skip navigation
Dinner at Eight

Dinner at Eight(1934)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Dinner at Eight A high-society dinner party... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • ONE DUH FULL

    • SANDI
    • 9/14/14

    In 1932 MGM threw together a load of their top stars and made GRAND HOTEL and it won the studio a best picture Oscar. So in 1934 they threw together a load of their top stars and made DINNER AT EIGHT and it's even better. The last time I watched this movie it was presented as a TCM ESSENTIALS hosted by Robert Osbourne and Drew Barrymore. They concentrated on Drew's grandfather John Barrymore but forgot to mention uncle Lionel. But believe me the few scenes with Jean Harlow and Wallace Beery as the rich but common Packers are over the top fabulous. And then there's Marie Dressler who takes no prisoners.won

  • Dinner at 8 1933

    • Burt Bennett
    • 3/8/14

    In this day of modern turmoil it is a pleasure to laaugh at the rich and suedo rich of the depression years. This movie, more than others of it's genre ,, gives the viewer an opportunity to become part of the ere due tto the wonderful portrayals by the cast. In this 80 year old's opinion, a must see.

  • Excellent Ensemble Cast and Film

    • JB
    • 11/11/12

    Thanks Drew Barrymore and Robert O for the Essentials 11/10/12.Really watched it through in its entirety this time.Rewound and rewatched and really appreciated it more because of it.Marie Dressler fantastic,John and Lionel outstanding,Jean lovely,the rest perfect.Loved the last bit between Carlota and Kitty about reading a book.CLASSIC!John Barrymore as touching in his scenes in DINNER as in The Grand Hotel.No matter how his life was tragic,heshould be remembered as the great actor that he was.

  • Very Good

    • Sasha
    • 11/11/12

    I watched this last night; it's very good though it has some moments of feeling stagey and rehearsed. I'm probably a minority in this opinion.The best performer here is Marie Dressler, who is funny but also tender. Also strong are Wallace Beery and Jean Harlow.I thought some of the other performances were a bit hammy, especially the Barrymores, Billie Burke, and the actress playing her daughter - her scenes with John Barrymore feel maudlin and forced.Overall it's a good film and it does not shy away from the seedier facts of life.

  • Could have been now

    • MeetAgain74
    • 5/30/12

    So timely and timeless. I just watched this for the first time, and had to watch again immediately. It's a rare film that I watch more than once, but I've saved this one. The themes are both timeless and extremely relevant for our current situation. Most of the acting and directing is spot-on, much more genuine than in many films of this time, when the transition from stage to screen was still being sorted out. I believe that this is before the censors took control, which explains how they were able to include all of the innuendo that they did, and how Harlow's costuming was so much more revealing than it would have been just a year or two later. They used elements of broad comedy, but also subtle drama. Both Barrymores gave terrific, nuanced performances. Dressler was marvelous. I haven't seen all of Harlow's, but this is the best I have seen. The script was sharp, witty and clever, but also sensitive. I'm awfully impressed by this one. In my book it stands up along any of the best films of any time period.

  • GREAT PERFORMANCES,STRANGE MOVIE

    • Michael Steven
    • 5/1/12

    It's difficult for me to watch this film.The performances of all major cast members,are HIGHLY commendable.For me,it's John Barrymore's performance that stands out.As Larry Renault,an actor who was once great,is on the way down.Barrymore once said that his character,was a cross between Maurice Costello (HIS WIFE,DOLORES COSTELLO'S FATHER),& himself.Two former matinee idol's ,who's careers were effected by alcohol.The way that Barrymore decides to end it all,is sad.That's the reason why I can't watch that scene.John Barrymore was at one time,one of this countries greatest actors.Richard III & Hamlet,were his absolute peaks,as an actor.

  • Dinner at Eight

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    **1/2

  • Dinner at Eight (1933)

    • Manxie
    • 12/1/10

    This is such a wonderful movie!It has it all. Such an awesome cast!!I can watch this movie over and over and over...

  • Dinner At Eight

    • walter van der wahl
    • 8/19/10

    Brilliant doesn't begin to describe Dinner At Eight. Jean Harlow is luminous. Costume designer Adrian highlights her every curve, pouring her into a series of clingy gowns resplendant with Ostrich feathers, sequins and silk. The chemistry & banter between her and Wallace Beery is something to behold. Jean can dish it out and take it. Billie Burke's tizzy and near melt down in front of her daughter and husband was a treat. If you loved her as Glinda the good witch of the north, you'll swoon over her as "Mrs.Oliver Jordan". Watch the scene where Jean Harlow's maid scams a art deco diamond bracelet from her.

  • Dinner at Eight (1933)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/31/09

    One of the greatest classic comedies. What a magnificent cast and they are all outstanding. Marie Dressler is at her finest. The screenplay has some of the wittiest dialogue ever put on film. It has the typical 1930's glossy MGM production - excellent costumes and sets - first rate all the way.

  • Fantastic film

    • APA
    • 1/11/09

    Cast is brilliant. Jean Harlow is gorgeous...Dressler is magnificent. The film is a total tour de force. Too bad that so many splendid actors are forgotten. This film is a tribute to Hollywood`s best.

  • Great movie; ahead of its time

    • Mike Snider
    • 12/28/07

    Did anyone else notice something familiar about the Wallace Beery/Jean Harlow subplot? It's like a little proto-version of "Born Yesterday" written by Garson Kanin over a decade after this film. I'm almost sure Kanin ran in the same NY theatre crowd with George S. Kaufman around the time he wrote "Dinner at Eight". Hmm?

  • dressler/harlow classic line

    • bergy
    • 8/27/07

    the last lines of this movie between dressler and harlow are possibly the funniest and best delivered of all timein the history of cinema...plus the look on dressler's face is priceless...this movie ranks up there as one of the great all time classics...and john barrymore almost doing a parody of himself is also a classic performance.

  • Dressler's reaction to Harlow

    • Alan Zachary
    • 3/3/07

    Just as funny as Dressler's parting shot to Harlow is her reaction a moment earlier when Harlow says she's been reading a book. Her stop-in-her-tracks near-seizure is priceless.

  • All's well that ends well?

    • FrankieCee
    • 9/25/06

    Great movie, one of the best in cinematic history. I never get tired of watching this one. The ending is something found only in fairy tales, but it's so very nice to dream. Great production, great acting, great directing. A real keeper!

  • An absolute "Must"

    • Barry Phillis
    • 3/10/06

    A great and funny, brittle, and well-oiled, platinum-plated star package. Everyone confidently cruising-on-all-cylinders (with Burke's hysterical "You think YOU've got problems!?!" rant my personal favorite) and a "movie-movie" when that counted.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.