skip navigation
It Happened One Night

It Happened One Night(1934)

  • Monday, August 18 @ 06:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, September 28 @ 06:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

It Happened One Night A newspaperman tracks a... MORE > $159.99 Regularly $159.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Original Screwball Comedy of the Classes

    • Sonya@Hollywood
    • 2/16/14

    When spoiled millionaire heiress Ellie Andrews (Claudette Colbert) jumps off her father's yacht, reporters are on the trail for the hottest newspaper story! She finds herself hiding on a bus sitting next to down- on-his luck reporter Peter Warne, deftly played by wise cracking Clark Gable. The story takes off in funny and memorable predicaments for this unlikely couple. Both Ellie and Peter are fiercely independent with their personal goals on the line and yet they are forced to completely depend on each other. Peter is not about to let his lead story escape and she needs him to help her get to New York and "Westley," the weasel husband she married in haste only interested in her money. In the meantime, an array of colorful characters including Ellie's father bent on annulling her phony marriage, help make this film a wonderful screwball comedy. This Frank Capra film is the original road trip story packed with fast paced dialogue by Robert Riskin who won the Oscar for best screenplay. Gable and Colbert also deliver great performances that garnered both of them Academy awards! When they find themselves stranded off the road, Peter teaches "Brat" (Ellie) the art of hitchhiking. It is a classic scene, as he fails miserably until cool and collected Ellie succeeds in stopping a car by lifting her skirt and exposing her leg. Clark Gable munching a carrot with his mouth full in a fast talking performance according to Friz Freleng and Chuck Jones of Warner Brothers cartoons admitted was the inspiration for another iconic character, Bugs Bunny! "It happened one Night" is sheer joy to watch and director Frank Capra is at his best. This 1934 gem is why so many other films that came later, copied and recreated so many famous scenes from "It Happened One Night."

  • IT HAPPENED ONE NIGHT/ AND TIME AND TIME AGAIN

    • will
    • 2/15/14

    Have you read king Cohn? Time and time again. someone /Everyone / argued with Harry Cohn including Frank Capra. Harry, This aint gona work! Harry he/she cant Act. Oh my God, Harry this is going to bankrupt Columbia Studios. He was ruthless ,tough, according to most people a mean s.o.b. Yet he had a genius ability to call the shots and go with a film like, IT HAPPENED ONE NIGHT. and many, many others. I mean how could you not enjoy this movie. Great cast. Great directing. Harry you were right again and again.

  • It Happened one Night

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/18/12

    The first film to win the five major Academy Awards. A journalist & runaway heiress fall in love as the two travel to meet the heiress' fiance. Gable & Colbert won Oscars for their charismatic performances & it's a treat to watch the two fall for each other. Director Capra & screenwriter Riskin won for adapting the short story, "Night Bus," & making an entertaining romantic-comedy. Memorable scenes create the first of the great screwball comedies. I give it a 5/5.

  • legendary film

    • george snedker
    • 6/1/12

    the grandaddy of the screwball the film that started it all,with legendary director,cast and crew it has never been surpassed. an immortal film.

  • Best ever Road movie

    • Bob Burton
    • 8/12/11

    One of my all time favorites....Watched it whenever it is on...

  • An absolute classic

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/11/11

    This film deserves all the praise it receives. Great acting and chemistry between Gable and Colbert. It's a movie you can watch over and over again.

  • it happened one night

    • kenneth carruthers, sr.
    • 8/5/11

    besides the earth stood still and mclintock this is one of my all time favorites. i love it so much i think i will buy the dvd.

  • It Happened One Night

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    *****

  • Who couldn't love this film?

    • gossipgurl13
    • 4/1/10

    DUDE!! This movie is spectacular....(big word there folks!) I just love the chemistry between Claudette and Clark. (Claudette is one of the best! just my opinion but still.) This movie is good for people just starting out watching oldie films because it isn't dated to me. A gem of a movie.

  • A Rom-Com Classic

    • Sarah
    • 2/22/10

    It's the romantic comedy that started it all. The first and the best!

  • favorite

    • Brittany
    • 2/22/10

    Let me start by saying that on this movie's 76th anniversary I will turn 18. In saying that, I hate to be judged on my age.It Happened One Night was the first movie I ever saw on TCM and since then I have been hooked, and this instantly became my favorite. TCM in the only TV I ever watch, and everyone called me matronly or old-fashioned. I love it!This movie is funny, wonderful, heart-warming, and definitely a must see.

  • It Happened One Night (1934)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/30/09

    It Happened One Night is one of the greatest romantic comedies of all time. It's not a big budget film, but that didn't hinder the on screen magic this film created. Everything came together perfectly - the cast, art direction, screenplay, direction, writing etc. Clark Gable, and especially Claudette Colbert are outstanding. A great classic in every sense of the word.

  • ONE OF THE BEST COMEDIES EVER MADE

    • WJORGENSEN
    • 6/2/09

    WONDERFUL MOVIE

  • A classic

    • Robert Underwheel
    • 5/30/09

    A must see, period. One of the best comedies ever! For other Capra comedies, be sure to check out You Can't Take it With you.

  • GEM

    • cris
    • 4/15/09

    Love this movie

  • the walls of Jerricho

    • Kai
    • 3/2/09

    Let the walls, silly walls, of Jerricho fall down!!!

  • A True Gem

    • Cindy Johns
    • 1/1/09

    Clark Gable and Claudette Colbert are simply wonderful in this golden oldie. It's so sweet and heart warming and one of the best movies ever made in my opinion. Gable is at his very best and has a genuine screen chemistry with Colbert. He's especially comical when he's telling her about how one day he'll write a book on the proper way to dunk your donut, hitch-hike or give a piggy back ride. I think he's even sexier in this role than he was in Gone With The Wind. Surely a top five favorite! Don't miss it.

  • beyond great

    • alissa
    • 8/16/08

    the original romantic comedy. the dialogue is so contemporary, even 70 years later. cable and colbert are equaled in bantering ability only by grant and hepburn. makes me laugh even after the 20th viewing. timeless. one of my favorite movies. so so amazing.

  • A true comedy classic

    • Brando4ever
    • 8/12/07

    This was such a sweet, charming and adorable romantic comedy. The King HIMSELF was sweet, charming and adorable. I recommend this film to everyone!

  • First One!

    • Samantha
    • 2/27/07

    I don't really watch the classic old movies...but thanks to this movie..i've falled in love with them! This movie funny and romantic the best two combinations!It just doesn't get any better then "It Happened One Night"

  • this humble romantic comedy just has "it"

    • s
    • 6/28/06

    This film is a lark, a silly and enjoyable romantic comedy...however the sum of it's parts add up to so much more. Sure, it has Capra, Gable and Colbert, but it is more than that. It all just fits together so perfectly--yeah, it is just perfect. No reinvention of the wheel but it sure is a smooth ride.

  • The Best Movie Evah!

    • Mary
    • 4/29/06

    This is one of my favorites. Not only are the performances great, but the script is amazing and the whole movie hangs together in the perfect way, making it the best combination of funny and moving. This movie deserves all the Oscars it received!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.