skip navigation
The Doughgirls

The Doughgirls(1944)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Doughgirls - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Delight!

    • Lillian
    • 11/1/13

    This is a delightful movie - shame on TCM for not showing it more often!Eve Arden is especially not to be missed as the Russian female soldier, and Charlie Ruggles does not fail to entertain. Jany Wyman does a great job here, showing what a great actress she was.Why isn't this gem on DVD???!!!

  • The Doughgirls

    • shaydee12
    • 1/4/13

    Pretty pathetic movie, I must say. Overacted and painful. Most painful is watching Jane Wyman trying to act like a dumb blonde. Ann Sheridan is her usual smart alack self. I really wouldn't waste time watching this movie.

  • pretty dogone GOOD movie

    • Moxie
    • 10/10/12

    It was funny, loved all the actors, fast paced. Doesn't get a lot better than this, please keep it coming Best Regards, John M

  • great movie

    • kraig
    • 10/9/12

    I watched this the other night on TCM and loved it! It is a great movie. Why not available on DVD like the other reviewer had commented? I was all set to buy it.

  • The Doughgirls

    • Nancy M
    • 3/31/12

    One of my favorite movies of all time! Love the fast paced banter, the vintage clothing, Ann Sheridan, and a side of Jane Wyman I'd never seen. Wish you would play it every month. Would love to have it on DVD.

  • Any meaning to the title?

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 1/6/12

    While this movie has more than a few laugh-out-loud moments, it is relentlessly fast-paced and overly busy in its desperate quest for the next joke, and I think it suffers for it by the end. By then all the slapstick has been overused and overdone. From the man who can't get any sleep, to the repeatedly on-and-off-again marriages, to all of Vivian's "dumb girl" comments, I was genuinely relieved when it was all over. (By the way, I've never seen Jane Wyman play anything but intelligent characters before, so I was impressed with how well she handled this off-beat role.) The Hari Kari joke was telegraphed by a mile and completely unfunny, an example of how the movies general attempts at humor aren't balanced with any kind of reality or heart. As a result, it's ultimately an empty experience that doesn't leave you with any kind of lasting impression -- except for maybe annoyance. You also don't care one whit about any of the characters or if any of their marriages will work out. Jack Carson's character treats Vivian so badly -- and she's so painfully stupid about putting up with it -- that you don't want to see them together as a couple. But then, as they're all pretty one-dimensional anyway, who cares? I think every good comedy should have some kind of dramatic thread running through it, however thin; some kind of character development, however minor; some sense of humanity at the core of it to be truly engaging, funny, and worthwhile. But if you like your comedies frenzied, frivolous, and forced then this one should fit the bill. **

  • doughgirls

    • cindy
    • 1/5/12

    wonderful!!!! need more like this. Why is it not on DVD?

  • JUST WONDEFUL

    • mellis see
    • 1/5/12

    JUST WONDERFUL....HOPE YOU PLAY MORE OFTEN...ALONG WITH JANE WYMAN MOVIES

  • One of the Funniest Ensemble Casts Ever!!

    • David Wells
    • 5/3/10

    Why Eve Arden steals the show, all the performers makes this 1944 classic a "must see". Take the time to watch this movie, it will entertain you, make even those with the sourest dispostions laugh, and instantly become one of your favorites!The "little old lady" housekeepers are so funny, what a pleasure to watch...Place this film on your short list.

  • Hilarious movie!

    • Bev Zupka
    • 4/30/10

    This movie catches perfectly the moment in time when the US was completely mobilized for global war yet was still having warm feelings for Josef Stalin. I agree it must have been a play because nearly all of the scenes are in one hotel suite. The frantic pace and the wonderful characters (especially Eve Arden as a Soviet sniper with a curious knowledge of pawnshops) plus all the topical one liners make this a gem. If it ever becomes available I will buy this one!

  • Must See!

    • Amanda
    • 1/29/10

    This was just wanted I needed. Great Movie.

  • HILARIOUS

    • Jeff Laffel
    • 1/29/10

    I had never heard of THE DOUGHGIRLS until I noticed that it would be playing on TCM. The film, a screen adaptation of a hit Broadway play, is hilarious. The timing of the stars is perfect, the direction dizzyingly fluid even though the whole film takes place mainly in a hotel suite and almost every line a comic gem. Ann Sheridan is terrific as the star of the film, but it it is Eve Arden (natch!), as a Russian soldier, who walks away with every scene she is in. Unhappily, my DVR cut off the last 15 minutes of the film, so TCM PLEASE reschedule asap. Also, Warner Archives, if you release it I will certainly purchase it. THE DOUGHGIRLS is a delightful surprise.

  • Love the movie!

    • Regina
    • 1/28/10

    Every so often, I check the TCM channel to see what is playing. I happened to get the chance to watch The Dough Girls...a very funny movie. Love it!!

  • FUNNY! FUNNY! MOVIE

    • ELIZABETH rose
    • 1/28/10

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!I WILL PURCHASE THIS MOVIE.EVERYONE IN IT IS GREAT!ENTERTAINING, FUNNY.I ALSO LOVE THE CLOTHING.

  • Great movie!

    • Veronica
    • 6/27/07

    I just happend to pass by the TMC channel and I could not change the channel this was the funniest movie I have seen. For me being 21 years old, I never could think that I would like an old movie like this. I wish I could buy this movie!

  • Love it!!!

    • Alexandra Gonzalez
    • 7/20/06

    This was one of the funniest movies I have seen aside from Charlie Chaplin Movies. This movie should be remade....its such a crazy, mixed up movie...which is far from what movies today lack...originality and real laughs.

  • I laughed so hard I cried

    • Duchess
    • 6/13/06

    I laughed so hard, I cried for most of the movie and then some. What true slapstick! What witty comebacks! My daughter, who is several generations from 1944, could not keep from laughing because I was laughing. Of all the remakes Hollywood does nowadays, they could remake this movie and it would be a hit. I MUST HAVE THIS MOVIE!!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.