skip navigation
Forbidden Planet

Forbidden Planet(1956)

  • Sunday, January 25 @ 06:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, February 22 @ 11:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Forbidden Planet A group of space troopers... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $26.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • My favorite movie of all time.

    • Buck Conyers
    • 1/13/14

    Something for all ages. Looks great, sounds great, intelligent characters, sharp dialogue, scary, beautiful, engrossing, and a perfect exposition of how the rational scientific mind's delusional self-idolatry leads inevitably to an irrational dead end. Our modern culture is living it today.

  • Getting Better

    • Albert
    • 5/15/13

    This movei only gets better with time. The first to "realisticaly" portray an alien world with depth. Yes, loosely based on "The Tempest" it does so much in it's running time. Eeriely opening with the electronic score and moving us across the galaxy to our final destination. This never rally stops there is always another wonder for us. I first saw this a couple of years after it was released. Even as a6 year old I knew things were not going to be the same after. While living in L.A. back in the 70's I caught this on a double feature with "The Time Machine". It was part of a festival and the prints were gorgeous. The fun part was seeing them together and recognizing some of the props in the museum Rod Taylor visits in "The Time Machine". Ther in all it's dusty glory was th ship's "space astrogator". The FP ship turns up in many episodes of the original "Twilight Zone" as wellas the weapons and costumes. And was any body a more beautiful space siren than Anne Francis? So, am I the only one to see the seminal influences on Gene Roddenberry? I will definitely be wtaching again.

  • Planet Shakespeare

    • Wet Blanket
    • 12/18/12

    Richard, I copied this paragraph from Wikipedia:The 1956 science fiction film Forbidden Planet set the story on Altair IV, a planet in space rather than an island in the ocean. Professor Morbius (Walter Pidgeon) and his daughter Altaira (Anne Francis) are the Prospero and Miranda figures. Both Prospero and Morbius has gained the knowledge required to harness the mighty forces that inhibits their new home. Ariel is represented by the helpful Robbie the Robot, while Sycorax is replaced with the powerful race of Krell. Caliban is represented by the dangerous and invisible "monster from the id": a projection of Morbius' psyche, born from Krell's technology instead of Sycorax's womb.I hope this is helpful.oogie

  • Permissible Planet

    • Wet Blanket
    • 12/18/12

    The story is based on the somewhat complex Shakespeare play, "The Tempest". I think this movie could have been much better if it hadn't tried so hard to be a comedy. That silly robot is more distracting than Miss Frances' mini-dress. The viewers are jerked around between an interesting and top-rate Sci-Fi story, and the exploits of Cookie and Robby. Sorry Earl, but Cookie should have stayed in the galley, and Bourbon does not come from Kansas City.

  • Tempest Comparison

    • Richard Thorpe
    • 12/15/12

    I'll submit Forbidden Planet is not only the greatest Sci- Fi of the fifties but all-time. I get excited every time TCM offers the film.Many keep comparing the plot of the film to Shakespeare's, The Tempest. They never elaborate. Please enlighten me. What parallels are there between Forbidden Planet and the The Tempest?

  • one of my all time favorites

    • carolyn coleman
    • 9/16/12

    this movie was so wonderful for me growing up. even now i love this movie. i recommend this for the family.

  • Forbidden Planet

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/20/12

    One of the greatest & most iconic Sci-go film from the 50's. Francis & the memorable "Robby, the Robot" steal the show from Nielsen & Pidgeon. Amazing sets, sound & Oscar-nominated special effects immediately grab our attention from the start. A slow-paced adaptation of Shakespeare's "The Tempest," but it's also a must-see. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Forbidden Planet

    • RAL20
    • 8/31/11

    Thank U 4 showing Forbidden Planet. It's a marvelous classic sci-fi motion picture, with the classic art director,Cedric Gibbons.I was wondering if U knew about the uncut version.This is the version, where at the end of the movie, you actually see the monster from the ID, picking up Walter Pigeon, before it terminates him.It is still a great movie either way.TCM's the Top.

  • Must See - Once

    • Michele
    • 10/7/10

    Ah, FP - what can you say about this Freudian Wagnerian space opera that hasn't already been said? If you've never seen it, you must. Once. Then that's enough. When the best actor in the film is a robot (who later starred in the TV series "Lost in Space"), you know there's a few problems here.And the three spacemen bear an uncanny resemblance to the three idiot sons of Mom (of Mom's Friendly Robot Company) from Futurama. But all in all, an intriguing insight into the psyche of America in 1956. Kudos to TCM for running this.

