skip navigation
North by Northwest

North by Northwest(1959)

  • Saturday, September 27 @ 05:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Saturday, November 1 @ 11:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

North by Northwest An advertising man is mistaken... MORE > $24.98 Regularly $24.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Good but not great!

    • RedRain
    • 4/18/14

    I like this film, I really do, but there are so many improbable moments and such a lousy ending that it just doesn't live up to greatness. (For me, "Rear Window" is Hitchcock's best film, as making an entire film in one room in an apartment was just genius.) I feel that a lot of this film was left on the cutting room floor, particularly the ending. This isn't to say there is no great acting here. James Mason is superb, Cary Grant is actually good in the action scenes and is great eye-candy, Landau is excellent as the synchophant aide to Mason and, of course, there's Eva Marie Saint who chooses to climb down the monument in high heels and looking gorgeous (pet peeve of mine!). Let's face it. You're running through the woods at night, you're trying to escape the bad guys, you're climbing down a huge monument - all without a hair out of place or a mussed dress. Dumb!

  • Cary is Good but Mason is Better

    • Delia
    • 2/17/14

    Who doesn't like Cary Grant? I know--nobody. Especially me in just about all of his leading roles. But he finds two fellow thespians here--James Mason and Eva Marie Saint--who can match his electricity. Great mistaken-identity backdrop with Grant as the package. He's kidnapped by people and taken to a mansion for interrogation only to have the same people deny they've ever met him. Eva is beautiful, but evil. Or is she? James Mason, for my money, is the real star with Mt. Rushmore lines like "That's not very sporting...using REAL bullets." Action-packed with the classic crop duster scene and the closing action sequence with Cary hanging onto Eva whose about to drop off Mt. Rushmore. Or does she? Classic.

  • it s the tops !

    • roy
    • 9/8/13

    When was the last time anyone saw a movie like this in a theater today? Maybe 20 years ago plus some. From the all time master of suspense- a movie that has it all- suspense, class, REAL actors who lucky for us were of the greats-debonair and smooth Grant, sophisticated Saint, master of the portrait for evil Mason, slick Landau and others, and - an actual dialogue (shocking by today's standards). And they did all and still kept their clothes on ( another shocker by today's standards ). Simply one of the all time great classics !

  • North By Northwest

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-3 1/2 out of 5Lead performers-4/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-5/5Score-5/5Titles-4/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of genre- 3 1/2 out of 5

  • it was fair

    • CmRetrospective
    • 5/19/13

    The movie was okay ummmm the dialogue was consistent but this film did not have that clever and obscure humor that most of that most of Hitchcock films had. The only sort of clever humor i saw was in James Mason's character ,but he usually has that Claude Rain attitude in his films. So I give this film 3 stars because of it's consistence, dim characters.

  • Surprisingly funny, romantic and nerve racking

    • classic movie lover
    • 8/21/12

    I don't know about other people but Alfred Hitchcock always seemed to me like a hit and miss writer/director. Psycho and Dial M for Murder were excellent but Strangers on a Train and Vertigo were boring and un-engaging. So I figured North by Northwest would be a tossup and I didn't want to sit through it, but am wholly glad I did. The movie kept my attention from beginning to end and the twists and turns were fun and unexpected. Hitchcock proved me wrong with this film, go and see it.

  • North by Northwest

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/19/12

    One of the most iconic Hitchcock films not only from the '50's, but also from his entire career. Grant, in his final film with Hitchcock, is excellent as the traditional man unwillingly involved in espionage. Saint is great as one of Hitchcock's blondes, as is Mason &. Landau as the antagonist's. Oscar-nominated screenplay includes memorable scenes involving a crop duster & Mt. Rushmore, well-handled by Hitchcock. A great film that's a must-see by all film lovers. I give it a 5/5.

  • North by Northwest

    • Ann Longshaw
    • 6/8/12

    My favorite of the Hitchcock genre. Did a presentation in a film class in college. was well recieved. Any Hitchcock fan can agree that this is one of the best,. Great performances by Grant and Saint. Love it

  • North By Northwest

    • Pro Jexshunist
    • 2/14/12

    On-the-edge-of-your-seat entertainment by the master of suspense - top-shelf cast, score, screenplay - this one's got it all. "Paging George Kaplan...."

  • North by Northwest--a Hitchcock classic!

