skip navigation
Task Force

Task Force(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Task Force A naval officer devotes his... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Dated With An Excellent Message

    • Ray
    • 7/5/09

    Although the movie is dated, it is probably one of the best I've seen in building the argument for the establishment of naval aviation and defending the strategic importance of the aircraft carrier.

  • Naval Aviation Classic

    • George D. Jepson
    • 7/5/09

    Task Force is a naval aviation classic describing the development of aircraft carriers in the U.S. fleet during the early to mid 20th century. It's a film I watch regularly and would appreciate it being made available on DVD. It deserves a place of honor among the many wonderful military films developed in the 1940s.

  • B&W and Color

    • liv
    • 7/20/08

    One of the few movies that goes from 3/4 black&white to the last 1/4 in color. Have it of VHS. Hope to see it on DVD.

  • Excellent Movie on naval aviation.

    • David Tuttle
    • 7/10/08

    This was a excellent movie when I saw it after initial release, and it still stands up over 50 years later. Can't believe it isn't available on DVD. Would love to have it for my collection.

  • One of the Navy's best !

    • OS1 B. Felty USNR-R
    • 7/7/08

    I would be very interested in seeing this film in a boxed set with films like...1 Action in the Atlantic. (H. Bogart)2 Navy Blue and Gold (J Stewart)3 Beginning of the End (R Walker)4 Cain Mutiny(H Bogart)What are the cahnces of a retired saylor getting his wish?

  • Task Force with Gary Cooper & Walter Brennan

    • Linda
    • 7/6/08

    I have seen this movie only once, but was so moved by all the action and the story line, that I would like to have it for my ww11 collection, which is quite extensive. There are some days that I will sit and watch movie after movie because of my pain. So would you please release this movie on DVD or VHS which ever.Linda

  • TASK FORCE WITH GARY COOPER

    • JUAN CARLOS PODESTA
    • 2/12/08

    I AM A VET FROM THE ARGENTINIAN NAVAL AVIATION AND ONE OF THE FIRST PILOTS IN OUR FIRST AIRCRAFT VESSEL. I WILL LOVE TO HAVE A COPY VHS, DVD,ETC NEW OR USED FOR THE PURPOSE OF A HISTORY OF THE NAVAL AVIATION IN TO BE PROGRAM IN ARGENTINA. PLEASE DO CONTACT ME IF YOU CAN HELP ME. JUAN CARLOS PODESTA, E-MAIL CARLOSTUC@AOL.COM 520-891-6462.THAK YOU

  • A Must See for WWII Movie Buffs.

    • Ray H.
    • 2/19/07

    This is a great movie. It is time that it be released for home collections. Let's get this film out in DVD now.

  • Great flick for both Naval & History buffs!

    • Mike D.
    • 12/7/06

    I just loved this movie!Being a US Navy vet myself I just love the way they weaved fantastic footage of real authentic naval battles in with near good as real "hollywood", when "hollywood" was actually somewhat patriotic, film of Cooper & Brennan in great performances as dedicated Naval warriors!Check this one out Fellow Warriors!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.