skip navigation
Mutiny on the Bounty

Mutiny on the Bounty(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Mutiny on the Bounty Lavish remake of the classic... MORE > $26.98 Regularly $26.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I Agree With Alec Baldwin

    • Bryan Thomas
    • 8/11/14

    I agree with Alec Baldwin on this one. It's a great film. However, the "essential" aspect is extremely subjective and compared to the widescreen epic masterpieces Ben-Hur and Lawrence of Arabia, it's an inferior picture. But it's not deserving of the harsh criticism it's received over the years. Shot in stunning Camera 65 the cinematography is superb. Even though composer Miklos Rozsa (Master of the Epic) turned down the job, Bronislau Kaper's score captures well the era and the ever-changing moods of the sea. The biggest area of contention about this movie is Brando's avant-garde treatment of the Fletcher Christian role which I particularly like. He's no Gable. But that's OK. His almost effeminate approach makes his Bohemian character even more annoying to Trevor Howard (Capt. Bligh) who's all navy. "I've been looking for an excuse to take the strut out of you, Mr. Christian!" And their frequent tit for tats are brilliant. And there are numerous memorable lines from these confrontational exchanges e.g. Christian: "Our little errand for groceries." Bligh: "Cruelty with purpose is not cruelty - it's efficiency." As an aside, I'm still trying to figure out why El Cid remains a programming enigma. It's only been shown on TV one time since it was released to television for a short run circa 1970. The only other time was an NBC special in 1994 (the remastered version). TCM needs to show El Cid!

  • C'om on Man!

    • Alvin Cotlar
    • 2/26/14

    The moviegoers in this country are predicable. They tend to be superficial in their response to a good movie with a bad ending. Those who saw the 1935 version of Mutiny loved it, and hated the 1962 version in which Fletcher Christian gets burned to death. They hated Marlon Brando's effeminate behavior and speech "impediment" not realizing that it was a difficult to accomplish and important aspect of the movie. They forget the effort that went into making this excellent movie and looked for a multi-million dollar version of the Clark Gable/Charles Laughton milk and honey version of the story. Someone needs to write a book on the critics/fans choices of American movies, using the two Mutiny movies as a prime example. I might just do that, although the last time I wrote a book on movie and television entertainment, it just didn't sell. Damn this country's movie and television viewers!

  • Mutiny

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/23/14

    There is so much more to this film than Brando. I think some people get to hung up on him. Really, I think some of these reviews are too harsh. Brando's character was a fop and he played a fop and man with a gentler dispostion than Bligh. This was a huge production for any time period especially the 60's. Visually this is a dynamic acheivement and so few movies are made without a computer anymore. The supporting cast was great and it was especially good to see Richard Harris. I think some people do a disservice to Trevor Howard in being critical of his perfomance because of Brando. Trevor Howard was fine actor capable of holding his own in any film and tougher than to be disheartened by someone else's performance. Too much credit is given to Brando's affect on the other actors. Let's not project our own insecurities and biases onto Mr. Howard or anyone else. Brando was difficult, so what is new? We should not care about a budget from 1962 or if Brando's behavior does not fit our expectations. It is ridiculous. To blame Brando for this high budget of 22 mil is also very unfair. They wanted him and they knew what they were getting. Many period films do not do well at the box office, it doesn't mean they should not be made. I enjoyed this film.

  • Boring in the extreme!

    • RedRain
    • 2/23/14

    From 1962, when Brando starred in this atrocity, and 1972, when he made "The Godfather," Brando didn't make one decent film! Brando mumbled his way through all ten years on film and this one is no exception. How anyone could even compare this film to the Gable/Laughton pairing is simply unfathomable. I gave this film one star and that one was only because of the lush cinematography.

  • Not Essential, Mostly Listless

    • aleks
    • 2/18/13

    The 1935 film is much better in almost every way, including and especially the performances. Trevor Howard is good but lacks movie star charisma. Brando is a captivating presence but so brooding and mysterious and strange that he seems to be acting in a separate meeting. His voice and accent are both hard to listen to. Overall an odd, slow, unpleasant movie with overblown music, pretty images and stultifying dialogue.

  • Mutiny on the Bounty

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/16/12

    An overblown, epic remake of the 1935 Best Picture winner. Of all the things Brando could do, ace an English accent wasn't one of them, however his character's changes makes this film interesting. Magnificent cinematography is the visual highlight of the film, a film with story that has some present flaws. Entertaining at times, but slow for the most part. I give it a 3/5.

  • Mutiny on the Bounty

    • Natacha
    • 11/8/10

    I have to agree with Robert Osborne on his assessment. This version of the story isn't an essential and is nowhere near as good as the Clark Gable-Charles Laughton version, which IS an essential. I agree that the cinematography is beautiful. I like Trevor Howard's understated performance as Capt. Bligh. I understand Alec Baldwin's appreciation of Brando as an actor, in other roles, especially in "Streetcar"--he would know more than I about the talent it took to turn out the fine performances in other films like "Streetcar" and "On the Waterfront", but Brando was foppish and uninspiring in this role. I also think it's nice that Alec was allowed to choose a film he liked as an essential even though Robert disagreed with his assessment.