    • Natacha
    • 2/13/12

    Excellent on many levels. Cary Grant is a suave executive mistaken for a spy and gets abducted, forced to drink alcohol, and set up to have a fatal car accident, but gets arrested for drunk driving instead. While investigating on his own, he is set up for a murder at the U.N., and then goes on the run. He meets up with Eva Marie Saint on a train, and she covers for him when the police are searching for him. He doesn't know she works for the government and is spying on the bad guys who set him up. Cary later learns the truth, and accompanies governmental agents to North Dakota, Mount Rushmore. In the cafeteria there, a shooting is staged, whereby Eva shoots Cary. There is a young boy in the cafeteria, who obviously went to rehearsals. Right before Eva shoots Cary, the kid plugs his ears--priceless! To maintain the illlusion, Cary is taken to a hospital, even though he wasn't injured, but decides to escape to rescue Eva because the bad guys are on to her, so he climbs out of his hospital window, crosses a ledge, and climbs into the window of a female patient. Frightened, she yells "Stop", but after she gets a good look at handsome Cary, she softens it to a more seductive version of "Stop". Cary traces Eva to a very modern (for the time) house, perched on the edge of a mountain and warns Eva that the bad guys know she's working for the government, and that they plan to push her out of an airplane. She and Cary escape before she boards the plane, but are being pursued by the bad guys, including Martin Landau. Watch for his subtle homosexual jealousy over James Mason's attraction to Eva. The bad guys chase Cary and Eva to Mt. Rushmore, and they climb down, attempting to escape. Landau steps on Cary's fingers as he dangles over the edge, but is shot by local police. The ending is priceless--Eva and Cary get married and honeymoon by train. The film ends with a train going into a tunnel--subtle Hitchcock allegory. Very much worth seeing. A classic!

  • North by Northwest

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/15/11

    Decent suspense movie but I agree that it is nowhere near Hitchcock's best films ("Dial 'M' For Murder" and "Rear Window" are far better). I also agree with those that say this movie is extremely overplayed on TCM. It is, that's obvious.

  • A TRUE CLASSIC!!

    • FAS1
    • 7/31/11

    Fifty-two years later...and it's still an absolute must-see movie!! 'Mr. Suave' (Cary Grant) made many excellent films...but this one was over-the-top!! James Mason, Eva Marie Saint, and Martin Landau...a stellar cast for a classic movie!! If you somehow missed this one, by all means...see it now!!

  • North by Northwest (1959)

    • Jeff
    • 6/24/11

    The most influential action film of all time was directed by none other than the Master of Suspense, Alfred Hitchcock. The film is about Roger Thornhill (Cary Grant), who is thrust into the world of espionage unwillingly. Grant, Eva Marie Saint, and James Mason are all at the top of their game, however, they are only pawns in Hitchcock's scheme. This is Hitchcock's movie and he won't let everyone forget it. The kamikaze plane scene and the Mount Rushmore climax are unforgettable. The production design and sets are great and Bernard Herrmann's score is excellent. This was Hitchcock's best movie.

  • Simply the best movie ever made

    • Steve L
    • 11/11/10

    If you haven't seen this movie - make an appointment. It features the best director, best cast, best music, script and photography. The story is riveting. It's 136 minutes go by in a blink. North by Northwest is a treasure. And the best movie ever made.

  • Ernest Lehman at his best

    • Pat Turman
    • 9/23/10

    Hitchcock usually gets the lion's share of credit for this movie but you also have to give credit to Ernest Lehman, the screenwriter. Anybody ever read what William Goldman said about this movie in "Which Lie Did I Tell?"? He was very complimentary of the screenplay, pointing out that about a dozen plot points are all tied up in the last minute or so of the film. And how can you go wrong with Cary Grant? The great thing about Cary Grant was that, unlike most freakishly beautiful movie stars, he always came across as self-deprecating & not especially impressed with his own good looks. I think that's what made him so endearing. Never more so than this well-crafted classic.

  • North by Northwest

    • Natacha
    • 9/7/10

    One of Hitchcock's finest--there's nothing to dislike here. The cast is marvelous--Cary Grant, Eva Marie Saint, James Mason and Martin Landau. The locations are great--New York City, the United Nations building, Mt Rushmore and Chicago. The action is tremendous--the scene where the crop duster tries to kill Cary Grant and the scenes on Mt. Rushmore are iconic. The clothes are marvelous, too. Some of the action takes place on a train, and for those of us too young to have taken an overnight train trip in the days before travel by train mostly died out, it's fun to see what dinner in the diner and having your own private compartment were like. The plot is exciting as well--a case of mistaken identity, espionage, intrigue. Several marvelous scenes--while passing through an attractive lady's hospital room, the lady comes on to Cary. The symbolic train entering the tunnel at the end is funny, as is the scene in the Mt. Rushmore cafeteria where the little boy plugs his ears just before Eva Marie Saint pulls out a gun and shoots Cary Grant--hey, the kid's no fool--he went to rehearsals. The editor left this in by mistake--look for it.

