skip navigation
Deep in My Heart

Deep in My Heart(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Deep in My Heart Musical biography of composer... MORE > $10.85 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • deep in my heart

    • lois
    • 4/24/16

    watched for the first time 4/21/16. I knew the name Sigmund Romberg and some of his music but didn't know much about him. loved the movie--the music and dancing were wonderful, especially ann miller, cyd charisse, and the Kelly brothers--didn't know gene had a brother. I especially loved the ending and the song when I grow too old to dream.the only thing about these bio movies is you don't know how much is fiction. but the music was great and that had to be one of ann miller's best.

  • deep in my heart

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/20/16

    This movie is beyond old fart. It's positively centenarian. Love "Swimmin With Women," though. Prurience made fun.

  • rough diamond

    • newmexican
    • 3/27/16

    This movie is crazy uneven. It has a drab, pointless story -- sorry Sigmund, but hard work and rewarding riches are not the stuff of high drama. But, oh, the music and the production numbers. Wow. It is almost (almost, I said) the case that each one is better than the last. Lots of sorta-spoilers here: Rosemary Clooney looks and sings at her charming worldly ingenue best. I swear this is Ann Miller's absolute best dance number that I know of. The duo of Gene Kelly and brother Fred Kelly singing and dancing "Swimmin' with wimmen" was terrific -- first time I'd ever seen or heard it and what an engaging little song despite the silly name/subject. Fred Kelly was up to Gene's standard in every way; no excuses needed there. Cyd Charisse was sleek and sexy dancing to "The Desert Song." Vic Damone's singing was stellar and Jane Powell did a first class gorgeous production number despite her always too-sweet quality. The big surprise to me was Helen Traubel who actually sang quite a lot and very well without at all overdoing any operatic quality. She and Ferrer blended in a lovely way both melodically and as companions. Ferrer was excellent throughout, although the -- I suppose -- piece de resistance he was given to do, and did well, was utterly boring, even if he did complete an entire Broadway show in one utterly manic number. It seemed interminable. He was wasted though manful overall in a completely unengaging part. Jim Backus, whose part was, of course, much smaller was a throw-away. Merle Oberon was no more than window dressing while the "love interest" Doe Avedon (who she???) was wooden. But, oh my, the music, the singing, the dancing. Romberg was well before my time, but I am knocked out by how good everything was including the abundant incidental music.

  • The Most Beautiful Technicolor and Design

    • Joseph
    • 3/26/16

    I think this is the most beautiful technicolor film I've ever seen. I couldn't get over the rich saturated color and detail. The print is pristine and flawless. The musical numbers are out of this world. Everyone in front and behind the camera is at the top of their game. The narrative drags a bit in places but you're rewarded with some of the best music and dancing ever put on film. Ann Miller sizzles. Cyd Charisse seduces. They and so many others are perfection. I could go on and on and on but you get the idea. Do not miss this one!!

  • WONDERFULL

    • Jackie Brown
    • 1/11/12

    Movies are my PLEASURE!! However, I saw "Deep in my heart" for the first time Sunday. This movie was BEAUTIFUL. The Music, I remember Mario Lanza singing. Jose Ferrer was wonderful. I enjoyed him as Toulouse, and Cireno, never imagined he could be so annimated. Definately worth watching if you love good movies and beautiful music. Bon Apetit Jackie Brown

  • Delightful

    • Susan
    • 1/9/12

    Sweet story (who knows if completely accurate? doesn't matter) with wonderful musical numbers. I never realized that Jose Ferrer had such a nice singing voice. The scene where he acts out an entire show is a hoot -- as is the dance number done by Gene Kelly and his brother Fred.Highly recommended antidote to a trying day!

  • Beautiful music and story.

    • evelyn alvarez
    • 5/8/08

    Beautiful music and story. Always loved Student Prince and other music by Romberg and very happy to know he was a good man and a good husband. Please can you show the movie again,if possible in June or as soon as you can. It's a very entertaining film. Can you also announce it so we know when you'll show it. We are a music-loving family. Thanks TCM! Oh, can you show Elvis films too, please!

  • Great movie

    • Salena
    • 8/23/07

    this is actually one of the first "old" movies i have seen, i watched it last night and it was great. Now im really interested to see what other great classics are out there...

  • A Wonderful Movie

    • Gilbert
    • 8/23/07

    I saw Deep In My Heart last nite. Hadn't seen it on TV in several years but this is the first time I saw it commercial free. A real treat.This, to my memory, is the only time we see Jose Ferrer display his talents as an entertainer as well as an actor. Was nicely done.

  • THE BROTHER; DUO GENE KELLY AND FRED KELLY

    • RACHEL
    • 6/13/07

    As with some of the other few movies that are not a full length GENE KELLY movies, but only briefly show GENE such as "Words and Music for example, I am always only interested in the segment in which GENE appears, as is the case with "Deep In My Heart." The dance between he and his brother Fred was quite cute. It's hard to believe that GENE once said in one of his interviews that he asked his brother Fred to teach him to tap dance, because GENE was certainly the better dancer, and even outdanced Fred in this number . And most of all, Fred was not even remotely as handsome and GENE. If you have never seen GENE dance with his brother Fred Kelly, watch "Deep in My Heart." It's interesting to see.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.