skip navigation
A Patch of Blue

A Patch of Blue(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Patch of Blue A blind white girl falls in... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Nuance

    • Linda Scott
    • 7/20/14

    Sidney's portrayal of Gordon was no less than brilliant. Every time I watch this movie, I see something different. He was careful to brush by Selina, but not touch her. Feel her hand, but not hold it. He pushed off Shelley Winters, but did not strike in her direction. A lesser man or actor would have. His confrontation with his brother, Mark( Ivan Dixon). had just the right amount of indignation, but not over the top. Poitier's whole body of work, from No Way Out,, Blackboard Jungle with Glenn Ford, & The Defiant Ones are mere highlights. To me, he is the consummate actor who knows his craft very, very well. I could watch his movies over and over....and I do! This is one of the best. If you have not seen it, put it on your bucket list.

  • A Patch of Blue

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/19/13

    A touching romantic drama. Poitier & Hartman in an Oscar-nominated debut share the first inter-racial on-screen kiss, Winters deservedly won the Best Supporting Actress Oscar as Hartman's sleazy, abusive mother. The story is touching and perfectly made during the Civil Rights Movement, and as Hartman's character proves, shows that love is indeed blind. An emotionally-powerful hit. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • A Favorite Classic

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/21/13

    I love this movie and greatly admire Poitier. I think this is such an important contribution to films and marks a troubled time in American history. It is sad that this girl has to endure such abusive treatment at the hands of her mother and others as well as being blind. I think this film took story telling to new and original heights.

  • Disturbing and cheerful all athe same time.

    • chris
    • 8/1/11

    Just proves love conquers all, even when it doesn't look that way. loved and hated Winters.

  • Love is Not Always Color-Blind.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 9/19/10

    Before making "Guess Who's Coming to Dinner", Oscar winner, Sidney Poitier stars in an earlier interracial love story, this heart-soaring drama is based on Elizabeth Kata's book, "Be Ready With Bells and Drums". Elizabeth Hartman also stars as a blind white girl, who adventually falls in love with a black man (Poitier), who teaches self-independence by seeing the world in a different view. Shelley Winters wins her second Best Supporting Actress Oscar in her role as the girl's abusive bitch of a mother, who retaliates against her daughter's interracial relationship with her teacher. Well-acted, but not too sticky. This shows that love is no longer considered color-blind. Co-starring Wallace Ford, Ivan Dixon, Elisabeth Fraser, John Qualen, Kelly Flynn, Debi Storm, Renata Vanni & Saverio Lo Medico.

  • I LOVED THE BOOK

    • ARIANNA
    • 4/21/10

    I HAD READ THE BOOK A PATCH OF BLUE WHEN I WAS A TEENAGER IN HIGH SCHOOL AND I REMEMBER GETTING THE BOOK FROM THE HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY. IT LEFT A LASTING IMPRESSION ON ME.THEN WHEN I FOUND OUT THAT THEY HAD MADE A MOVIE OUT OF THE BOOK, I COULDN'T WAIT TO SEE IT.I LOVED THE MOVIE AND THE ACTING WAS SUPERB.. SIDNEY PORTIER IS A SUPERB ACTOR WHOM I HAD ALWAYS LOVED, AND SHELLY WINTERS IS ANOTHER ONE OF MY FAVORITE ACTORS..I SAW THIS MOVIE ONLY ONCE ON TV AND THAT WAS A LONG TIME AGO.I WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT AIRED AGAIN ON TCM SO I CAN TAPE IT.IT'S BEEN SUCH A LONG TIME SINCE I HAVE SEEN IT.

  • A Patch of Blue (1965)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/20/09

    Sidney Poitier, as usual, gives a sincere, classy and subtle performance. Elizabeth Hartman handles her role well but the stand out performance comes from Shelley Winters who is incredible and deservedly won her Oscar. A fine, well meaning film, simple and poignant.

  • Patch of Blue

    • Mary
    • 3/14/09

    An extraordinary movie for 1965. In my opinion, one of Poitier's best films. Elizabeth Hartmann's and Shelly Winters' performances were wonderful as well. I loved the symbolism within this movie. The simple piano composition is so poignant; it blends very well with Elizabeth Hartmann's character.

  • I LOVE this movie!!!

    • Sarah
    • 12/27/08

    It's touching, bittersweet. Wonderful performances! But, I'm wondering: What's the name of the classical composition that was played in the apartment?

  • A PATCH OF BLUE

    • ScotchRocks91
    • 7/21/08

    An amazing story of two people who ultimately find what they have been missing from their lives. For one, there are no limits and for the other, life is limited. Although this movie was made in 1965 - over 40 years later, the issues and challenges faced by both characters still exist today.

  • A Patch of Beauty.

    • Rob
    • 1/21/08

    A very special film,about two people who find each other. This is a delicate touching yet not syrupy. or fake. it strikes just the right balance.WONDERFUL PERFORMANCES. of the cast,but especialy btw Sidney Poiterm& Elizibeth Hartman.EVERYONE should see this Great film. It really moved me.

  • A lesson for all people!

    • lanna
    • 11/25/07

    This movie was absolutely amazing. If only all people would 'see' things the way Selena did, we would not live in the 'dark' world that we do. She didn't see or concern herself with color; a lesson for all to learn.

  • Excellent film

    • Sam
    • 5/24/07

    In all aspects, this is a wonderful movie. Spectacular acting, a hauntingly beautiful score, and flawless photography. But above all, it was the believable sense of selfless love between the two that moved me. It isn't often a movie creates a relationship so real and pure. I was deeply moved.

  • Touching movie!

    • sue
    • 8/30/06

    I could just cry from the true love and sincerity of this movie. Everyone should watch this for the excellent acting and the wonderful, heartwarming story.

  • A great Movie

    • Karl
    • 5/24/06

    I'm really glad that I had a chance to watch this movie. Very heartwarming and sincere. Definitely an eye opener about true love..

  • This Movie made a Difference In My Life

    • Mary Daniels
    • 2/21/06

    I saw this movie as a child and it really made me see love as it should be.We should love each other from the heart not looking at the others color.It also taught me when you love someone you want the best for them even if it hurts you. In other words he let her go he loved her so much . He didnt want her to suffer the pain of what society would bring to the relationship. Wow I adore this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • a patch of blue

    • dramaforjesus
    • 1/23/06

    an extreamly well crafted and well performed work of art.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.