skip navigation
Chain Lightning

Chain Lightning(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Chain Lightning A reckless jet pilot goes to... MORE > $16.95 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Bogart's "CHAIN LIGHTNING"

    • LAWRENCE LANE
    • 6/13/16

    Chain Lightning, from 1950, starring Bogart, is one of my favorite films. I LOVE THIS MOVIE AND HAVE WATCHED IT OVER 100 HUNDRED TIMES, since I was a kid !!!!!!!! Leonard Maltin must have been on drugs when he reviewed this movie. Watch it and love it. I was the one that called attention to it to TCM and BEGGED them to put it on years ago. I had an old VHS copy from AMC before they started running commercials back in the 1980's. THE TCM STORE IS CURRENTLY SOLD OUT AND THEY ONLY HAVE BACK ORDERS FOR THIS MOVIE. I'M STILL WAITING !!!! I TOLD TCM PEOPLE WOULD LOVE THIS MOVIE. WHY IT ISN"T SHOWN ON TCM IS MIND BLOWING !!!!!The earliest view time is set far into the future, Saturday AUGUST 20th, 2016 . . . . WHY, NOT SOONER???????????

  • Suspenseful

    • Elisabeth Anderson
    • 8/9/15

    I thought this was a terrific movie, full of suspense, and giving some background of early flight concepts. I feel the pod was a forerunner of the capsule that we used in the NASA space program, when there were capsules landing in the ocean, and the astronauts rescued at sea.I did miss the beginning, but was so nervous watching the flights. I thought the technical work to make it appear as if Mr. Bogart was flying this plane were excellent. They must have used some kind of plane to shoot the flying scenes. The critics are jerks!

  • Chain Lightning

    • Bruce C
    • 6/10/13

    This film was not designed to be a Casablanca or a To Have And Have Not. You may see what is recognizable in Bogey's latter years of looking extremely tired in a few scenes. Its not hard to find an appreciation that its a Bogart film. Equally, Bogart as any actor can only be as strong as the cast surrounding him that may sway perceptions of a Bogart body of work. The FX isn't what we know today,but it has some compelling scenes. Its a different type of Bogart movie, is well worth viewing. Am gladTCM introduced another great film I could never see anywhere else. Its a keeper.

  • Remake

    • James Mullin
    • 10/6/11

    I liked the movie its been remade a few times Once with Guy Madison I think.

  • Oh Brother

    • David
    • 1/27/11

    This movie is so bad it's laughable. Bogart must have needed the paycheck badly. The acting, almost without exception, is pedestrian. The story is ridiculous. The technology on display is amateurish. The special effects are of home-movie quality. Perhaps in its day, when aviation and aerodynamics were mysterious to the average movie-goer, this would have gained some acceptance. Seen in retrospect it falls down on any objective measure.

  • The Right Stuff of its day.

    • George
    • 6/17/08

    Bogey makes a good test pilot in this '50's flick, while Raymond Massey does a great job as the greedy industrialist. Good plot, and I can only imagine how great it would have been to have today's computer generated special effects for the arial scenes.Worth the watching.....

  • CHAIN LIGHTNING

    • FRED
    • 12/28/07

    I WILL LIKE TO KNOW WHEN WILL THIS CLASSIC BE RELEASED ON DVD IT REMIND OF THE MOVIE TOP GUN IN THE EIGHTIES

  • One of the best aviation movies I've seen.

    • Kevin Duke
    • 6/15/06

    Humphrey Bogart stars in this gem. If you like science fiction, you'll be hooked.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.