skip navigation
Buster Keaton

Buster Keaton

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of the Greats

    • Kathryn
    • 2012-05-30

    I have to agree with what Roger Ebert wrote about Buster Keaton: "He is arguably the greatest actor-director in the history of the movies. And an astonishing stuntman." I can't help but love everything I've seen him in.

  • My secret weapon against sadness

    • Alison
    • 2012-02-21

    He is one of the most talented directors, film editor, cinematographer, scenario-writer, and athlete in the history of cinema. Best of all, he makes me laugh when I'm feeling blue. How could you not love Buster!

  • The King of Comedy

    • avamogal
    • 2011-11-11

    Buster Keaton was the King of the silent movies comedies. No other actor can hold your attention and keep you laughing and on the edge of your seat time after time as Buster Keaton. No matter how many times you see each of his silent movies, they are just as fresh as if you are seeing them for the first time. They hold the test of time. I know of no other movies where I laugh as hard as his movies. The General and Go West prove that he had a vision far and above all other comedians of his time. And the stunts, well, what can you say about the stunts. They were all Buster. Today they would be using computers and stunt men, not Buster. His stone face was "easier to hide the pain" he once said. I have a list of 10 people I would like to go back in time and meet and Buster Keaton is Number 1 on that list. I would just like to tell him thank you for all the laughs and to keep up the good work. The world will appreciate it.

  • Fabulous Buster Keaton

    • FrankieGoz2Hollywood!
    • 2011-10-27

    Who wouldn't want to get lost in those eyes??!

  • One of the greats

    • belikemichael
    • 2011-04-09

    Buster Keaton was a true genius (before MGM ruined him) and his legacy will fortunately live on forever. You should name your dog or child or parakeet after him. Really.

  • Truly wonderful actor of all times!

    • Kell
    • 2009-11-06

    I have recently become a big fan of Buster Keaton in his earlier films while he was still directing. They are brillant and funny! He has such an innocence and naturally funny side. Very handsome and sincere. We just don't find those qualities much anymore. He deserved a much better life than what his ended up as, as a result of being sad and depressed by being in a bad marriage to Natalie Talmadge whose family dominated his personal life. He was driven to drink. A lot of actors personal problems lead to drugs and alchohol, but are truly talented such as Robert Downey Jr, who is another such actor...brilliant!

  • Genius!!!

    • Jordan Elizabeth Franklin
    • 2009-06-06

    I have just recently become a fan of Mr. Keaton's work and I must honestly say that I am officially starstruck. He was and is so amazing! Every stunt and move he makes is amazing and I think not even Chaplin can match him in technical execution! He is one of the reasons why I want to be a filmmaker when I get older. He is truly one of my idols and every minute I watch him is a breathtaking one! He was truly one of the best things to come out of film!

  • An artist and genius!

    • Brenda
    • 2009-01-19

    Buster Keaton is a comedic genius and a true artist. I can't say that I have seen all his movies, but I have seen many. Every one that I have seen has been hilarious. We are so lucky to have his many films to remember his expertise. Even 80 years later, they are still funny...and without the gratuitous use of the "F" word to make it funny. I wish there were an actor/writer/director today with the vision that made Buster Keaton the master he was.

  • The Great Stone Face!

    • Bianca
    • 2009-01-01

    Buster Keaton's movies are just catpivating. The acting, plots, mechanics, and even the stunts are sure to leave you laughing your head off.

  • He is awesome!

    • Kristina
    • 2008-12-27

    AWESOME!

  • My Favorite Silent Film Star

    • Ashley
    • 2008-11-28

    I've recently become interested in the silent era and though I haven't had the opportunity to view many, I have seen several Buster Keaton films. I love them! My all-time favorite movie (not just Buster Keaton movies) is 'The General'! He definitely proves that just because films are silent, doesn't mean they are horrible and boring, because to those who have seen his films, you'll see they are anything but.

  • Buster Keaton

    • Sally
    • 2008-09-27

    AWESOME! I've recently discovered his work (and yes I am ashamed to say this) , and I am ecstatic to say that he has provided me with the breath of fresh air that I desperately needed; specially now in this era, were most music, television and cinema have turned to lucrative mediocrity. The first Buster Keaton film I saw was, Steamboat Bill Jr. and, I thought God this is brilliant! Then I saw The General and I was instantly blown away at how contemporary it felt; It is so relevant, and relatable. I had heard about the genius of Chaplin, but Keaton is in another realm entirely, their styles were different; Chaplin was part clown, part mime, and Keaton was part mime, part acrobat, yet, entirely human. His humor was simple, and quiet, naturalistic, never over marked, which made things funnier. His timing was incredibly precise (in both comedy and stunts). To me he is the all time god of comedy. I can't say enough about Mr. Keaton, I only hope that more people from my generation become aware of his brilliant work.

  • Buster Keaton Review

    • Emily
    • 2007-10-21

    My favorite silent movie actor. Made me realize they arent all horrendously boring and unfunny.

  • Buster Keaton

    • crai
    • 2007-10-15

    A dean, teacher in the Art of movies. he I feel helped write the book along with chaplin, Marx bros and others in comedy in film. For are favorites Lucy, Milton Burle, and others!!!

  • Talent continues to amaze

    • Gail
    • 2007-01-21

    Buster Keaton's total talents are still being re-evaluated by each new generation. His comedic abilities and imagination as writer and director are well-known, but the very modern appeal of his 1920's movies is striking and for audiences of today have perhaps even more to recommend them than to filmgoers of the day. A graceful, acrobatic risk-taker physically and a person who could say more with a slight raise of his eyes than most actors can using all their facial expressions, Keaton was truly unique and we are fortunate that his work survived and is available to see. Oh, and darned funny, too.

  • Buster Keaton

    • Bren Adams
    • 2006-08-08

    Best film pioneer ever! Film comedy would not be where it is today without his inovations and vast imagination. There just isn't enough that can be said about this incredibly talented man. There isn't anything he couldn't do artistically--write, direct, act, edit, you name it. Much of the time he didn't get screen credit for all of the work he actually did.

  • Buster Keaton

    • Chelsea
    • 2006-04-08

    Buster Keaton is, hands down, the best comedian, stunt man, filmmaker, director, producer, actor, etc. of all time. See "The Scarecrow" (I think it's from 1923)- Keaton at his finest.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.