skip navigation
A Man for All Seasons

A Man for All Seasons(1966)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Man for All Seasons A devout scholar gets caught... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • By Far the Best

    • Judy
    • 5/4/14

    I first saw this film back when TCM aired during their 31 days of Oscar several years ago - and I have to say the performance by Mr. Paul Scofield of Sir Thomas Moore was so quite mesmerizing, that I was in awe. I understand Mr. Scofield was more of a theatrical than film actor - but nonetheless I hope TCM will air more of this wonderful actor's films. I look forward in anticipation.....

  • Favorite

    • Russ Helgren
    • 3/1/14

    Can't add any more praise to the compilation below...This has been my favorite movie since I first saw it in a theater upon it's release. Everything about it is top notch. One of the first DVD's I ever purchased.

  • A Man For All Seasons

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-5/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-5/5Score-4/5Titles-3/5Screenplay-5/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • perhaps 'out of season'

    • ron a.
    • 5/16/13

    Two contemporary criticisms of this movie might be (1) that it's a morality play and (2) that it's slow moving and wordy. But what a story of moral courage! And, what magnificent words! Robert Bolt's play is superb and it loses nothing in its film adaptation with Bolt himself commissioned to do the screenplay . His was Oscar richly deserved. (He had already won two Oscars!)Most of the main actors in this production were remarkable good, with Scofield truly outstanding. He IS Sir Thomas More. (A seamless performance, perhaps perfected on the Broadway stage where the play was highly successful.) The award winning screenplay creates an atmosphere which makes the viewer feel a part of the high drama that unfolded in 16th century Tudor England--- which ended in martyrdom.

  • A Man for all Seasons

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/10/12

    An engaging period drama that won the Best Picture Oscar of '66. Sir Thomas More refuses to relinquish his integrity when his life is threatened. Scofield won the Oscar as More, Hiller was nominated as his wife & Shaw became the second actor to be nominated for playing Henry VIII. Director Zinnemann & screenwriter Bolt won awards and the film was honoured for its photography and costume design. A great study about a great man's downfall amidst corruption of Henry's court. I give it a 5/5.

  • Columbia Pictures

    • Adventure
    • 1/21/12

    Columbia -the name conjures up pictures of quality during the 50's and 60's such as On The Waterfront, PicnicBridge On The River Kwai, Lawrence of Arabia, Oliver, Funny Girl, Guess Who's Coming To Dinner, and this film arguably one of the finest films of all time: A Man For All Seasons. Paul Scolfield won the Oscar and deservedly so in a tight battle with Richard Burton for his brilliant George in Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf, but Scolfield deserved to and did win. Fred Zinneman a great director won the Oscar presented by Audrey Hepburn whom he guided to her finest work in The Nun's Story.

  • Don't take an acting class, watch this instead!

    • Cary
    • 9/2/11

    I am embarrassed to say that I watched this movie for the first time last night. I was mesmerized from the moment Paul Scofield enters the screen. There are great actors and performances throughout cinematic history but for anyone wanting a lesson in how to deliver lines, portray a character and command the stage or screen with just a slight nod of the head, this is it! His performance is superior! It is also a classic example of scenery chewing acting (Robert Shaw, who I believe was over the top). I know he was nominated for all the awards too but was not deserving. I am also such a fan of Robert Bolt, who wrote two of the most literate screenplays, this and Lawrence of Arabia. In today's movies, words seem to be secondary and/or non-existent, it is such a pleasure to watch movies that you have to actually listen to!

  • The Paul Scofield showcase

    • Jeff Boston
    • 2/3/11

    I watched "A Man For All Seasons" a few nights ago. I would have chosen it as Best Picture. The competition in 1966 were films driven by strong lead actor performances (and lead actress as well, with the "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?"), not strong films. I agree with Mr. Higgins - one has to be in the mood with this historical piece. However, one can always appreciate the performance of Paul Scofield. As with General Patton and George C. Scott, when I read about Sir Thomas More, I will see Scofield. And like how Scott declined the Oscar, Scofield said no to being knighted.

  • A little piece of divinely inspired Heaven.

    • mchampion
    • 1/8/10

    God truly is an Englishman. The Brits have such an understated, matter of tact way of being - magnificent!

  • A Man for All Seasons (1966)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/27/09

    It is certainly magnificently produced, the performances are amazing, especially Paul Scofield. It's one of those kinds of films you have to be in the mood for. It can be a bit slow, particularly during one of the numerous talky scenes.

  • A Film for All Seasons (No Kidding!)

    • Anonymous
    • 2/28/08

    Everyone has his or her favorite film. This is mine. I saw this when it was first released (I know I'm revealing my age) and I remember how very moved I was by it. I still am! Who would think a story of a good man - and one from so long ago - would be so riveting, when so many movies love to center upon ancient and modern scoundrels? But so it is. I can recommend it without reservation. The cast is phenomenal, both individually and as an ensemble; the direction is brilliant; the screenplay (by the author of the original play) is powerful; the cinematography and music are unsurpassed. This may seem like too much praise for any movie, but I truly honor every aspect of it. Vote for it to be released (again) on DVD!

  • Great Supporting Cast

    • Ken B
    • 1/22/07

    I'm a movie nut -- I love movies of all kinds -- & this movie is in my top 3 of all time. Even though Paul Scofield absolutely makes the movie, for me the quality of the movie rests on the uniformly great cast--I especially loved Orson Welles' portrayal of Cardinal Woolsey.The music score, though contemporarily composed, is perfectly suited to the 16th century setting.

  • A Cast for all Seasons.

    • Ken
    • 6/1/06

    Since I was a teenager I loved this movie. Robert Shaw was utterly amazing, and my personal favorite Wendy Hiller received her third Oscar nomination for her strong brittle performance. Paul Scofield though IS THE MOVIE. His performance is what we as actors call heaven. I love the scene outside of the house when the King arrives as well of course, the court scene. By the way, Vanessa Redgrave has a small scene.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.