  • Filme de alto nĂ­vel

    • Sonia
    • 11/7/10

    Eu gosto muito deste remake com o Marlon Marlon. Acho o filme uns dos melhores por causa das locaes e O FILME RECEBEU 7 indicaes ao Oscar provando que a qualidade dele excelente.

  • Brando Bummer

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/7/10

    I watched "Mutiny On The Bounty" (the 1962 remake) on TCM Essentials 6/5/10 and I don't get why MGM felt they had to do a remake of their 1935 classic starring Clark Gable and Charles Laughton. It's definitely no improvement on the original, and I agree with Bob Osborne that it's not an essential film and surprised at Alec Baldwin thinking that it is. It's especially ironic because the far superior 1935 original version was aired on TCM Essentials in May of 2009. I am a huge Marlon Brando fan, and his performance as Fletcher Christian in my opinion rates as one of the worst of his career. Brando is so outrageously over-the-top that it seems he's trying to give the same method acting interpretation to the role of Christian that he did with the characters in his early films. It just doesn't work, and it can't begin to compare with Gable's fine performance in the original. Baldwin also commented that he thought "Mutiny On The Bounty" marked the beginning of the weakest part of Brando's career, and I have to agree with him there - the first few films Brando made, "A Streetcar Named Desire", "The Wild One" and "On The Waterfront" are considered among his best. In fact the 1950's is probably his best film period. Starting with the 1960's the quality of his films and performances declined somewhat. Also, the '62 remake of MOTB was a very troubled production, mainly because of Brando's tempermental attitude, and Lewis Milestone replaced Carol Reed as director. Maybe if a British actor was cast as Christian (Brando was the only American in the cast), the '62 version of MOTB could have been a pretty good film. Very mediocre - two stars.

  • Agree with Robert Osborne - NOT an essential

    • spunkylubbock
    • 6/6/10

    Alec Baldwin has let his Brando Worship influence his brain in calling this film an essential. Brando ruins an otherwise OK film. Trevor Howard's performance is understated but great. Brando is so weird that it's hard to watch this movie. Anyone else giving an OK portrayal as Fletcher would have resulted in a middle of the run film. But with Brando's performance it was hard to sit through the whole movie & I'm a TCM fanatic. Couldn't find anything else to watch so I stuck it out & watched the whole thing this time, I've had to switch the channel other times I've tried to watch it. Awful movie! I don't care about any controversy about the making of this movie. I'm judging the mediocre results.

  • Mutiny on the Bounty (1962)

    • Alicia
    • 6/6/10

    I can understand why Alec Baldwin considers this film an "Essentials." I saw it at 8 years old in '62 and though I can see the missteps people note in it, there's a mesmerizing quality about it. It may be attributed to Surtees' cinematography of fine vistas in paradise, or Milestone's direction of Christian's foppishness to Bligh's insecurity of his class to perpetrate horrors upon the crew to make himself appear superior - morally and by education. It should be noted that certain crew members in this version have a different profile either enhanced or subdued.And, I have viewed both the Gable/Laughton version of '35 and Gibson/Hopkins version of '84...many times, and each of them has qualities that are not replicated by the others.Perhaps more time has to pass before people who have no knowledge of the back story of the '62 production will be able to look upon the film for its merits or deficiencies to determine if it does the book justice or works to its detriment.[Besides: Alec is seeing a little of his own acting prowess every time he looks at the body of work of his birthday buddy - Marlon Brando.]

  • Critical Mutiny Unjustified

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 1/6/09

    I remember all the controversy during the filming of this movie; Brando was unprofessional; he was tempermental; ran the film overbudget, etc. Nevertheless, Brando is something to behold. His remarkable, (if bizarre) interpretation of Fletcher Christian is riveting. What is interesting is what it took to push Christian over the edge. Bligh's verbal abuse? Withholding food and drink from the crew? The lashings? The killings? No . . . Captain Bligh's kicking the water ladle out of Fletcher's hand that pushed him to mutiny. Was this Milestone's idea; or Brando's? Who cares. It worked. It was entirely within the character that Brando created from the outset. Whatever; this is a beatifully filmed movie and very entertaining.

  • Brando horrid

    • Paul
    • 8/29/08

    This movie is very hard to watch. Brando is horribly miscast, terrible, and just plain ridiculous. His acting stands out like a sore thumb against the other professionals in the cast, and there is no sense of chemistry with any of them. Even Trevor Howard, usually a fine actor, seems disheartened and gives a subpar performance. Brando seemed to either make or destroy movies.

  • Munity on the Bounty (1962)

    • Gregory
    • 9/10/06

    A great version of a classic tale of adventure, desperation & love on te high seas. In this spin on the conflict between Fletcher Christian and Capt. Bligh, Marlon Brando delivers a great performance as the young aristocratic Fletcher, whose aloof nature & casual devotion to duty are put to the test as he falls in love with a young girl from Tahiti, all while enduring the insufferable tyranny of his Captain. I find this version to be the best of the three films made to date about this mutiny. Perhaps it's the cinematography or the performances, but it stands out as an all time classic.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.