skip navigation
Fiesta

Fiesta(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Fiesta - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Fiesta (1947)

    • TILIS
    • 10/15/12

    It's so sad that Esther Williams wanted any part of this sadistic travesty masquerading as "entertainment". Innocent creatures were murdered during the production of this film. Yes, that goes on regardless in Spain/Spanish Mexico since, sadly, bullfighting is their only "cultural" claim to fame. But justice in the form of Karma did happen during filming: At least four stuntmen were gored through the groin; two other crew members died of cholera from eating the local "cuisine" (i.e. slaughtered animals); the set doctor was shot by a loco local; and Esther William's husband was arrested for attacking the shooter. The happy comments below are so inane: "the music was pretty," "the dancing was nice," etc. Was it all really worth it for that? Oh, and because Esther's shoulders were far broader than the oh-so-"macho" matadors (LOL), and she had bigger arms and chest, as well as a firmer backside than them, the thoroughly emasculated Mexican tailor helping with costuming demanded that her breasts be surgically removed or he would quit. Bloodthirsty much? Some trivia: Why do matadors keep their trouser flies down? Because they don't have anything there to see. That's because real men don't feel they have to torture peaceful animals to be "masculine." Today, Spain is virtually bankrupt as a country and Mexico is plagued with corruption and poverty. Again: Karma. Look it up if you don't know what it means. Arrepentirse o enfrentar la extincin, cobardes.

  • Two great films

    • jesse
    • 12/21/10

    this film, and Sombraro both with Ricardo Montalban, Cyd Charisse, show the finest in latin dance, music, both should be seen.

  • Great Movie!

    • Mishee
    • 5/20/09

    I love this movie. The dance of Ricardo Montalban and Cyd Charisse is wonderful. By the way, Mario's "Fantasia Mexican" is actually Aaron Copland's "El Salon Mexico."

  • Music is sensational

    • Gordon F. Brown
    • 2/15/09

    The piano music in this movie is great. I had never heard it until I saw this movie. A few years later, my wife and I met Ricardo Montalban who was appearing in a dinner theatre production of South Pacific in Pa. I asked him about the music and he told me the name of the classical piece from which it was taken. This is a great movie and I sure would like to find it.

  • does anyone know who was playing the piano?

    • c
    • 1/23/09

    I loved this movie and had not seen it until the tribute to Ricardo Montalban. I wish it were available for purchase. Can anyone tell me who was playing the piano in the scene where Montalban's character is performing with the small orchestra toward the end of the film. It looks very convincingly like he is playing himself. I cannot find any reference to Montalban being a pianist. I loved the piece of music and would love to play it.

  • Childhood Fav

    • rita
    • 1/23/09

    Fiesta was one of my all time favorites when I was a teen. I have tried many times over the years to obtain a copy of it. Even taped it on vhs which has long deteriorated. This was a good old fashioned feel good movie for the whole family. Montalban and Williams lit up the screen.

  • Great movie

    • Gina
    • 12/17/08

    What a great story. Love Esther and Ricardo together - even if not each other's love interest. I love the part where Ricardo is in the restaurant and hears his song over the radio and jumps up and plays along. What beautiful music. They can put silent movies from 1920 on DVD but not this great musical.

  • Fiesta

    • Ellen Callahan
    • 8/26/08

    I have been in love with this movie since I saw it on TV in the early 1960's and I fell in love with the music and dancing. John Carroll and Ricardo Montalban have always made me stop what I was doing and sit down and watch these movie stars of yesterday. Please put this on DVD so I can let my Grandchildren watch.Thank You

  • Great Musical

    • Jeff
    • 6/27/08

    Really enjoyed the movie, especially watching Esther Williams and Mary Astor. But the greatest part was the music and the Flamico dancing. It is a must see if you like musicals of the 40s.

  • We had Fiesta while we viewed the movie

    • Norma
    • 5/29/08

    Loved it all, the movie was enjoyed by my hole family... Some in San Francisco, Killeen and Texarkana. It was better than the super bowl.

  • Loved this movie

    • joan vaughn
    • 4/17/08

    It was a delight seeing this for the first time not long ago. When will you show it again?

  • FIESTA

    • Phaedra
    • 4/12/08

    I saw this film in 1947. I'll never forget Aaron Copelands beautiful music.

  • saw this movie as a kid

    • denis
    • 4/8/08

    saw this recently on tcm.Was plesantly suprised!.Bravo tcm for keeping us young again.A fan of cyd charisse also.

  • Viva Fiesta!

    • Rich
    • 1/24/08

    Good, wholesome entertainment.Nice cinamatography,wonderful music and dancing. The talented cast is as wonderful as it's sweet story line. Viva Fiesta!

  • Things look better in a positive light.

    • Gloria
    • 1/24/08

    It beats the heck out of most films depicting Hispanics as impoversed, bullied farm hands beeing run out of town on a burro.TCM should repeat this one once in a while.

  • Things look better in a positive light.

    • Gloria
    • 1/24/08

    It beats the heck out of most fims depicting Hispanics as bullied farm hands beeing run out of town on a burro.TCM should repeat this one once in a while.

  • Does FAther know best?

    • Roxy Montage
    • 2/15/06

    This was a wonderful movie, showing that even though a father can make a mistake, all can come out well in the end. Good family values - sister's love for her brother giving her courage to do what she must. Laugh out loud funny in parts. A delight.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.