skip navigation
The Crowd

The Crowd(1928)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Crowd - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Crowd

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/11/12

    A heart-breaking drama about a painfully ordinary man. Murray, who unfortunately died 8 yeras after this film, shines as the hero in the story who goes through the pains & joys of married life. From start to finish, director Vidor makes every scene stunning, particularly in terms of cinematography. An excellent film about an ordinary man. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • AMAZING

    • hannah
    • 1/21/12

    This silent movie was so touching and heartfelt that no words were needed and that's what makes it so unique. I give it 5 stars.

  • The Crowd

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ****

  • Too Bad 'Talkies' Came Along...

    • Dan Grissom
    • 12/13/10

    If this late period silent movie was any indication of what silent movies would have become it's a shame 'Talkies' came along! What a fantastic piece of cinema. I was mesmerized by this movie from start to finish. Anyone who says they can't sit through a silent movie needs to view this outstanding movie!

  • Wow, what movies were meant to do......

    • Elizabeth
    • 3/12/10

    watching this gave me a feeling of being in that time period.....was so interesting from his co-workers, and their mixed personalities, to the meeting of his future wife. We at first got the feeling she was shallow, but that couldn't be further from the truth. She was Strong Woman. Interesting to get a glimse into the working girl of the time too. This actress did such a superb job, wish she could see today how much we value her, and all the performances.His part was that of a childish man, but so charismatic, surprising he didn't go on to become a big star. I saw where he had been an extra, chosen to play this starring part, wow. And later , it appeared, comminted suicide in a dramatic way.Such a drama in itself.I don't know enough about silent films to know if there are more films with Eleanor, but will look for her. What a natural actress, who won our hearts.And did this director always put out excellent movies? This has stayed in my mind much more than contemporary films, that can "go in one eye and out the other", formula, trite, way too Hollywood produced, lighting, music, etc.Thank you for playing that, I was rivited by this example of realArt Form.

  • The Crowd (1928)

    • Brad
    • 2/20/10

    The Crowd moved me on an emotional gut level that hits almost too close to home. Very watchable, I was too wrapped up in the story to notice the special camera angles until later. Wishing it was available on DVD; I was still thinking about this film days after first viewing. Both main actors should have gone on to star in a series of films, their on-screen chemistry is perfect. Some scenes make you ache, others make you eternally grateful for Eleanor Boardman's character Mary Sims. James Murray nails this performance...

  • The Crowd (1928)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/24/09

    This silent gem is one of the greatest films of all time. It is brilliantly directed by King Vidor, and is filled with amazing imagery. The acting is sublime. A one of a kind and unforgettable film. Outstanding in every way.

  • Very realistic, simple, and powerful

    • Rosemarie Buton
    • 6/4/09

    I was very moved by this film and by its realism. The direction and camera angles were wonderful, and the performances were very powerful It is sad that Murray had a tragic end, the end his character narrowly avoids. Eleanor Boardman seemed very modern; she looks a bit like an older Jodie Foster. She was really the strength in the piece, as Murray was vulnerable and almost childlike at times. The soore also complimented the film beautifully.

  • The Crowd

    • Jenny
    • 6/4/09

    It's a shame James Murray never went on to do another film roll as big as this one. The terrific chemistry between him and Eleanor Boardman was what kept me interested, along with that glorious musical score too of course!

  • The Crowd

    • Kathie Molyneaux
    • 6/4/09

    I missed the first 20 minutes, but was very engaged for the remainder of the film. I usually don't watch silents, but I found this one to be fresh and innovative (our modern filmmakers could learn something from the cinematography in "The Crowd"). The score was really fantastic-it gave me a real feeling for, not only the emotional atmosphere in the story, but also the era in which it takes place. I thought the acting of the two principle characters gave this simple story punctuation and relevancy.

  • Great Musical Score

    • PaulG
    • 6/3/09

    As with other comment, happened on film and the score drew my attention - a Debussy, Gershwin, Rosza mix - beautiful. Film scenes and quality also very good and gives great feeling of that time.

  • A Must See

    • Laura B
    • 1/10/09

    Expected just the usual run of the mill silent film, but was I suprised. Different from the rest and must be seen. Story was riveting and the music score was really good because it kind of melded with each scene. If I had to sum it up in one word I would say DELIGHTFUL!.

  • Perfectly scored

    • W. David Lichty
    • 5/22/08

    THE CROWD may be the best late-scored silent film, in terms of the music I mean. The score handled moments and subtleties marvelously. It wasn't a generic nostalgia piece, but a real score for that specific movie. Aaahhh! Too often silents are scored generically, with only the thought of conveying what any score might sound like for any silent of a certain type - comedy, drama, what have you. The music actually levels out the dramatic build, rendering any viewing a monotonous wash of mere nostalgic imagery. It's the second most annoying common thing about how silent films are so frequently presented (second to the ubiquitous habit of running them at the wrong speed, always too fast).I'd only intended to watch the opening of THE CROWD when it ran one late night in December, but the music was so delightfully right that I went 45 minutes before realizing that I still needed to go! It sounds like Christopher Caliendo is approaching this like a film score. It sounds like a rare, valuable treat.

  • Do not miss this one

    • Mary Melinda Kinnaird
    • 2/20/08

    The Crowd is an unforgettable film that is not to be missed. I like silent movies, and this is one of the best films I've ever seen, silent or not. I hope it comes to DVD soon because no one should miss this movie. The story, the acting, and everything is top-notch. Even though it was made in 1928, it still holds up today and is a grand film. Do not miss this one.

  • A must see movie!

    • Bill
    • 12/14/07

    What a fabulous piece. I applaud TCM for airing this movie, and feel lucky that I happened to stumble upon it. Elanore Boardman and James Murray turn in strong performances in this King Vidor masterpiece. I will look for this movie to be aired again.

  • Great movie!

    • Margery
    • 12/6/07

    I tend not to watch silent movies but was drawn to "The Crowd". Seeing the old pics of New York City, Coney Island, Niagra Falls was great and to learn they were filmed(in the city especially) incognito was even more reason to enjoy it. The photography for 1928 was quite amazing and gave you a glimse of life in the 20's, knowing my parents lived those hard years too.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.