skip navigation
Annie Get Your Gun

Annie Get Your Gun(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Annie Get Your Gun Fanciful musical biography of... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • ANNIE GET YOUR GUN

    • WILL
    • 6/21/14

    Imagine, trying to step into Judy Garlands shoes ( after she was fired) and trying to fit into this part. You can hear all the tongue wagging and head shaking at the studio front office. I think Betty Hutton did a Great job. I saw this movie ( one of the first I can remember) when I was about five years old ,color ,music ,horses, cowboys, Indians. Its what Hollywood was all about. Saturday afternoon, neighborhood corner theatre, popcorn and fun.

  • Hutton Shines!

    • THarold
    • 4/19/14

    Yes, the film is a bit over-produced in typical MGM fashion, but is generally very good. Too bad a few lovely tunes from the Broadway show were cut, as well as Betty Hutton's touching "Let's Go West Again" number. As much as I adore Judy Garland, Betty Hutton is fabulous as Annie and far more similar in temperament to original creator Ethel Merman than Judy could ever have been and especially by 1949-50. Annie was tailor made for Betty and her energy and talents. The film was a tremendous box office hit and MGM attempted but failed to buy Hutton's contract from Paramount, despite how she was treated on the set. I laughed when reading the review stating that Betty Hutton was in effect a poor man's Doris Day, especially since Day was still pretty new in the business when this film was made and Hutton was at the time a top box office draw and had been for years as well as pretty much Paramount's #1 female star.

  • Betty Hutton is Great

    • Steven
    • 1/18/14

    Wonderful film, great performance by Ms. Hutton. she was truly fabulous in this film. After watching this film I am a die hard Betty Hutton fan.

  • Annie Go Away!

    • Meredith
    • 12/28/13

    This film is horrible! It has been torture this morning to watch it. I don't know movie history, but I do know Hutton is like a budget Doris Day. She sings and acts just like Day in Calamity Jane which is another torture. So whoever started singing and acting like this is just crummy. Boo to the director who thought this was a successful film. I can't imagine people liking this. To end on a positive note, I will say it is rather colorful. So if you want to watch it just mute the sound and sing the songs yourself.

  • WAY OVER THE TOP

    • Winnipegger
    • 7/1/12

    Love the songs but she is too much to watch again!

  • Oh, duh!

    • onelazysusan
    • 11/2/10

    So -- brain cramp -- I was thinking "Kiss Me Kate"

  • Annie Get Your Gun

    • OneLazySusan
    • 10/28/10

    Of course it's sexist; it's Shakespeare's Taming of the Shrew.

  • "It Stinks"!

    • Jack The Hat
    • 6/27/10

    It stinks, even Irving Berlin hated this verison and kept it out of circulation for years. I saw this film when it was first released and I nearly threw up. It should have been shelved at MGM.

  • Sexist ending

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/3/10

    The film is a must-see for Betty Hutton funs. Contrary to what other reviewers wrote, I don't find the production overblown nor do I find Betty's performance over-the-top. I think it's a very energetic production, and it represents the ultimate in terms of MGM musical production. As most know, Judy Garland was originally cast as Annie, but many don't know that Frank Morgan was first cast as Buffalo Bill. Mr. Morgan died shortly after production began, so Louis Calhern took over. What's interesting is that with the exception of 'Thousands Cheer,' this would've been the first time since Oz that Judy and Frank worked together in another another MGM musical. But alas, that was not meant to be. And what we have instead is this film, which arguably is one of the studio's best. However, the problem I have with this story is its blatant sexism, and how Annie must willingly become the weaker sex in order to puff up Butler's already huge ego and land him as her husband. Puh-leez. I don't remember that happening in the 1935 non-musical version with Barbara Stanwyck. Why wasn't it good enough for them to be equal? Why couldn't he have respected her instead of having to feel superior? I cringe everytime I watch the end of this film. It makes me not want to watch it again, but then I remember Hutton's truly spectacular work, and I am reminded of what makes this film worthwhile.

  • Betty Makes Annie Shine!

    • J Rex
    • 12/27/09

    Betty's performance is exhuberant I will grant that, but seems appropriate to this role and character. Annie is guileless and trying hard to please. Contrasted with Frank Butler's chauvinism and selfishness it really sets up the later scenes and turn around on both Annie and Frank's parts. Annie learns to value herself for more than her accomplishments with a gun (the only place she is really confident) and Frank's realization that Annie loves him despite his ego or any talent he may display with his rifle.Even Betty Hutton's rough-around-the-edges performances on some of the songs just reinforce her character's personality. Howard Keel's suave and worldly renditions of his songs also reflect his character's personality to a tee.As much as I love Judy Garland, I cannot imagine that this film would have been half as successful with her. I don't think the role of a rough-and-tumble girl sharpshooter would have been believeable with the delicate Garland. Annie Get Your Gun is one of my favorite musicals, with excellent songs and supporting cast. I can't imagine a cast that would make a remake that would be equal to this gem.

  • Annie Get Your Gun (1950)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/2/09

    Betty Hutton is just a little too peppy in the title role, she becomes overbearing at times, too exaggerated. The entire film is overblown and extreme. There are a few good songs, the production sure had a lot of money poured into it, but it's just too much. The best scenes of the film are on the special features, with the cut footage of Judy Garland in the role before she was fired.

  • We want All Of Betty's movies

    • Julie Crebs
    • 1/10/08

    This is a fabulous movie but there are so many more of Betty's movies that are not out on DVD yet. Now that she has passed away, why can't we have them all! Let's Dance, Incendiary Blonde, Red Hot and Blue, Dream Girl, Spring Reunion, Somebody Loves Me, and Star Spangled Rhythm. Please vote for these to be available on DVD also. We Love Betty!

  • The best version of Annie Get Your Gun ever made.

    • Betty Alexander
    • 7/2/07

    This is the one I would like to see over and over again. It was my favorite Annie Get Your Gun that was made. I saw the others and they just don't compare to this version. I love Betty Hutton and Howard Keel. I saw Betty's interview recently with Robert Osborne and I was shocked to hear how she was treated. Honestly Judy Garland could have done this role and it would have been good, but I think Betty put everything she had into the movie. That is what makes it the best version out there in my opinion. I would also like to have a Betty Hutton day.

  • SHE PLAYED IN SO MANY MOVIES THIS WAS HER BEST

    • ARLENE LLOYD
    • 6/13/06

    YOU WILL WANT TO SEE IT AGAIN. AS AN ACTOR SHE PLAYED THIS PART WITH HER HEART. SHE GAVE HER ALL TO THE PART. THE TRUE BETTY HUTTON IS HERE TO SEE. MY QUESTION IS WHERE IS SHE NOW? AND DOES SHE MISS THE LIFE OF HOLLWOOD? IS SHE STILL THE SAME GAL? HER MOVIES FILLED YOU WITH LIFE. ENERGY PLEASE LET US HAVE A BETTY HUTTON FILM DAY

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.