  • The Tempest of Outer Space

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 8/20/10

    It has been called one of the most acclaimed science-fiction movies ever made. Walter Pidgeon, Anne Francis and Leslie Nielsen star in this immortal Shakespearean-type sci-fi classic about a futuristic Earth spaceship landing on a remote planet to investigate the disappearance of an Earth colony, and it's crew discovers a mysterious scientist (Pidgeon) and his beautiful daughter (Francis) living there and are being threaten by a gigantic invisible monster. The most interesting character in the film is Robby the Robot. Great special effects for it's day, along with eerie electronic score. Also starring Warren Stevens, Jack Kelly, Richard Anderson, Earl Holliman, George Wallace, James Drury, Harry Harvey, Jr., & Bob Dix.

  • Forbidden Planet (1956)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/20/10

    Very imaginative, impressive special effects for it's time. It clearly had a good budget to work with and it shows. It has it's dated elements, particularly the blatant sexism. Creative art direction. It's one of those movies you have to put yourself in the time it was made, on that note, a fine film.

  • First Serious Space Sci-Fi

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/2/09

    Before "Forbidden Planet" there were several films made about space travel, but they were cheaply made and had very low production values. I have seen FP several times, and for me this the best space travel film from the 50's. It is well-made and visually impressive, mainly because it was made by MGM, a studio that was famous for lavish musicals, period dramas and sophisticated comedies. This was MGM's first sci-fi effort, and it set the standards for many films of its kind to come later, including MGM's own "2001: A Space Odyssey" in 1968. FP is loosely based on Shakespeare's "The Tempest", and I particularly like Robby, the marvelous talking robot who almost has a human personality, much like that of the talking computer HAL in "2001". All of the actors in FP are great, and Anne Francis as Alta looks very hot in those costumes (in a 1950's futuristic kind of way of course). Robby and Alta are the only ones to return with the C57D crew, as Morbius is ultimately destroyed by the id and he must destroy Altair to save the universe from its evil power.Awesome sci-fi, 4 stars!

  • Little known factoid

    • Clyde
    • 12/17/08

    Buried in the tiny print of the credits is the company responsible for the interior design of the Krell underground laboratories - Walt Disney ProductionsThis is the movie for people who dislike Science Fiction - it still holds up reasonably well after a half century

  • "Forbidden Planet"

    • Susan
    • 9/24/08

    Such a great movie. My sister said it holds up. I missed it when it was recently on. Will it be shown again???

  • Thoughts from my ID on FORBIDDEN PLANET

    • Nicholas Krisfalusy
    • 9/25/07

    Imagination truely is a wonderful thing! My most favorite of all Science Fiction movies this one has Humor, drama, suspense, action and even SEX! Incredible for its time - 1956 - this movie takes you to The Krell World where technology is a mere million years ahead of Earth technology. I still wonder when I will get my own Robby the Robot whom I am sure makes alot better coffee than me!I highly recommend this wonderful movie, so take a trip soon to Altair 4 and enjoy!Blasters away~~Nicholas

  • Masterful story

    • Dan
    • 7/13/07

    Forbidden Planet is one of the most highly regarded Sci-Fi's of the 50's. Walter Pidgeon, Anne Francis, and Leslie Nielson stars in this intelligent masterpiece. Done in Eastmancolor with stunning artdirection and a masterful plot, that reminds me of the Star Trek series, or 2001: a space odyssey with a story that's way ahead of it's time. Highly recommend to all Sci-Fi fan or anyone that is curious with this film.

  • Hello from Robby The Robot

    • Vincent O
    • 4/4/06

    The greatest single science fiction movie ever made.Its a dream come true for scifi fans.If you haven't seen this movie you are in luck. You have just found a 200 carat white diamond.Robby the Robot is so popular that the big department store Hammacher Schlemmer sells a moving and talking Seven foot tall replica of him. Watch it many times for the view and the language.Way Beyond Cool!!!We need a sequel!

  • Golden Flicks from '56

    • Mark D. Schneider
    • 1/28/06

    This movie was the 1st one shown during our city's 50th Anniversary Celebration today and here is a brief synopsis:A spaceship crew arrives to investigate the silence of a planet's colony. All of the colony's inhabitants have been killed except Dr. Morbius and his daughter, Altaira. The crew must contend with invisible monsters and deadly secrets. This groundbreaking sci-fi film was based in part on Shakespeare's "The Tempest."

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.