skip navigation
My Favorite Wife

My Favorite Wife(1940)

  • Monday, December 22 @ 11:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

My Favorite Wife A shipwrecked woman is rescued... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • This one better!

    • Alice
    • 4/28/14

    After comparing both films (Too Many Husbands), with this film, I love this film much more. Jean Arthur and Fred MacMurray are both great in the other film. It's the story I most object to. The story in "My Favorite Wife is great. I love it so much more. Add to it, Irene Dunne (at her romantic best), Carey Grant and Randolph Scott, you have a winner. This film is indeed a winner. Love it each time I watch it. Love that Santa!!

  • Awesome movie!!!!

    • Kim
    • 4/27/14

    A great movie still to this day..... I LOVE Cary Grant and just Love Irene's laughter.

  • Funny, if

    • denscul
    • 4/10/14

    If you leave your logic at home, do not do the arithmetic, DO remember when this film was made, it really has some extremely funny scenes. The Civil Court Judge perhaps has the funniest lines, when he states "And my wife thinks all my cases are dull." Then the poor shoe salesman. The current generation has never had a shoe salesman try shoes on the customers feet, unless you can afford real leather. The attempt to pass the mousy man as Dunn's companion of 7 years on a deserted island becomes a comedic scene when Grant, learns Randolph Scott was the companion. It also helped the happy ending having the almost second wife lacking the charm of Scott. One has to wonder what Grant saw in her to offer marriage. How many people get married without affection and whoa, some intimacy. All that is almost ignored, and makes the logical aspects of the film dated. But as I said, forget being logical, and enjoy it for what it is. A movie.

  • Terrific!

    • RedRain
    • 6/23/13

    This is one of the best screwball comedies ever made and Cary Grant, always at his best in comedic roles, just excels. It also leads to some interesting conversations with others in real life. What would you do? The fact that Grant and Dunne have two children together in the film lends itself to able reasoning as to why they belong together at the end. I've always liked this film. It's old-fashioned, funny and just darned good!

  • Funny and Romantic

    • meechie67
    • 6/23/13

    Grant and Dunne are one of my favorite silver screen couples making this one of my very favorite romantic comedies.

  • My Favorite Wife

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    For a similar movie, with the sexes reversed, watch "Too Many Husbands" starring Jean Arthur, Fred MacMurray, and Melvyn Douglas. It is a funnier, far wittier film.

  • Brilhante

    • Sonia
    • 11/20/10

    Um grande filme. Uma comdia hilariante, divertida que faz vc ficar sentado no sof assistindo Cary Grant e Irene juntos. Eles tinhas uma qumica perfeita. E o filme muito bom. Perfeito para quem gosta de comdias e um dos meus filmes favoritos.

  • My Favorite Wife (1940)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/15/10

    100/100. The is one of the greatest romantic comedies of all time, everything comes together perfectly - direction, screenplay, score, cinematography and the cast, and what a terrific cast. Irene Dunne and Cary grant are excellent, the supporting cast is outstanding, especially Gail Patrick, Granville Bates and Donald MacBride. Randolph Scott is well cast. Nominated for three Oscars, original screenplay, original music score and for art direction. There are so many memorable scenes and it is often laugh out loud funny. A great and unforgettable classic.

  • Delightful!

    • Marita
    • 2/10/10

    This has been one of my favorite movies since I was a child - I'll never forget the scene where Nicky (Grant) spots Ellen (Dunne) in the lobby of the lodge as the door to the elevator closes on him -remember, he thinks she's been dead for seven years. It's a classic moment! The story is hilarious and just incredulous enough to be almost believable. The supporting cast is awesome, especially Randolph Scott as the handsome and virile Stephen - and the scene where the judge is trying to sort out the facts of the story is indescribably funny. Anyone who enjoys the classic romantic comedies of the golden age of cinema will love this movie!

  • Incredible

    • Allison
    • 12/11/07

    This movie opened the doors to my TCM experience. i could watch the movie so many times that It would ware out before im done with it. Love it. Want it!

  • Quintessential romantic comedy

    • Pat huyett
    • 5/19/06

    One of the best sophisticated/screwball comedies ever made, this is Cary Grant at his suave best. Dunne is hilarious, gorgeous and at the heighth of her career. The repartee between the two crackles and and is fun to watch. Get a load of Dunne's exquisite sunburst applique dress--they don't make costumes like that anymore. The attempted remake in 1962 would have been Marilyn Monroe's last movie, but the project was never finished, the film shelved.

  • Hilarious and Endearing

    • neal
    • 3/12/06

    Grant and Dunne are incredible. This is a comedy I think anyone could relate to.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.