skip navigation
Period of Adjustment

Period of Adjustment(1962)

  • Friday, August 1 @ 07:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Period of Adjustment A newlywed couple''s... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Misuse of talented actors

    • Blaire D
    • 9/6/13

    I have tried several times to watch this movie from beginning to end without success. I don't get this picture, and can't figure out how Jim Hutton and Jane Fonda could be cast as Southerners. My guess is they were starting out in their film careers and were forced to do this picture to fulfill a contractual obligation. There's a fine supporting cast, but the movie itself is long and drawn out.

  • Wonderful Character Portrayal & Funny Script

    • Eric S.
    • 5/8/13

    Excellent FUN ! Don't miss this one. Excellent humor thanks to a great script, & wonderful character portrayal--very believably--by the four leads. Well worth watching...or owning. I'll buy a copy to add to my collection. I NEVER leave movie reviews. I felt compelled to get the word out about this gem !! Enjoy.

  • It's been a while

    • cheryl white
    • 12/5/12

    It's been a while since I have been able to watch a movie from beginning to end, while concentrating and enthralled by amazing direction, screenplay, acting and simplicity of settings. The pace of this film was just perfect. I loved it. I really felt I was a part of this movie, not just as someone watching a film. It has really been a while since I have had this experience.Thank you,Cheryl White

  • Period of Adjustment

    • Walt
    • 12/5/12

    Watched the last 1/2 of the movie tonight for the 1st time. What a great Christmas-time movie. That was such an awkward period in our history; many movies were so stiff regarding family issues. It was cool to see how this movie dealt with these 'delicate' topics in such a real, hopeful & helpful way! Hope to see it regularly at Christmas.

  • Great Movie

    • Bobbie Barnes
    • 12/22/11

    I do not understand why TCM is not showing PERIOD of ADJUSTMENT for Christmas.Since it is not released on DVD, my husband and I look forward to watching this movie on Christmas every year. PLEASE SHOW THIS MOVIE.Thanks,TCM FANBobbie

  • This film needs to be on DVD soon!!!

    • Angie
    • 12/7/11

    This film is awesome and i hope it is released soon on dvd. I really would like to add this movie to my collection.

  • deserves to be shown every Christmas

    • B Clearman
    • 12/14/10

    has become a Christmas must-see for our family. Screenplay is on the button, and actors are perfect in the roles. Love it.

  • Humorous Tennessee Williams vehicle

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/21/10

    It's a shame that as of February 2010, this film still isn't out on DVD. It's such a classic, and the four leads are superb: Tony Franciosa, Jane Fonda, Jim Hutton & Lois Nettleton. I also like the supporting actors, especially Mabel Albertson. The quarrel scenes are a bit over-the-top but it's played with such humor that it's truly fun to watch the hysterical moments and see the entanglements play out. I think these couples would ironically last, and we get the sense that this is just the beginning for the four friends and their life-long adventures together. In a way, it would've been fun had there been a sequel made for this.

  • Too much loud marital discord spoils this story!

    • Richard Guenther
    • 2/6/10

    Yes, Jane Fonda is a gorgeous sexy vixen in this movie, but her character spends most of the movie whining, complaining, scolding, accusing, and angrily shouting at her immature, dumb, insensitive, and seemingly blind husband, who seems more in love with his buddy than her. Most normal red-blooded heterosexual men would kill to hook up with such a superfox, but not her husband! He's mainly interested in sharing a dude ranch with his special buddy. She's pregnant already, even though they are still on their honeymoon, so I guess that explains why she sticks with him no matter what. How much complaining and loud marital discord can you take before you get worn out by it? And you know that this marriage is never going to last becauseher husband isn't likely to change, but they leave you with a happy ending, like everything's going to be okay from then on. Anthony Franciosa is great as the special army buddy in this movie, but he couldn't make this movie more palatable to me.

  • A once a year must see for me!

    • Ron Masters
    • 12/8/06

    A little nastalgic, but I love to watch this one each year just before Christmas. I have an old VHS copy (that's fading fast). Would love to see it available on DVD. Jim Hutton, Tony Franciosa and an early Jane Fonda have a great chemistry in this one.

  • Such a charming film!

    • Crystal
    • 6/9/06

    I really enjoyed this movie which was shown recently on TCM. I have always loved Jane Fonda. I found her to be so funny and charming in her role as the shy, southern belle bride of a Korean War veteran. The film is kind of racy for the early sixties. I was pleased to discover that the film is based on a Tennessee Williams play; thus, explaining the excellent dialogue. The acting is superb. It is truly an enjoyable comedy!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.