skip navigation
Back from Eternity

Back from Eternity(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Back from Eternity When an airliner crashes in... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Back From Eternity

    • Nikki Cavendish
    • 5/18/14

    I liked it. The Jungle scene was a bit different from reality, but it passed. Reminder of Flight of the Phooenix

  • Good movie

    • Wiselady
    • 5/31/13

    I liked this remake better than the original movie Five Came Back

  • Back From Eternity

    • William Bailey
    • 10/10/11

    Outstanding film remake of an earlier film from 1939 starring Lucille Ball, "Five Came Back". In this version the cast is top notch with Robert Ryan at his best, Gene Barry at his slimiest, Anita Ekberg as the prostitute, Jesse White as the mob guy (the Maytag Repairman on TV for years), Rod Steiger as the convicted killer being returned for execution, Fred Clark as the detective bringing Steiger back, and a very young Jon Provost (who later starred for years in the Lassie TV show). Among the other cast members are Beulah Bondi (Jimmy Stewart's mother in "It's a Wonderful Life"), Cameron Prud'homme , and Phyllis Kirk. The important action takes place after the plane crashes in a storm somewhere in the Amazon jungle. This film has little in the way of special effects, and yet the acting keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout. They don't make films like this anymore, and hopefully TCM will rerelease it in DVD.

  • Back From Eternity

    • sally
    • 7/20/11

    I'm still Waiting for this movie to be released on DVD.

  • Good Flick

    • Phyllis
    • 5/23/11

    I enjoyed this movie. It had very good acting. I liked the question it raised about how people act under life or death situations and the "WHAT IF" aspect of the story. The choice of who lives and who would be left to die. Whose right to make the choice. Who better then someone with nothing to lose and who sees clearly who the people are around them. Whose noblitiy rises and whose fear blinds. Nobody knows until their in a position to act. I enjoyed the concept very much.

  • perfect

    • Dawn
    • 7/17/10

    The hate and lilke factor for the characters that your suppose to have is perfect. This movie is good but I think the original movie is a little bit better!! But this one should be on DVD,VHS also!! deservedly so!! I read the review the one person left about lesser characters as the person put it. Well I kind of don't think that they should have killed him I mean the "uncle"off because that was all the little boy had left. I know its immaterial, because the movie was 71 years ago but well you know its just a review!! but all reviews should count even if you don't like what the persons say. If the persons are being unnecessarily really mean and nasty and raunchy then it does not count!!! being well mannered about it is good!!!

  • Back from Eternity

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 3/30/10

    Very good backlot adventure movie. Good performances by all. Excellent realistic ending. Made in the 40's or 50's as a Mexican production called Los Que Volvieron.

  • From the depths

    • loveaudrey
    • 3/7/10

    From the depths of the boiling caldrom of drama, reaches a hand to pick out, 'Back From Eternity' a heart-wrenching, breath-taking, romance in the middle of the jungle. This drama jearked my heart on a thrilling & mysterious ride that never stopped. Absolutely glorious, if made today would win at least 10 Oscars, no doubt, worthy of high praise. Bravo to all the cast & crew. Watch.-loveaudrey

  • 5 Stars

    • Diana F.
    • 1/7/10

    All I can say is "they" don't make them like this anymore. No cgi needed here, the actors gave their all in this film.

  • BACK FROM ETERNITY

    • josie
    • 12/31/09

    Been looking for this movie for a very long time. Could not remember the title, but finally found it here on T.C.M. Great movie-many years since I saw it last. Would very much like to see it again.

  • BACK FROM ETERNITY

    • sally
    • 11/14/09

    Very good movie and should be released to the public to enjoy.

  • Very scary ending

    • Richard Evans
    • 11/10/09

    This movie has enough tension at the end for ten movies. It made a firm impression on me. I knew exactly what movie it was when I tuned in 30 minutes late.

  • LIKE TO SEE THIS MOVIE ON TCM

    • Gerald McConnell
    • 3/20/09

    Back From Eternity,1956 was a great movie.I remember first watching this movie when I was about 19(in 1965)it was a powerful movie and it has been with me now all this time.The music has stayed with me as well.I have NOT seen this movie since.I hope that one day it will be on T.C.M schedule VERY SOON PLEASE Thank You 2-20-09 @ 4.45 pm Gerald McConnell

  • A Neglected Classic

    • Rene
    • 5/9/08

    This film left a strong, memorable impression on me when I first saw it on TV a long time ago. It has a strong moral base that runs throughout the film, including the terrifying, yet uplifting ending. Terrific cast. A great score with a magnificent main title by Franz Waxman.

  • Back From Eternity

    • Dan
    • 7/11/07

    In some ways I liked this version better than the '39 one. Robert Ryan, Rod Steiger, and Beulah Bondi give good performances. Steiger gave the Pasqual character more grit and a realistic performance than the older character version. It kind of makes me wonder why the cannibalistic South American Natives didn't show up before they did. At any rate it's still a good film that was trying to save RKO by closing it's doors. The music at the end is something to behold.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.