skip navigation
Susan Slept Here

Susan Slept Here(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Susan Slept Here A Hollywood screenwriter takes... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Creepy

    • Michele
    • 11/19/14

    He's about 55 and she's 17. C'mon.

  • Super Gross

    • ep
    • 12/8/13

    This is yucky in the extreme. She's 17, he's got to be around 45. Really gross and creepy pedophilia as romantic comedy. A very transparent screenwriter's fantasy about legitimizing his horny-old-man urges as "love."Bleech.

  • Too much fun

    • Diane Keys
    • 4/4/12

    I love this movie. I have fond memories of my mother and I watching this movie and laughing till our sides hurt. All the characters are fabulous. I must buy a copy of this classic comedy.

  • Love It!

    • Stephanie
    • 12/1/11

    From the costumes to the stage decor to the music...the entire plot was amazing!!

  • Admiration for Susan Slept Here

    • Victor Brown
    • 8/29/11

    The film is an excellent example of fifties comedies. It is actually a time capsule which should be prized as such. However, the best thing about the film is its dialogue. Whoever wrote it should have received some recognition for such. I cannot think of a film comedy with more clever dialogue. This is a "must see" for anyone who is intrigued with America in the fifties.

  • Um magnifico filme

    • Sonia
    • 10/25/10

    Um dos melhores filmes de Debbie que est melhor do que nunca. Um filme timo e divertido.

  • Susan Slept Here (1954)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 5/11/10

    Amusing musical. Beautiful color.

  • One of many favorite movies of Debbie Reynolds

    • Virginia
    • 5/1/10

    I love Susan Slept Here and I truelyl wish it was on DVD. I always have to wait until Christmas time for it to be shown on TCM. It always puts a smile on my face. It never gets old. I could watch it over and over and it would feel like I'm watching it for the first time. I absoultely love Debbie Reynolds and I haven't found one movie of her's I don't like. I hope for it to be on DVD soon.

  • Glenda Farrell

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 12/13/09

    Glenda Farrell plays the mother role in this film and in 'Middle of the Night' five years later. Both of these movies have the same Freudian plot of a father-daughter type romance. Probably Farrell's work in this picture led to her being cast in the second project, where Fred March plays the Dick Powell part and Kim Novak is in the Lolita-esque costar. If you take both these pictures and compare Farrell's performance, you can see just how dynamic and superb an actress she is. In 'Susan Slept Here,' she delivers a broadly comic rendering of the mother figure (she encourages the girl to pursue the old guy, then leaves); meanwhile, in 'Middle of the Night,' she is more intrusive and hovering and gives a much more dramatic mother-from-hell interpretation.

  • Susan Slept Here (1954)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 11/23/08

    Strained romantic comedy and musical, it's entertaining but also predictable. Good supporting cast, well produced with good costumes. The performances are decent but no one is outstanding.

  • My favorite movie

    • Darlene Oleson
    • 4/6/08

    I have been looking for this movie since viteos came out way back when. Debbie Reynolds and Dick Powell have been my favorites for years. This movie was made well and funny, and Eve Arden is always good. I do hope that it will be realsed soon.....

  • Debbie Reynolds movies...

    • Kim
    • 12/26/07

    I love Susan Slept Here but I would like to see The Pleasure of His Company...its been so long since I have seen it I can't remember if I liked it or not..

  • debbie reynolds

    • ron
    • 12/25/07

    great debbie reynolds moviewhy cant we see more of themlike My Six Loves...................

  • Another movie from my childhood...

    • JoAnn
    • 8/11/07

    Debbie was the hottest star back in the fifties when I was a little girl...Why can't more oldies like this be on DVD??

  • This is fabulous and innocent humor

    • Penny Loken-Evans
    • 2/19/07

    The movie has dynamics that still play today. I'd love to see this movie come to DVD or played on TCM more often. The clothes in this movie are just gorgeous.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.