolside party.Merril: "I,m swimming home"Rivers" I,ve never heard that before"Merril: ..." Come with me ..be my love"Rivers: That.....I,ve heard before"!The opening credits tell the viewer that this is not an ordinary film and Marvin Hamlisch, scoring his first film, bats 1000 especially when Merrill encounters Julie Hooper.( Langard) After seeing this film only once, I began my own journey through the works of John Cheever.this film used to be on VHS and DVD. A Must See /Multiple Viewings

  • GREAT!!

    • kitty
    • 2/10/06

    i love this film!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.