  • North By Northwest (1959)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/14/10

    Certainly one of Alfred Hitchcock's best. A very exciting and entertaining film. It has it all, expert direction, well developed characters, an amazing cast, outstanding art direction, a mesmerizing score and an intriguing screenplay. Hitchcock adds his usual touches of humor. It is extremely well produced with many memorable scenes including the classic Mt. Rushmore climax, as well as the crop duster scene. Expertly edited. Nominated for three Academy Awards, art direction, editing and writing. Cary Grant is ideally cast.

  • Hitchcock's most overrated film.

    • Gene Conroy
    • 2/21/10

    I'm sorry, I like Hitchcock as much as the next guy but this film doesn't do it for me. I find the premise " Nobody believes me!" which was hoisted upon Cary Grant, to be OVERUSED schlock. It's been the basic plot of so many films as to become tedius and extremely annoying. (Even his Mother pooh-poohs his predicament. Puleez!) "Notorious" now THERE is the perfect Hitchcock film.

  • Can't Miss Masterpiece

    • Jeff Boston
    • 11/2/09

    Intelligent,exciting, witty, romantic, and realistic (enough) to be rightfully considered a bonafide classic. It seems like TCM plays this slice of Hitchcock heaven more than any other movie - and I watch it over and over.A diamond in the rough.

  • to the frequency guy

    • 777mlb
    • 8/3/09

    this is james mason day what else do you want. movies without him you tard.

  • Cryptic Title

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/29/09

    There has been much speculation as to what the title of Hitchcock's classic "North By Northwest" means. After Roger Thornhill (Cary Grant) is arrested after creating a diversion at the auction to escape from Vandamm (James Mason), he is taken to the airport on the orders of the Professor and travels NORTH from Chicago by NORTHWEST airlines to South Dakota for the climactic chase scene across the face of Mt. Rushmore. Actually, Rapid City, SD where Mt. Rushmore is located is northwest, and not north of Chicago, but I guess the title "Northwest By Northwest" would sound a little awkward. When I checked the synopsis earlier this year, NBN was shown as being on DVD. Now you have it listed as not available on home video under home video vote. What's up with that? Obviously an error.

  • Frequency

    • Viewer
    • 4/12/09

    This is shown too often, taking up space/time that other equally good films might use. Once a year is sufficient.

  • Prossibly My Favorite Hitchcock Film

    • Rick
    • 3/23/09

    This movie is so much fun to watch. When it's about to end I'm disapointed that it has to end

  • Cary, Cary, Cary

    • catwoman915
    • 2/27/09

    Another great Hitchcock classic. Great plot idea and what a cast! The plane sequence is one of the most recognized scenes from any movie and the train sequence is ever so sexy. I can never see this movie enough and like most of Hitchcock's movies I own it on DVD.

  • Target this Compass Heading

    • BoB Hendrick
    • 12/31/08

    I've lost count on how many times I've seen this film. The paradox is it is probably Hitchcock's best in terms of pure entertainment; but the plot is preposterous. Hitchcock has taken happenstance to a new level. Forget the plot and just sit back and become totally engrossed in this action/comic tourdeforce. There has always been controversy on what the title means. This has never been a problem for me. North by Northwest is a compass heading from Rapid City, South dakota to Russia (remember the cold war)? That's where James Mason and company were heading.

  • What is the meaning of North By Northwest

    • Brad Ewart
    • 6/2/07

    The meaning of North By Northwest is obscure, which is strange for such an important film. Maybe it does not make any difference but here is a possible solution. To get to Rapid City, Cary Grant takes Northwest Airlines. So he goes North by Northwest. The trouble with this is that Rapid City is only a little farther north than Chicago. So he actually goes West by Northwest by Northwest. Regardless of the title it is still one of the greatest movies.

  • Unbeatable

    • Tony Correll
    • 6/1/07

    I saw this movie when it first came out in '59 and have seen it at every opportunity since. The pairing of Cary Grant and Alfred Hitchcock proved once again to be an unbeatable combination. Too bad that NBNW was their last collaboration.

  • Superb

    • ECJ
    • 7/3/06

    "North By Northwest" could have gone horribly wrong. It combines so many genres -- thriller, chase, action, romance -- put a foot wrong in any of them and the movie begins to sink. But NBN only gets more intense and entertaining as it goes along. Perfect casting, numerous surprises and memorable scenes. Witty script by Ernest Lehman. First class entertainment.

  • Best movie ever!

    • K. Jaques
    • 2/9/06

    What doesn't this movie have? Intrique. Suspense. Mystery. Train. Plane. Automobiles. And a chase across the faces of Mount Rushmore! What more could you want from a movie? Cary Grant at his debonair best, and Eva Marie Saint is perfect as his leading lady. Hitchcock was flawless (but for the scene with the kid in the restaurant) and the supporting cast were superb. Perhaps the most perfectly cast movie if all time.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.