skip navigation
Tim Holt

Tim Holt

  • Stella Dallas (1937, August 05 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Magnificent Ambersons, The (1942, August 29 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Hitler's Children (1943, September 04 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Stella Dallas (1937, October 11 (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

| VIEW ALL

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

FAN COMMENTS

See Detailed Ratings
    Overall
    Range
    Sex appeal
    Influence/legacy
    Well-Regarded in Private Life
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Comedic Ability
    Singing Ability (If applicable)
    Dancing Ability (If applicable)
    Risk-taker or Innovator
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Where was Tim Holt in July 1937

    • Frank R. Lang
    • 2013-02-28

    My review is a question, My Father & Mother told me that they were good friends with Tim in New York. Does anyone know if he was in the NY area in 1937 if you know where Tim was please feel free to use my e-mail. Kindest Regards - Frank

  • My darling clementine/Magnificent Ambersons

    • kathy
    • 2010-08-06

    He was my mother's cousin so naturally I gravitate to his and Jack Holt movies. I can't believe how much we look like him...he is very talented though.

  • A western performer who could act.

    • rex
    • 2009-02-11

    Tim Holt was an R K O contract player who did westerns and drama and a comedy or two. And he was always excellent.

  • star of 2 great films.

    • murphy
    • 2009-01-30

    tim holt was a westrn star who also scored in two of the greateszt films ever made , treasure of sierra madre and magnificent ambersons. he was the son of jack holt. he passed on at 54. he certainly could act.

  • Wrong information on David Holt

    • miken
    • 2008-06-01

    You made a mistake in your Tim Holt biography stating that David Holt, the child actor of the Thirties, was his brother. He didn't have a brother, only his sister, Jennifer (her real name was Elizabeth Marshall or "Betty" She changed her name to Jennifer after the heroine of a book she was reading.) I recall reading your biography on Tim in your magazine back when you were running his films. I wrote to you at that time and told you that you made a mistake. David Holt was born in Florida in 1936. He had a very short career. Please update your file on this as other researchers have a tendency to pick up information from your file without verifying its veracity. The Internet Movie Data Base is famous for this.

  • HUNK COWBOY

    • COLIN SHEETS
    • 2008-01-26

    TIM HOLT IS MY ALL TIME FAVORITE COWBOY ACTOR. I LOOK FOR TIM HOLT MOVIES AND WATCH OR RECORD WHEN I CANN'T VIEW FIRST HAND. WHY AREN'T MORE OF HIS MOVIES ON DVD?

  • TIM HOLT

    • JAMES STAFFORD
    • 2007-07-02

    iN MY OPINION WAS ONE OF THE BEST WESTERN MOVIE STARS OF THE 40'S AND EARLY 50'S I KNOW I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER TIM HOLT.I RATE THIS COWBOY ACTOR AS A 10

  • The Best of the B-Western Stars

    • HOGEFAN
    • 2007-05-15

    I became a fan of Tim Holt when I became a fan of B-Western movies. With the exception of the Magnificent Ambersons, you never saw him overplay a role. He acted like a guy who wasn't acting, which is pretty rare for actors from the 40's and 50's. Even Humphrey Bogart, from Treasure of Sierre Madre, could be considered a little corny by today's standards. In Treasure, Holt is the only actor in that movie that never overdoes the role. Because of that, he's the most enjoyable of the main actors and the most believable. The characters Holt plays in his Western movies is someone you root for and someone you'd like to know. He brings honesty and morality to the roles, and again, it comes off as believable. When you watch some of his better movies, such as Wagon Train, you'll want to see more of his work. No flash, no great, catchy lines. Just enjoyable acting from a good guy. And his westerns, low budget or not, were a lot of fun.

  • TIM HOLT MOST UNDER APPRECIATED.

    • BOGARY HUMFART
    • 2007-04-10

    TIM HOLT HAS THAT WIDE EYED BELIEF LOOK OF INNOCENCE, THAT IS USUALLY LOST IN HIS FELLOW MAN. HE HAS A SCREEN PRESENCE, THAT YOU FIND YOURSELF ROOTING FOR. WHEN HE IS ON SCREEN, HE ONLY ENHANCES THE PERFORMANCES OF HIS FELLOW ACTORS.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal information and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.