skip navigation
Rock Hudson

Rock Hudson

Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Show more of Rock Hudson Movies

    • Nydja Wages
    • 2012-08-24

    I am 43years old, I grew up the youngest of nine children. I found that being the youngest provided the benefit of watching movies much older than myself. I was not even born during Rock Hudson's movie career beginnings. However I grew up absolutely loving this man and his work through my older siblings. I am a TCM classics junky. I would rather watch a TCM classic than the movies played today 2012. I wish so many evenings to see Rock Hudson movies played, I search for a brief show, even a clip. But to no avail, the company just will not play his movies. I believe Rock Hudson deserves to be noticed and recognized for the work he has done. This is art and art should never be shunned by a personal life tragedy. The tragedy will eventually be forgotten, but the art will live on forever. I wish they would play his movies more often, or even play his movie once. Please play more Rock Hudson Movies...

  • Universal Man

    • David Atkins
    • 2011-03-07

    Rock Hudson was as big a star as there was in the 50's and 60's and the undisputed King of Universal Lot. Working in wonderful Ross Hunter films such as Pillow Talk, Lover Come Back, Magnificent Obsession, All That Heaven Allows, et al Hudson conveyed a solid masculine charm. His biggest hit of that era was likely George Stevens classic film Giant co starring his great friend Elizabeth Taylor. I liked Tobruk a solid WW2 film, and I believe his last at Universal where he spent 15 momentous years. A career that saw him leading man to Doris Day, Elizabeth Taylor, Kim Novak, Paua Prentiss, Jennifer Jones, Jane Wyman, Julie Andrews, et al and co star to John Wayne ,George Peppard, et al. Rock Hudson was an iconic star of the first rank, a real movie star. It is said all in Hollywood were in on his "secret" but he was Universally loved and respected too and thus all held his "secret"

  • Excellent Actor

    • Todd
    • 2010-10-11

    Rock Hudson was an excellent actor. The variety of his films, whether by design or not, is quite staggering. From "Taza, Son of Cochise" to "Tarnished Angels" to "Pillow Talk" to "Seconds", he did it all and well. I have difficulty with part of your biography which calls him "a lifelong homosexual". It sounds demeaning as if he carried a disease or something. Would we ever write "a lifelong heterosexual"? He was gay, plain and simple. Let's bring this writing up to a better standard in the way Rock worked to a better standard in his career.

  • Rock Hudson

    • Roz
    • 2010-01-08

    Rock Hudson was my idol...my love... from the time I was 12 years old. I had so many pictures of him, and I used to kiss each one every night before going to bed. I was devastated when I heard that he was married. I actually thought that someday I would go to California and meet him, and because we were soul-mates, he would immediately fall in love with me, etc., etc.,etc. I cried when I saw him on the Doris Day Show, although I had long since given up on my childhood fantasy. He still had been such an important part of my childhood (if only in my imagination), that it hurt to see him in that condition. And how sad that he was forced to deny his true self, and live a complete lie. Gay or not, he was one of the most beautiful men ever, and a little bit of my heart still belongs to him.

  • Rock Hudson

    • ylenor
    • 2009-02-11

    One of my favs. "Seconds" "Avalanche" His comedy also - may be underrated. I met him once in 1983. A very lucky coincidence..

  • GO ROCK!

    • Joao Eduardo Roehe
    • 2008-12-24

    Rock Hudson was a great man and a great artist, so handsome and so talented. Thank God, his beauty and talent are forever captured in film.

  • Rock rocks!

    • Kevin
    • 2008-12-15

    I thought Rock Hudson was at his best in Man's Favorite Sport. This film had it all. I hope one day to get it on DVD.

  • Sweetheart

    • Brando4ever
    • 2007-08-11

    He's one of my many all time favorite actors. He's so tall and handsome. He's a true sweetheart!

  • Rock Hudson is one of my favorite actors!

    • Detra
    • 2007-01-21

    I am a huge fan of Rock Hudson,i've collected several of his movies.My favorite is "Giant",i thought it had a very good story line.Rock Hudson was very sexy and appealing and he could play just about any part he was given.It saddens me about his death and how he died but regaurdless of his personal life,i will always be a big fan and will never think bad of him b/c he was wonderful on screen.I think more people should watch his movies and/or classic movies b/c they are so much better than what is shown today!

  • Rock Hudson is one of my favorite actors!

    • Detra
    • 2007-01-21

    I love to watch Rock Hudson in just about anything.He was very sexy and could play just about any part he was given.I wish more people watched classic movies b/c i think they are much better than what is shown today.I rated Rock a 10 in almost everything but i'm a huge fan,regaurdless of his personal life and what has been said over the years none of that bothers me.It saddens me when i think of his death b/c i thought he was a wonderful actor and i always will.My favorite movie of Rock Hudson is "Giant"!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.