skip navigation
Little Women

Little Women(1933)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Little Women The four March sisters fight... MORE > $12.98 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Almost Perfect

    • David H.
    • 2/5/14

    This version of Louisa May Alcott's American classic is almost perfect. Katharine Hepburn heads a cast which give uniformly fine performances. The main determent to the film for me is trying to pass off 23-year-old Joan Bennett as a schoolgirl. If the school scene had been eliminated or a child actress had been used, this film would have been perfect.

  • Original & Best!

    • THarold
    • 12/21/12

    The RKO version of the Alcott classic beats the MGM remake in every way, even without the Technicolor glitz of 1949. Perfectly cast and utterly charming. One of Hepburn's best.

  • Cukor and His Little Women

    • Isaiah
    • 7/5/11

    George Cukor's production of Louisa May Alcott's classic American novel "Little Women", has many qualities that tend to be overlooked. The way Cukor directed Kathrine Hephburn in this drama is rather odd, Certain camera angles and movements make Hephburn appear somewhat awkward and out of place, though she did do the best that she could do with the material in most cases. Hephburn does tend to overact the role of Jo March, which was at first suprising to me because Hephburn is a stellar performing artist, but we must remember that this is one of her early films. As a matter of fact, Hephburn was coming directly from Broadway around this time, so it is not unusual that she would perform the role with the grand gestures and exaggeration that she would have projected on the stage, and we also must remember the fact that in 1933, sound in film was still new, actors did not really know what to do with it. This is a time in which Hollywood sent off to Broadway for directors who could direct diolouge. If you view other films that were produced around this time, you will notice that some actors are not as natural as they would have been otherwise because of the burden of sound. The supporting cast is passable to a certain degree, I say that because this film was coordinated as a star vehicle for Hephburn and more time and work went into creating her performance than in creating the performances of her supporting players. The chemistry is not obvious between the stars and the acting is on a great many different levels. Though this film is not the definitive production of "Little Women", it is well made. This was Cukor's first film, he was brought from Broadway to Hollywood to direct diolouge, and he made the most of it. The screenplay is a work of art, it is very faithful to the novel. Since Cukor was an expert at directing women, it makes since that the women outshine the men in this film. They are the glue that holds this production together and keeps it going.

  • Great Movie

    • Hannah
    • 5/26/11

    this is a great movie and as a high school student not many classic films catch my eye but this one did absolutly amazing

  • Little Women

    • Cynthia B.
    • 5/11/11

    Love this movie!. All takes on it. Love Marmie and the girls how they cope with every thing round them.

  • Little Women (1933)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    ***1/2

  • Little Women

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/23/10

    "6 Young Women cope with father in Civil War"

  • 33 vs. 49 versions

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 12/25/09

    My opinion has changed about this one. I think the acting is much more overwrought here. Also, it seems to reflect the Depression era more than the Civil War era. I think the 49 version is more accurate, and the scenes are more polished. The set for the March home is better in the 49 version, and Lucille Watson outshines Edna May Oliver, and Mary Astor outshines Spring Byington in their respective roles. The other difference is that the 33 version is more about providing a starring vehicle for Hepburn and it comes at the expense of the other characters. The sequence where she goes off to live in the city is much more extended and drawn out. But the 49 version keeps it much more succinct and returns the action back to the March household and the rest of the sisters as soon as it can. The more I look at these two, I don't think Cukor reigned in Hepburn like he should've, and I think Allyson plays off her costars much better and in more of an ensemble way. Finally, Peter Lawford is the ideal Laurie; Margaret O'Brien is wonderful as Beth and Elizabeth Taylor is perfect as Amy, while Janet Leigh brings poise and chemistry to her role.

  • Little Women (1933)

    • Jay
    • 7/2/09

    The second best version (the 1994 is the best) of the three major productions of the story. Great film, although Hepburn is good, I feel she overacts a bit too much. Excellent direction, good art direction and costumes.

  • Definitive Film Version

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 12/9/08

    I kind of like this movie version. It has its sentimental moments. Oustanding cast. I like Katharine Hepburn this one. Paul Lukas, Henry Stepenson, Frances Dee and the other cast members weren't so bad themselves.

  • Simply delicious!

    • gabriela
    • 10/24/08

    I think its not easy to make a film adaptation of a novel with certain success. However George Cukor made it. Its tender, very near to the spirit of the book and the lead performances, perfect. Everybody in the movie gets connecting viwers, but especially Katherine Hepburn, divine as Jo March. I like a lot Paul Lukas as Fritz Bhaer, with his tics and charming in spite of that touch of absentminderness, and shyness, far from his habitual roles of casanova. I like to see this movie just when I enjoy the next versions, 1949, 1994 and think this is what I prefer. One of my favourite moments, when Lukas sings, Tchaikostky Nur weir die ... (None but the lonely heart) and later translate it into English..for Hepburn. George Cukor is George Cukor, and Katie and Paulie were two irrepeteable players.

  • Katharine Hepburn was wonderful in this version.

    • Loretta
    • 1/2/08

    I watch this when i was young, 60yrs ago.I still watch it every chance I get!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.