skip navigation
Kiss Me Kate

Kiss Me Kate(1953)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Kiss Me Kate Feuding co-stars reunite for a... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of the Best Movie Musicals. Ever.

    • Muriel
    • 1/10/14

    I can't think of a jarring moment in this movie. I read that Howard Keel wanted to perform this role on stage for a few months before making the movie so he could really get the part down right for film, but the studio would not give him the time. Keel felt his film performance suffered by missing that opportunity. Well, he's pretty amazing anyway.With a top notch cast, this movie is all pleasure. Don't miss it.

  • Better Than a Kick in the Coriolanus

    • Michele
    • 8/31/11

    With its charming score, clever lyrics (who else would rhyme "heinous" with "Coriolanus"?) by the immortal Cole Porter, and truly stellar performances by Howard Keel and Kathryn Grayson, Kiss Me Kate is a sparkling gem of a musical. KMK turns Shakespeare from high school drudgery into memorable toe-tapping merriment. Add to this an eye-popping dance routine featuring the eye-popping Ann Miller and a young Bob Fosse and you've got a real winner. If you've never seen this, don't miss it. If you have, this is a movie you can see over and over.

  • Divertido

    • Sonia
    • 11/6/10

    Lindo, divertido este musical de alto nvel em que George Sidney caprichou na direo. Eu recomendo. Uns dos melhores musicais dos anos 50.

  • A Colorful Musical Shakespearean Spectacular.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/26/10

    George Sidney adds another flamboyant movie musical to his resume as he brings Cole Porter's Broadway musical hit to the silver screen. Featuring Kathryn Grayson and Howard Keel as an erstwhile married couple, whose off-and-on-stage seperate lives about to be intertwine, when they are cast in a musical stage production of Shakespeare's "The Taming of the Shrew". Featuring of 15 of Cole Porter's songs including "Brush Up Your Shakespeare", "Wunderbar", "So in Love", "Always True to You in My Fashion" and "From This Moment On". Also starring Ann Miller, Keenan Wynn, Bobby Van, Bob Fosse, James Whitmore, Kurt Kaszner, Tommy Rall, Carol Haney & Ron Randell.

  • Kiss Me Kate in 3-D

    • Joe
    • 8/11/10

    I too saw Kiss Me Kate in 3-D in 1953, in Cleveland; the Article errs in saying it was never released in that format.

  • Kiss Me Kate

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/23/10

    Cole Porter's Taming of the Shrew; Brush up on your Porter.

  • A delight

    • Marilee
    • 5/3/09

    As time goes on, you can see this movie had a very modern "edge" about it. One only wishes that they hadn't censored some of Cole Porter's more hilarious (albeit sexy) lyrics.

  • One of the very best from MGM!!!

    • Ellen
    • 9/22/08

    Kiss Me Kate is a SUPER MUSICAL! It has not only great leading stars, but a fantastic supporting cast. The acting, singing, and dancing could not be better. Kathryn's & Howard's duets - "So In Love", beautifully done; "Wunderbar", a total delight. Ann Miller's "Too Darn Hot" will NEVER be equalled. "From This Moment On" is positively breathtaking!!!These are only a few of its many highlights. I saw this movie in 1953 in 3D when it was just released. I loved it then. I love it now and always will.

  • Have a look at the photos on piano!

    • George
    • 3/25/08

    If you look at the framed photos sitting on Fred Graham's (aka Howard Keel's) piano in the opening scene, you'll notice one of Keel and Kathryn Grayson together in the roles of Magnolia and Gaylord Ravenal from their film *Showboat* (1951), and another of them together dressed in cowboy outfits - obviously Grayson's image has been substituted for that of Betty Hutton, and it's a still from *Annie Get Your Gun* (1950).

  • I Love this movie!

    • Elizabeth
    • 7/18/06

    I love this movie. The songs, the actors, the costumes, everything in it makes it wonderful and funny to watch because of their feud they have going on during the whole thing. Bob Fosse is of course amazing in this movie and his dance break during the movie is beautiful and a little funny because he is doing a very modern dance during a time that....well did not dance like that. It is perfect in every way!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.